HC 222 (Cheng) Course Research Guide
HC 222 Course Research Guide
Contact librarian: Jeff Staiger | firstname.lastname@example.org | (541) 346.1897
This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of HC 222--Honors College Literature with Prof. Mai-Lin Cheng, Winter 2013
General Background Information
- Literature Resource Center
Provides easy access to scholarly research on authors and literary works. Includes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, and journal articles.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Much more than a dictionary, the OED tracks the history, use, and meanings of English words.
- A Companion to Eighteenth-century Europe | KNIGHT D286 .C57 2008
A good source for information about the history and civilization of 18th-century Europe.
- The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Eighteenth-century Writers and Writing, 1660-1789 [e-book]
Features coverage of the lives and works of almost 500 notable writers based in the British Isles.
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment [online]
"Focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment."
- Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare | KNIGHT PR2894 .C33 2001
A scholarly overview of all of Shakespeare's work, including key issues, historical context, and performance history.
- A Shakespeare Word-Book | KNIGHT REFERENCE PR2892.F5 1969
"Being a glossary of archaic forms and varied usages of words employed by Shakespeare."
- Shakespeare: The Tempest : A Casebook | KNIGHT PR2833 .P3 1991
A study guide that provides an overview of the play, characters, themes, and historical context, as well as strategies for analysis.
- Other books about The Tempest
- Cambridge Companion to Daniel Defoe | KNIGHT PR3407 .C36 2008
"This volume surveys the wide range of Defoe's fiction and non-fiction, and assesses his importance as writer and thinker. Leading scholars discuss key issues in Defoe's novels, and show how the man who was once pilloried for his writings emerges now as a key figure in the literature and culture of the early eighteenth century."
- Daniel Defoe Digital Exhibit, Indiana University Library
This online exhibition gives an overview of the many types of publications written by Defoe in his lifetime. Includes high-resolution scans of primary sources.
- The illustration of Robinson Crusoe, 1719-1920 | KNIGHT PR3403.Z5 B52 1995
A history of illustrations in the various editions of Robinson Crusoe.
More on Islands, Castaways
Finding Works "Inspired By"
- Short Story Index | KNIGHT REFERENCE Z 5917 .S5 C62
Lists short stories in anthologies and periodicals by subject, author, or title.
- Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry | KNIGHT REFERENCE PN 1022 .H39 1994
A list of poems by subject, title, author, first line, or last line.
- Literature Resource Center
A multipurpose literary research resource, useful for finding scholarly criticism, author biographies, primary sources, and reviews.
- Search for secondary sources about your work or character
- Scan for clues to related works in the "Narrow Results" links in the left-side menu
- Google Search
- "inspired by [title/character]"
- "based on [title/character]"
- "adapted from [title/character]"
- ARTstor (on campus) | ARTStor (off campus)
ARTstor provides access to approximately 500,000 images of art, architectural, and cultural objects.
- CAMIO (Catalog of Museum Images Online)
Provides high-quality art images from around the world which have been contributed and described by leading museums.
- Google Images
The most comprehensive image search on the free Internet.