HC 221 (Cheng) Course Research Guide
HC 221 Course Research Guide
Get help from your librarian!
- Jeff Staiger
- (541) 346.1897
This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of HC 221--Honors College Literature with Prof. Mai-Lin Cheng, Fall 2012
Finding Background Information, Terms
- The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
This multipurpose reference source provides information about the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy. There is also wide coverage of the historical, political, social, and artistic background, including timelines of events.
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion | KNIGHT REF BL715 .O845 2003
Especially useful for finding definitions of unfamiliar terms and brief descriptions of key figures in Greek and Roman mythology.
- Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia of the Ancient World (10 vols) | KNIGHT REF DE5 .N4813 2002
A comprehensive guide to all things in the ancient world.
- Chronologies of the Ancient World: Names, Dates and Dynasties | KNIGHT REF DE5 .N4813 2002
A quick reference for timelines of events in Greek and Roman history.
Finding Primary Sources
- Greek Historical Documents: The Hellenistic Period | DF235 .A1B33
- The Hellenistic World From Alexander to the Roman Conquest: A Selection of Ancient Sources in Translation | DF235 .A1H44 2006
- Roman Civilization: Selected Readings (2 vols) | DG13 .L4 1990
- The Roman World: A Sourcebook | DG77 .R6716 2001
Finding Art Images
- ARTstor (on campus) | ARTStor (off campus)
ARTstor provides access to approximately 500,000 images of art, architectural, and cultural objects.
- CAMIO (Catalog of Museum Images Online)
Provides high-quality art images from around the world which have been contributed and described by leading museums.
- Google Images
The most comprehensive image search on the free Internet.
SEARCH TIP: To find scholarly sources on the Internet, add site:edu to your Google search (this limits your results to sites from universities).
- Encyclopedia Mythica
A free Internet encyclopedia of world mythology, folklore and religion.
- Perseus Digital Library -- Greek and Roman Materials
Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, including encyclopedias, grammars, and dictionaries as well as primary sources such as original texts, images, first-person narratives, and diaries.
- Maecenas: Images of Ancient Greece and Rome
- De Imperatoribus Romanis: An Online Encyclopedia of Roman Rulers and Their Families