Collections Documenting Women in Society Artists and Architects
Collections Documenting Women in Society
Academics Artists and Architects Authors Children's Authors Collectors and Compilers Family Papers Journalists Missionaries Oregonians Performing Artists and Musicians Pioneers Political and Social Activists Scientists
Artists and Architects
See also The Women Artists Archives National Directory, waand.rutgers.edu
Gerke, Frances Holmes (1896-1964).
In the Walter and Frances Holmes Gerke Papers. 1934-1946. 0.5 cubic feet.
Walter and Frances Holmes Gerke were architects from 1924 to 1964 who founded the Oregon Society of Landscape Architects. The collection includes landscape architectural drawings of Oregon projects and drawings for the Bonneville Power navigation project and the Dammasch State Hospital.
(Coll. 144)
Holberg, Ruth Langland (1889-1984).
Papers. 1923-1972. 6 ft.
Ruth Holberg was an author of books for juveniles, a poet, and a painter. Her papers include manuscripts, research notes, correspondence, a 1923 diary of her European travels, an journal from the late 1920s and early 1930s, and photographs.
(Coll. 179)
Hyman, Trina Schart (b. 1939).
Papers. 1965-1981. 6.9 cubic ft.
An author and leading illustrator of children\'s books, Hyman won the Boston Globe Horn Book Award and a Caldecott Honor. She has served as both an art director and a staff artist for Cricket magazine. Her papers include illustrations and some texts for children\'s books; greeting cards and fable cards designed by Hyman; and miscellaneous artwork.
(Coll. 65)
Jones, Elizabeth Orton (1910-1979).
Papers. 1925-1968. 5 ft.
Elizabeth Orton Jones is an artist, writer, and illustrator of children\'s books. The papers include correspondence, original illustrations, 38 prints using drypoint with aquatint, book dummies, and a scrapbook about her illustrations for Rachel Field\'s Prayer for a Child (New York, 1944).
(Coll. 200)
Lord & Schryver.
Architectural Records. 1929-1970. 21 cubic feet.
Elizabeth Lord and Edith (Nina) Schryver designed gardens in both Oregon and Washington. The records include landscaping plans and drawings, correspondence, and other professional material.
(Coll. 98)
Newberry, Clare Turlay (1903-1970).
Papers. 1910-1969. 3 ft.
Clare Turlay Newberry was a portraitist, artist and illustrator of children\'s books. Her papers include original drawings, book dummies, and scrapbooks from her childhood and early days.
(Ax 681)
Schryver, Edith.
See Lord & Schryver.
Sweetser, Carrie K. (1863-1952).
Watercolors. 339 paintings.
Carrie K. Sweetser was a botanical painter and the wife of the head of the University of Oregon Department of Botany. The paintings are of natural size and record the minutes details of the color and formation of flowers.
(Coll. 237)
Tee-Van, Helen Damrosch (1893-1976).
Papers. 1900-1969. 6 ft.
Helen Damrosch Tee-Van was an artist for the New York Zoological Society from 1922 to 1963, and an author-illustrator of natural history books. The collection includes drawings from scientific expeditions, original illustrations and manuscripts, and 26 sketchbooks, 1900 to 1929.
(Ax 715)
