FIG - Teaching Science

Related Links: Research Guides | Research Databases | Science Library

FIG: Teaching Science

Research questions?
541-346-2654 or email
Brian Westra
Brian Westra
Lorry Lokey Science
Data Services Librarian

On this page:

What are "Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed" articles?

The Scholarly vs. Popular page provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journal articles.

Here are a couple of pdfs that provide good explanations of what is (and is not) peer review, and why it's particularly important in the sciences:

Exercise - compare these two articles:

  • Raloff J. 2010. Receipts a large and little-known source of BPA. Science News 178:5-6. UO Link
     
  • Fleisch A, Sheffield P, Chinn C, Edelstein B, Landrigan P. 2009. Bisphenol A and Related Compounds in Dental Materials. PEDIATRICS Vol. 126 No. 4 October 2010, pp. 760-768 UO LInk

How do I find articles?

Here are a couple of options for searching for articles, using UO Libraries resources.

Use the databases in your subject area:

For detailed and specific searches, it's usually better to open and search individual databases listed on those pages.

Examples of useful databases that include education articles:

 

ERIC
Covers all areas of education.

  Education Abstracts Subjects include administration teaching methods and curriculum, literacy, and government funding. Citations are available from 1983 to the present, while abstracts are available from 1994 to the present.
  Academic Search Premier This can be a good starting point for general research, since it covers over 8000 titles and includes general sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
  Web of Science
Interdisciplinary science database, a heavily-used source for science (and social sciences) literature.

Some discipline-specific databases may also include education articles:

Getting the article file:
If the article citation doesn't include a link to full text, click on the FindText link to see if the article is available online or in print via the UO Libraries.

If the article file is not available, you can request it from another library via ILLiad.

Browse Journals

Browsing sometimes can lead to an article you otherwise might not have read.

Use the databases and indexes listed above for the most efficient way to search for a specific articles.

Where in the Science Library would you go to find a print copy of a journal?

How do I search for books?

Use the UO Libraries catalog (also called "UO Worldcat")

Choose keywords and use synonyms to expand your search.

What keywords can you find in the records for these books that will help you find other related books?

The catalog searches for information from the UO Libraries, plus books shared by our consortia of 36 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest, and thousands of other libraries in the world.

The results pages display the matches for

  • UO items first, then
  • those in our consortia, and then
  • anywhere else.

Where in the Science Library would you go to get one of these books off the shelf?

The catalog includes articles, so check the books box on the search results page (on left side of page) if you only want to see books.

You can have books held for you, to pick them up at the Science Library.

How long can you check out books?

How do I cite resources for a paper?

Choose a citation style
The way a citation for a book or article is organized is called a "style." There are many different citation styles to choose from; the key is to be consistent, using that style for all your citations and footnotes or endnotes in the paper you're writing.

One of our quick online guides might be useful, but there are also citation manuals for more in-depth information.

If you have a lot of citations to manage, software (some free, some for purchase) can really help. These include Mendeley, Zotero, and Endnote Web.

Other Science Library resources

Course reserves: books and other materials set aside by your instructor for checkout for a limited amount of time.

Classrooms and study spaces: you can reserve rooms for your group.

Other equipment you can check out: video games and game consoles, laptops, phone chargers, a portable projector, scientific and graphing calculators, headphones, etc.

Maintained by: Brian Westra, bwestra@uoregon.edu