Subject guide to television and motion picture industry materials in Manuscript collections University of Oregon Special Collec
Subject guide to television and motion picture industry materials in Special Collections
These collections may contain scripts for television series, ideas for series, and notes about series. This list only gives the name of the television shows found in each collection; it does not specify which are scripts, ideas, etc., and it does not give the titles of the episodes. For more complete information, see the individual inventories for each collection.
Adams, Frank Ramsay Finding aid
27 lin. ft. (18 boxes)
Adams was educated at the University of Chicago. He was the manager of the Playhouse Theater and owner of the Sylvan Beach Resort Co., Whitehall, Mi., from 1916 to 1932. Adams also wrote short stories, plays, musical comedies, motion picture scripts, and lyrics for popular songs such as "I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now?"
The collection includes story manuscripts, manuscripts of musical comedies such as "The Umpire" and "The Flirting Princess," written with William M. Hough and Joseph E. Howard; manuscripts of plays and motion pictures; published works; scrapbooks; and correspondence. Correspondents include Jerry Vogel (Vogel Music Co.); William H. Hough; Joseph E. Howard; The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers; and the Music Publishers Holding Company.
Ball, William David
Miscellaneous Papers, 1920-1965
.5 linear ft.
Short story and photoplay writer. Includes correspondence concerning writing of story line for "Flaming Youth,\" 1925.
Ballard, Willis Todhunter Finding aid
15.75 linear ft. + 127 free standing volumes
Includes professional correspondence 1947-1972, publication records, papers of western writers of America documenting his activity in that organization, 1960-1974 and manuscripts of 70 books, 17 teleplays, one screenplay, and a few magazine articles. There are also 127 books that are mainly paperback foreign editions.
Behn, Harry Finding aid
1.5 linear ft. Includes 28 screenplays, scenarios, screen treatments and continuities written 1926-1939, among them The Big Parade, The Crow, and Hell's Angels. There are also nine play manuscripts, and minor correspondence.
Bendick, Robert Finding aid
Television scripts, 1952-1964
1.5 linear ft.
Television producer and director. Includes six scripts.
Blocklinger, Peggy O'More Finding aid
6 linear ft.
Includes 32 book manuscripts, correspondence with agents and publishers, copies of books and other published material. Author's books published under a number of pseudonyms, most often Peggy O'More, or Jeanne Bowman.
Branch, Houston Finding aid
11 linear ft.
Novelist, dramatist, screenwriter, publicist. Papers include manuscripts of plays, screen stories, screen treatments, television plays, and minor papers of Houston Branch Associates and the American Library Foundation.
6 linear ft.
Publisher, author, playwright. Includes manuscripts and contracts; also some papers of Frances Hymes Brentano. Correspondents include Fulton Oursler, George Bernard Shaw, Jerry Wald.
Burnet, Dana Finding aid
6 linear ft.
Writer of short stories, plays, poems, and screenplays. Of note is the screenplay for The Great Commandment, a film released by Twentieth Century Fox in 1939.
Clements, Calvin J. Finding aid
3 linear ft. Writer of adventure stories and television scripts. Includes especially scripts for "Gunsmoke" and "The Rifleman."
Collins, Richard J. Finding aid
Writer for motion pictures, television. Includes scripts, scenarios, screenplays, professional correspondence, contacts.
Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc. CBS Television.
12.5 linear ft. (134 scripts)
Scripts for production number 1615, "Gunsmoke," 1966-1970.
Most scripts include outlines, drafts, revisions, shooting schedules and credits. Copyright held by CBS television.
Cox, William Robert Finding aid
18 linear ft. (38 boxes, 23 free standing volumes)
Author of western, mystery, and sport stories and books. Includes correspondence with publishers, other writers, and agents; manuscripts of books, screenplays, and stories; notebooks; pulp magazine tear-sheets; and books.
Curry, Thomas Albert Finding aid
12 linear ft.
Manuscripts of novels and novelettes, comic strip treatments, radio scripts, motion picture treatments. Curry wrote western and mystery stories. His correspondence with publishers and editors includes; Black Mask, Clayton Magazines, Frank A. Munsey Co., Laurence Pollinger, Ltd., Real Detective Tales, Standard Magazines Inc.
Fessier, Michael Finding aid
5 linear ft.
Includes manuscripts of 185 short stories, 7 plays, 7 teleplays, 9
screenplays, 3 novels, and a collection of published pieces. Correspondence is minor.
Glidden, Frederick Dilley (Luke Short) Finding aid
10 linear ft.
Fred Glidden, better known for his pen name, Luke Short, was born in Kewaunee, Ill., and educated at the University of Missouri. He worked on newspapers in the Middle West and as a fur trapper in northern Alberta. His first published piece appeared in 1935, and he has since written for magazines, motion pictures, television, and the book market, almost exclusively in the field of western fiction. The papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts of novels, novelettes, short stories, articles, teleplays, and screenplays, and published magazine pieces, books, and teleplays. Correspondence includes originals of letters received and sent.
Goldstone, Nathan C. Finding aid
Screenplays, screen treatments, and other literary properties (undated).
Author was a senior member of the Goldstone-Tobias Agency, Inc., Beverly Hills, CA. Among the properties is a screenplay, "The Winner," by Houston Branch, and a screen treatment, "The Republic Of Irving," by Howard Fast.
Green, Paul Eliot Finding aid
Screenplays and scripts, 1925-1942
Includes screenplays, Carolina, by Reginald Berkley, House of Connelly, by Paul Green; Voltaire, by Paul Green, based on the novel by George Gibbs and E. Laurence Dudley.
Hawkins, John and Ward Finding aid
Screenplays, and television plays, 1967-1969
25.5 linear ft.
Author was born in Vancouver, B.C. and attended Oregon State College and the University of Oregon. He commenced writing fiction for pulp magazines in 1935, and in 1960 began writing for television and motion pictures. The collection includes television scripts for numerous shows, and four versions of the screenplay, "Cascade."
Hoyt, Vance Joseph
4 linear ft. Author, naturalist. Includes copies of his books, correspondence with publishers, and personal letters. Correspondents include Hamlin Garland, Jim Tully, John R. White, and Charmain London.
Josephy, Alvin M.
70 linear ft.
Journalist and historian. Josephy worked at MGM as a screenwriter after World War II. The papers include screenplays, screen treatments, television program formats, and scripts.
Knight, Ruth Adams
3 linear ft.
Author of radio and television scripts, books for children and young people and non-fiction books for women. Knight created the radio series, "Brave Tomorrow." The collection is comprised mainly of manuscripts and research notes, with some correspondence and biographical materiel.
Lynch, Margaret (Peg) Francis Finding aid
Papers, 1944- 1976
46.5 linear ft. (101 boxes)
Author and actress. Consists largely of the radio and television scripts written by Miss Lynch for the two shows which she created and starred in with Alan Bunce: "Ethel and Albert" and "The Couple Next Door." Includes kinescopes and tapes. Also of note are two folders of material relating to the Radio Writers Guild, 1950-1952.
McGivern, Maureen Daly
6 linear ft.
Writer of fiction, nonfiction, juveniles, and television scripts. Includes correspondence and manuscripts.
Newton, Dwight Bennett Finding aid
The collection includes manuscripts of seven books, one short story, and thirteen published teleplays. Correspondence is with other writers, including Frank Bonham, Frank Gruber, and agent August Lenniger.
Norton, Henry M. Finding aid
Papers, 1942-1952; 1970-1975
1 linear ft. (4 boxes)
Writer and teacher. Includes correspondence, particularly from literary agents; tear sheets of detective fiction stories mainly from pulp magazines; television and radio scripts; teaching material; and two financial ledgers delineating the expenses and earnings of a writer.
Steiner, Fred (music, not scripts) Finding aid
Background music, orchestral scores and arrangements.
Music scores for radio program, "This Is Your FBI," 1949-1952, and "The Radio Reader's Digest," 1945.
Steiner, George (music, not scripts) Finding aid
Music manuscripts, 1914-1964
6 linear ft.
Musician, composer. Includes original compositions, arrangements, radio, motion picture and television music, notebooks, and published pieces.
Taylor, Matthew Ambrose
1.5 linear ft.
Author. Includes manuscripts of published and unpublished short stories, plays radio and television scripts, and screenplays, and a collection of published magazine pieces.
9 linear ft., incl. 4,600 letters
Author. Includes manuscripts of 11 novels. Major correspondence include Verne Athanas, Frank Bonham, Norman Fox, William Frazier, Frank Gruber, William Gulick, John Hawkins, Wayne Overholser, Western Writers of America.
Warren, Charles Marquis Finding aid
1 linear ft. Includes scripts by Sy Bartlett, Jonathan Latimer, Ranald McDougall, and Warren.
Woodman, Ruth Cornwall Finding aid
12 linear ft.
Scriptwriter. Collection includes radio and television scripts for "Death Valley Days," and miscellaneous papers, 1914-1916, 1930-1969.
Wright, Robert Vincent
Television scripts, 1961-1969
.5 linear ft.
Thirty-two television scripts, synopses, story outlines, and production scripts.