Subject Specialists Department Representatives

Subject Librarians and Department Representatives

The subject librarians listed below are appointed liaisons to the university's academic departments and programs. In collaboration with faculty, staff and students, subject librarians:

  • build collections and facilitate access to networked information resources
  • support instruction
  • provide referrals to the many services offered by the UO Libraries.

For more information about working with your subject librarian, see "What Your Subject Librarian Can Do For You."
Also listed here are designated departmental library representatives and school/college library advisory committee members.

 

 

Subject Area

 

 

Subject Librarian

 

 

Department Representative
to the Library

 

 

African Studies

David Woken
346-1883
dwoken@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Anthropology

Miriam Rigby
346-7202
rigby@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Architecture

Edward Teague
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Howard Davis
346-3665
 

Art

Edward Teague (acting)
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Laura Vandenburgh
346-2093
 

Arts & Administration

Edward Teague (acting)
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Lori Hager
346-2469
 

Art & Architecture History

Edward Teague (acting)
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Joyce Cheng
346-3677
 

Biology

Dean Walton
346-2871
dpwalton@uoregon.edu

Alan J Kelly
346-6118
 

Business

Kaiping Zhang
346-1960
kzhang@uoregon.edu

Dr. Ben Yang (Zhibin Yang)
346-3308 ext.481
 

Chemistry

Brian Westra
346-2654
bwestra@uoregon.edu

David Herrick
346-2529
 

Chinese Studies

Xiaotong Wang
346-1857
xtw@uoregon.edu

Bryna Goodman
346-4825
 

Cinema Studies

Elizabeth Peterson
346-3047
emp@uoregon.edu

Kathleen Karlyn
346-3962
 

Clark Honors College

Miriam Rigby
346-7202
rigby@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Classics

Jeff Staiger
346-1897
jstaiger@uoregon.edu

Mary Jaeger
346-4068
 

Comparative Literature

Elizabeth Peterson
346-3047
emp@uoregon.edu

Lisa Freinkel
346-0825
 

Computer &
    Information Science

Annie Zeidman-Karpinski
346-2663
annie@uoregon.edu

Michal Young
346-4140
 

Dance

Ann Shaffer
(541)346-1850
ashaffer@uoregon.edu

Lori Kruckenberg
346-3763
 

Digital Arts

Edward Teague (acting)
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Laura Vandenburgh
346-2093
 

Documents

Victoria Mitchell
346-3076
vmitch@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Economics

Kaiping Zhang
346-1960
kzhang@uoregon.edu

Dr. Joe Stone
346-4663
 
 

Education

Katy Lenn
346-3072
klenn@uoregon.edu

*Education Library Committee
 

English

Jeff Staiger
346-1897
jstaiger@uoregon.edu

Gordon Sayre
346-1313
 

Environmental Studies

Dean Walton
346-2871
dpwalton@uoregon.edu

Katie Lynch
346-5070
 

Ethnic Studies

Miriam Rigby
346-7202
rigby@uoregon.edu

Ernesto Martinez 
346-5523
 

Geography

Kathleen Stroud
346-3051
kstroud@uoregon.edu

Mark Fonstad
346-4208
 
 

Geology

Dean Walton
346-2871
dpwalton@uoregon.edu

Emilie Hooft
346-1455
 

Germanic Languages &
    Literatures

Bruce Tabb
346-1846
btabb@uoregon.edu

Gantt Gurley
346-4101
 

Historic Preservation

Edward Teague
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Kingston Heath
346-2115
 

History

David Woken
346-1883
dwoken@uoregon.edu

James Mohr
346-5903
 

Human Physiology

Annie Zeidman-Karpinski
346-2663
annie@uoregon.edu

Andrew T Lovering
346-0831
 

Interior Architecture

Edward Teague
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Howard Davis
346-3665
 

International Studies

Yen Tran
346-8782
yentran@uoregon.edu

Anita Weiss
346-3245
 

Japanese Studies

Kevin McDowell
346-8923
kevinmc@uoregon.edu

Bryna Goodman
346-4825
 

Journalism/Communication

Paul Frantz
346-1880
pfrantz@uoregon.edu

Debra Merskin
346-4189
 

Judaic Studies

Paul Frantz
346-1880
pfrantz@uoregon.edu

Deborah Green
346-5974
 

Knight Library Reference

Paul Frantz
346-1880
pfrantz@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Landscape Architecture

Edward Teague
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Elisabeth Chan
346-2899
 

Latin American Studies

David Woken
346-1883
dwoken@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Law

Law Library Faculty
346-1654
lawref@uoregon.edu

*Law Library Committee
 

Library Science

Kaiping Zhang
346-2689
kzhang@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Linguistics

Katy Lenn
346-3072
klenn@uoregon.edu

Cynthia M. Vakareliyska
346-5922
 

Manuscripts &
    Personal Papers

Linda Long
346-1906
llong@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Map Library

Kathleen Stroud
346-3051
kstroud@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Mathematics

Annie Zeidman-Karpinski
346-2663
annie@uoregon.edu

Boris Botvinnik
346-5636
 

Medieval Studies

David Woken
346-1883
dwoken@uoregon.edu

Anne Laskaya
346-1517
 

Molecular Biology

Dean Walton
346-2871
dpwalton@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Music

Ann Shaffer
(541)346-1850
ashaffer@uoregon.edu

Lori Kruckenberg
346-3763
 

Neuroscience

Dean Walton
346-2871
dpwalton@uoregon.edu

William Roberts
346-4961
 

Newspapers

Mark Watson (Acting)
346-1896
mrwatson@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Oregon Collection

Bruce Tabb
346-1846
btabb@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Oregon Institute of
    Marine Biology

Barbara A. Butler
541-888-2581
butler@uoregon.edu

Craig Young
541-888-2581
 

Pacific Islands Studies

Miriam Rigby
346-7202
ribgy@uoregon.edu

Bill Ayres
346-5119
 

Philosophy

Paul Frantz
346-1880
pfrantz@uoregon.edu

Rocio Zambrana
346-4844
 

Physical Education & Recreation

Mark Watson
346-1896
mrwatson@uoregon.edu

Chantelle Russell
346-1364
 

Physics

Margaret Bean
346-1876
mbean@uoregon.edu

Jim Imamura
346-5212
 

Planning, Public Policy,
    and Management

Kathy Stroud
346-3051
kstroud@uoregon.edu

Rich Margerum
346-2526
 

Political Science

Victoria Mitchell
346-3076
vmitch@uoregon.edu

Priscilla Southwell
346-4866
 

Product Design

Edward Teague (acting)
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Kiersten Muenchinger
346-6891
 

Psychology

Barbara Jenkins
346-1925
jenkins@uoregon.edu

Jennifer Freyd
346-4929
 

Recordings

Ann Shaffer
(541)346-1850
ashaffer@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Religious Studies

Paul Frantz
346-1880
pfrantz@uoregon.edu

Daniel Falk
346-4980
 

Romance Languages
    (French, Italian, Spanish)

Jeff Staiger
346-1897
jstaiger@uoregon.edu

David Wacks
346-4029
 

Russian and East European
    Studies Center

Heghine Hakobyan
346-1858
heghineh@uoregon.edu

Katya Hokanson
346-3947
 

Science Library

Margaret Bean
346-1876
mbean@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Sociology

Miriam Rigby
346-7202
ribgy@uoregon.edu

Kari Norgaard
346- 8615
 
 

South Asian Studies

Miriam Rigby
346-7202
rigby@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Southeast Asian Studies

Kevin McDowell
346-8923
kevinmc@uoregon.edu

Geraldine Moreno Black
346-5113
 

Theater Arts

Edward Teague
346-1954
ehteague@uoregon.edu

Jerry Hooker
346-0070
 

University Archives

Jennifer R. O'Neal
346-1899
joneal@uoregon.edu

-----
 

UO Portland Library &
    Learning Commons

Karen Munro
503-412-3673
kmunro@uoregon.edu

-----
 

Women's Studies

Linda Long
346-1906
llong@uoregon.edu

Elizabeth Reis
346-5904

  *Education Library Committee *Law Library Committee