Introducing the 2019-2020 University Library Committee

2019-2020 University Library Committee members

Reporting to the University Senate, the University Library Committee is charged with advising the university administration on library affairs, serving in an advisory capacity to the dean of libraries, acting as a liaison between the UO Libraries and faculty, and providing a faculty perspective on library budgetary matters. The Office of the Dean of Libraries provides the staffing for this committee, which includes representatives from the faculty, classified staff, and student body.

"The University Library Committee provides an invaluable connection between the UO Libraries and its primary users—UO students and faculty," said Mark Watson, interim dean of libraries. "The mutual exchange of information is an essential component in helping the library deliver on its mission to support and enhance teaching and research."

The committee was established in 1921, when five faculty members were appointed to advise on library affairs. The Senate voted to increase the number of committee members in 1961, and in 1969 another motion carried, adding two student representatives to the roster.

For the 2019-2020 academic year, the committee roster consists of:

  • Jesse Cohen, graduate student
  • David Condon, assistant professor of psychology
  • Bettina Cornwell, professor of marketing
  • Alexandre Dossin, professor of piano
  • Beth Harn, associate professor of special education and clinical services
  • Abigail Erwin, executive assistant to the dean of libraries (ex officio)
  • Mike Peixoto, undergraduate coordinator, Department of Economics
  • Margaret Sereno, associate professor of psychology (committee chair)
  • George Sheridan, professor of history
  • Xiaobo Su, associate professor of geography
  • Kate Thornhill, digital projects librarian
  • Mark Watson, interim dean of libraries (convener; ex officio)

Past-year committee records, including minutes and membership rosters, are archived on Scholar's Bank, UO's institutional respository.