Collections Documenting Women in Society Family Papers
Collections Documenting Women in Society
Academics Artists and Architects Authors Children's Authors Collectors and Compilers Family Papers Journalists Missionaries Oregonians Performing Artists and Musicians Pioneers Political and Social Activists Scientists
Family Papers
Adams Family.
Compiled in the Herbert S. Johnson Papers. 1929. 1 vol.
Herbert S. Johnson was the son of John W. Johnson, first president of the University of Oregon. Adams Family papers, compiled by Johnson, include original letters of William Lysander Adams, Olive Frances Goodell, Helen E. Adams, Inez Adams Parker, and Thomas McBride; Adams and Goodell family genealogies; and Inez Parker's "Early Recollections of Oregon Pioneer Life."
(A 190)
Baird Family.
See Biddle-Baird Family.
Beekman Family.
Papers. 1859-1936. 2 ft.
Cornelius C. Beekman was founder and owner of the Beekman Bank, Jacksonville, Oregon. The family papers include business correspondence, diaries, manuscript cook books, programs, and mementos. One diary was written by Carrie Beekman.
(Ax 10)
Biddle-Baird Family.
In Henry Jonathan Biddle Papers. 1766-1925. 4 ft.
Henry Jonathan Biddle was a consulting engineer and a botanist in Alaska, Washington and Oregon. The Biddle-Baird family papers consist of family correspondence: letters from Mrs. Henry J. Biddle, Sr., 1874 to 1899; letters from Christine Biddle, 1879 to 1893; and letters from Lydia M. Baird, 1947-1871.
(Ax 645)
Borthwick Family.
Papers. 1859-1948. 9 ft.
The major part of the Borthwick Family papers are the papers, diaries, and letters of Alexander E. Borthwick. Also included are the papers of his son William L. Borthwick. He was married to Ruth Millard, stepdaughter of Alban G. Saunders of Redlands, California. The Borthwick Family papers include letters (1887-1920) of the Saunders Family and a diary of Frances R. Saunders (1915) while teaching school in Casa Grande, Arizona.
(Ax 16)
Case Family.
Papers. 1843-1925. 212 letters.
The letters include ten from Sarah Potter of Iowa, 1844-1864, and thirty-four letters by Frances Case Moreland Harvey.
(Ax 125)
Day Family.
See the Jones-Day Family
Fife Family.
Gibbs Family.
See Wolcott-Gibbs Family.
Harrington, Belle.
Letters Received. 1869-1885. 27 letters.
Belle Harrington lived in various southern Illinois towns. The letters are from relatives and friends about daily life.
(A 145)
Hensolt, Edith Ashmore (1882-1975).
Papers. 1896-1954. 3 ft.
The collection contains the diaries, 1912 to 1954, of Edith Ashmore Hensolt, a librarian and her correspondence, 1896 to 1951. Additional diaries and letters of Edith Hensolt are in the William Ashmore Papers.
(Ax 588)
Kruse, Anne Applegate.
Manuscript. 1955-1960. 1 box.
Anne Applegate Kruse wrote this manuscript between 1955 and 1960 from letters, diaries and recollections about the history of the Applegates in Oregon, particularly the Charles Applegate family of Yoncalla.
(F987 K945)
Lesslie, Eva S.
Diary. 1869. 1 volume.
Eva S. Lesslie was a pupil in Girls High School, New Orleans, Louisiana. Her diary describes events in and out of school.
(A 155)
Loughary, Mrs. W.A.
McCormick Family.
In John Dale McCormick papers. 1878-1885 and 1903-1938. 2 ft.
John Dale McCormick was a Methodist minister who lived in Portland and Springfield, Oregon. His papers include the correspondence of his stepmother, Julia Rockwood McCormick. Letters from Julia Rockwood's sister, Hattie Rockwood, 1878 to 1885, describe the life of a school teacher in Minnesota.
(Ax 389)
Misselwitz, Carolyn Converse.
In Henry F. Misselwitz Papers. Account Book. 1765-1829. 1 vol.
Accounts kept by a New England merchant selling general merchandise such as rum, flour, and salt.
(Ax 351)
Parker Family.
In Horatio Hyde Parker Papers. 1844-1924. 2.5 ft.
The Horatio Hyde Parker Papers include Parker's diaries, 1861-1879; family correspondence; an 1993 diary of his daughter, Eliza Scott Parker; and genealogical information.
(Ax 76)
Powell Family.
Papers. 1851-1918. 12 volumes.
The Powell Family Papers contain personal, social, and business records relating to the John A. Powell family and the Joseph B.V. Butler family of Linn and Polk counties, Oregon. The records include a memory book of Pauline Butler, 1853, with verses, sentiments, and braided hair samples; the diary of Rilla Yambert, McCutchenville, Ohio, January to August, 1884, which describes housework, teaching of Sunday school, singing school, and organ playing; and the constitution, membership list, and minutes of the Priscilla Club of Monmouth, Oregon, 1914 to 1918, devoted to the "promotion of pleasant relations among its members, and mutual interest in, and the interchange of ideas on Needlecraft."
(Ax 521)
Rankin, Rachel Tomlin (1841-1932).
Tomlin Family Papers. 1924-1932. 1 ft.
This collection contains Tomlin family genealogical data used in Rachel Tomlin Rankin's book, The Tomlin Family (Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 1932).
(Ax 163)
Rockwood Family.
See McCormick Family.
Sheldon-Fife Family.
In the Sydney Robert Sheldon Papers. 1918-1936. 2.5 cubic ft.
The Sheldon-Fife Family papers contain letters and momentos, ca. 1889; diaries, 1905 to 1910; letters, 1917 to 1922; and miscellaneous papers of Eunice Fife, her sister, and her mother.
(Ax 79)
Smith Family.
Wolcott-Gibbs Family.
Letters. 1785-1867. 67 letters.
These letters were written or received by various members of the Wolcott-Gibbs family.
(Ax 277)
