A local TV news story about the restoration of Hayward Field's West Grandstand in 1973, featuring Bill Bowerman. This film is part of the Chambers Communications Corp. records, Coll 427 (Coll427_FVm03), Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon. Copyright University of Oregon. All rights reserved.
Named for Bill Hayward, UO track coach from 1903 to 1947.
1919. Hayward Field is created primarily as a venue for football. Hayward Field replaced Kinciaid Field, now the Memorial Quadrangle. Grandstand is built.
1921. Track and Field program begins competing at Hayward Field. A six-lane track is added.
1970. The track is widened from six to eight lines and a weather-proof surface is applied.
1975. West Grandstand is restored.
The restoration of the Hayward Field West Grandstand was completed in 1975. Substantial support for the project came from gifts and a special fundraising track meet in which Steve Prefontaine ran.
1988. Renovations include a 400-meter track and updated facilities.
1991. A new scoreboard is added.
1992. The Bowerman Family Building is completed.
2005. Powell Plaza is created to provide a more attractive gateway to the historic Hayward Field.
Restoration is nearly complete, Daily Emerald 2/19/75, 1.
"Hayward on Track. A Plan to Modernize Hayward Field Would Showcase Sports Achievements and Feature a Plaza and New Entrance." Oregon Daily Emerald 8 July 2004, 1.
"UO Plans to Put a New Face on an Old Gateway at Hayward." Register Guard 19 Oct. 2004, 1. ill.
Describes 1.25 million project to create a public plaza at corner of E. 15th Ave. and Agate St.
Cuniff, Methann M. "Hayward's 'Front Door' Project Hits Finish Line; the Completion of the Entryway to the University's Track and Field Facility Was Honored Friday." Oregon Daily Emerald 16 May 2005: 1.
"New Twist on an Old Turn." Oregon Quarterly 84 no.4 (2005): 21.
University of Oregon Libraries 1501 Kincaid StreetEugene, OR 97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485