Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship

This fellowship is sponsored by UO Libraries' Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Oregon.


The intention of the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship is to encourage research within collections in the area of feminist science fiction. The UO Libraries Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) houses the papers of authors Ursula K. Le Guin, Joanna Russ, James Tiptree, Jr., Kate Wilhelm, Suzette Haden Elgin, Sally Miller Gearhart, Kate Elliot, Molly Gloss, Laurie Marks, and Jessica Salmonson, along with Damon Knight. SCUA is also in the process of acquiring the papers of other key feminist science fiction authors.

Fellowship Description

This award supports travel for the purpose of research on, and work with, the papers of feminist science fiction authors housed in SCUA. These short-term research fellowships are open to undergraduates, master’s and doctoral students, postdoctoral scholars, college and university faculty at every rank, and independent scholars working in feminist science fiction. The fellowship selection committee will include representatives from the UO Libraries Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA) and selected UO faculty. In 2024, fellowships of $3,000 will be awarded to conduct research within these collections. Fellows should be aware that, depending on their status and country of origin, the US government may consider their award taxable income. It is recommended that fellows familiarize themselves with their tax status and take necessary steps to plan for and pay any potential fees.

Fellows Will

  • Complete their research at the University of Oregon within a year of award notification;
  • Present a 30-45 minute, recorded lecture at a virtual speaker series hosted by SCUA, followed by a moderated Q&A;
  • Submit a copy of their final project or publication to SCUA;
  • Acknowledge the Le Guin Feminist Science Fiction Fellowship and its sponsor, UO Special Collections and University Archives, in all publications resulting from the research fellowship.

Applicantions for the 2024 cycle are now closed. 

Access application here

  • A 1,000-word (maximum) proposal that describes the project for which these collections will be consulted, as well as the role that the applicant expects these collections will play in the project;
  • A curriculum vitae or resume;
  • Full contact information;
  • Full name of applicant must appear on each page of the application;
  • Two letters of recommendation (must be submitted separately to Emily Moore at mlemoore@uoregon.edu)

Fellows awarded funding will be notified by late March of the application year

Le Guin Fellows

  • 2013: Kathryn Allan
  • 2014 (dual awards): Jennifer Rea and Andrew Ferguson
  • 2015: Adrienne Maree Brown
  • 2016: Roxanne Samer
  • 2017: Theodora Goss
  • 2018: Alexandra Pollak
  • 2019: Shelley Streeby
  • 2020: R.B. Lemberg
  • 2021: Joan Lubin
  • 2022: Anna Ialeggio   
  • 2023 (dual awards): Marissa Greenberg and Tp Coughlin