Library Professional Development Awards

The Library Professional Development Endowment Fund was established with a gift from Edward Thatcher. This fund, disbursed by the Library Faculty Grants and Awards Committee, assists ranked Library faculty with travel expenses related to professional conferences, preconferences, or workshops that allow them to further develop the skills needed as librarians and faculty members at the university. The fund also assists Library faculty with their professional research projects.

Since 1990, more than $20,000 has been awarded to 90 faculty members. This year's recipients are:

Margaret Bean
American Library Association Conference with a focus on Interlibrary Loan

Rebecca Belford
Online Audiovisual Catalogers Conference, serving as committee member of Music OCLC Users' group and Music Library Association Annual Meeting

Sara Brownmiller
Educause 2008 Conference - reviewer for program proposals

Barbara Butler
34th International Association of Aquatic and Marine Science Libraries and Information Centers Conference

Nathan Georgitis
American Folklore Society Annual Meeting

Rose Layton
North American Serials Interest Group Conference

John Russell
Research Trip to the Morgan Library in New York City

Jeff Staiger
American Library Association Conference, serving as committee member for Publications Committee

Dean Walton
Special Libraries Association Annual Meeting, committee chair and Natural History Caucus Convener-In training

Laura Willey
Library Assessment Conference

Annie Zeidman-Karpinski
Oregon Library Association/Washington Library Association Joint Conference, co-presenter to showcase Science Library's new video game collection

We are grateful to Mr. Thatcher and other donors, including David and Nancy Petrone and library faculty and staff, who have contributed to this important fund.