Collections Documenting Women in Society Scientists
Collections Documenting Women in Society
Academics Artists and Architects Authors Children's Authors Collectors and Compilers Family Papers Journalists Missionaries Oregonians Performing Artists and Musicians Pioneers Political and Social Activists Scientists
Scientists
Carson, Rachel Louise (1907-1964).
In Philip Sterling Papers. 1947-1969. 5 ft.
Rachel Carson was a biologist, nature lover, and the writer of Silent Spring, an indictment of the use of dangerous chemical fertilizers. The collection includes the manuscript of Sea and Earth: The Life of Rachel Carson (New York: Crowell, 1970), Carson family background material, interviews with friends and relatives of Rachel Carson, photographs of Carson, newspaper clippings, and research notes.
(Ax 751)
Cormack, Maribelle. (1902-1984).
Papers. 1931-1969. 14 ft.
Maribelle Cormack wrote science books and books for adults and juveniles. The collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, radio scripts, original illustrations, notes, biographical information, and photographs.
(Ax 418)
Leach, Lilla Irvin (1886-1980).
Papers. 1925-1963. 1.5 ft.
Lilla Irvin Leach was an amateur botanist who specialized in Oregon Flora. The collection consists of correspondence, including letters from Louis F. Henderson; manuscripts; notebooks; and memorabilia.
(Ax 756)
Leland, Bernice.
Papers. 1906-1941. 1 box.
Bernice Leland was a botonist, who, with Winifred B. Chase, collected botanical specimens in Tahiti from September to November 1909 and in New Zealand from November 1909 to March 1910 for Josephine Tilden of the Botanical Department, University of Minnesota. The collection contains a diary of the trip to the South Seas, 1909 to 1910; correspondence; and miscellaneous papers. The diary is highly descriptive and personal. There are 20 letters from Ms. Tilden to Ms. Leland, 1909, concerning the project. Other papers include descriptions of particular botanizing trips. (Ax 150)
