HC223 Course Research Guide

HC 223 Course Research Guide

Get help from your librarian!

This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of HC 223--Honors College Literature with Prof. Mai-Lin Cheng, Spring 2011.

Background Information

The Oxford Companion to Crime & Mystery Writing | REF KNIGHT PN3448 .D4 O94 1999
An encyclopedia of information about the genre, including entries on common themes, specific characters and series, authors, devices, and styles.

Oxford Reference Premium - Select -- > Literature
Many of the best reference tools for literature all together and searchable at once, including The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, Dictionary of Phrase & Fable, and many more. Use this to find information about authors, movements, periods, genres, theories, terms, historical context, and plot summaries.

Author Information

Contemporary Authors
Provides full text biographies for more than 120,000 modern writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.

Dictionary of Literary Biography KNIGHT REFERENCE, various locations.
Presents substantive biographical and critical overviews of writers from all eras and all genres in over 260 volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods, such as American Hard-Boiled Crime Writers. Use Literary Index to search it, and the UO Library Catalog to locate specific volumes in the Knight Reference area.

Finding Books

Social/Political/Historical Context

  • American Periodical Series
    Digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1740 and 1900. The publications include general-interest magazines, literary journals, children's and women's magazines, and professional journals.
  • American Popular Culture Through History series
    • 1920s | KNIGHT REFERENCE E169 .1 .D796 2004
    • 1930s | KNIGHT REFERENCE E169 .1 .Y59 2002
    • 1940s | KNIGHT REFERENCE E169 .1 .S559 2004
    • 1950s | KNIGHT REFERENCE E169 .12 .Y69 2004
  • Chronology of World History | KNIGHT REFERENCE D11 .M39 1999
    What else was happening in the world in the year your story or novel was published--in politics, science, culture, daily life? This is one-stop shopping for bite-size contextual information.
  • Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
    The complete, digitized version of the daily newspaper, including every article, advertisement, obituary, review, and editorial.
  • New York Times (1851-2007)
    The complete, digitized version of the daily newspaper, including every article, advertisement, obituary, review, and editorial.

Literary Criticism & Articles

  • Academic Search Premier
    Indexes more than 8,000 publications, with full text for approximately 4,600. ASP focuses on academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals, with over 3,500 peer-reviewed titles. Full text coverage goes as far back as 1965.
  • JSTOR
    A full-text database that contains the scanned images of hundreds of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines, some of which began publication as early as the 1870s.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The essential index for critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over 1.3 million entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. Covers 1926-present.
  • Project Muse
    Searches the full text in over 300 academic journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, journals.

SEARCH TIP: Use FindTextto locate complete articles in databases.

Finding Images

  • ARTstor [on campus] | [off campus]
    ARTstor provides access to approximately 500,000 images of art, architectural, and cultural objects.
  • Google Images
    The most comprehensive image search on the web.
  • New York Public Library Digital Gallery
    Provides free and open access to over 685,000 images digitized from the NYPL's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
  • Maintained by: Elizabeth Peterson, emp@uoregon.edu