Subject guide to North American Indigenous peoples materials
Subject guide to North American Indigenous peoples materials
Andrews, Clarence Leroy, 1862-1948. Finding aid
Papers, 1913-1948. 3 boxes; 4.5 lin. ft., Coll. 067
Photographs, c. 1913-1948, 16 boxes; 8 linear feet, 1600 images, PH001
Andrews came to Oregon in 1864 from Ohio. In 1897 he went to Alaska, worked as Deputy Collector of Customs, and wrote for newspapers. Between 1923 and 1929 he was an employee of the Interior Department Bureau of Education and Reindeer Service in Alaska. His main interest was in the Eskimos and their reindeer herds. The papers include correspondence, manuscripts, and information on Eskimo folklore and customs, reindeer, and education in Alaska. The photographs include more than 100 images of Alaska Native people and artifacts.
Angelus Studio, 1870s-1930s
Photographs, 293 boxes, 87 linear feet, 10,000 images, PH037
The Angelus Studio was a professional photographic company located in Portland, Oregon. The collection includes works by George M. Weister (1862-1922) and Arthur M. Prentiss (dates undetermined) among the studio photographers; owner Fred Clark also acquired images by previous local photographers including Edward Partridge. The Angelus Studio collection provides extraordinary documentation of the city of Portland, the Lewis & Clark Exposition of 1905, Oregon landmarks, and commercial operations including logging and fish packing. There are approximately 50 images that include tribal subjects.
Applegate, Lindsay, 1808-1892. Finding aid
Papers, 1863-1891. 2 boxes; 1.5 lin. ft., Ax 004
Lindsay Applegate is noted as a pioneer, pathfinder, and Indian agent. Most of the papers relate to his work as subagent at Ft. Klamath, 1864-1869, and include reports, vouchers, and similar administrative documents.
Applegate, Oliver Cromwell, 1845-1938. Finding aid
Papers, 1842-1938. 20 boxes; 13.5 lin. ft., Ax 005
O.C. Applegate assisted his father, Lindsay Applegate, who was subagent of the Indian agency at Ft. Klamath. He later became subagent at Yainax. During the Modoc War he served as scout and interpreter. In 1876 he was appointed general Indian agent for Oregon.
The papers include correspondence, diaries, materials on the Indian agencies, pension papers, and miscellaneous materials. Correspondents include members of the Applegate family, Alfred B. Meacham, Frances Fuller Victor, Binger Hermann, and Eva Emery Dye.
Boutelle, Frazier Augustus, 1840-1924. Finding aid
Papers, 1869-1933. 6 boxes, 2 vol.; 4 lin. ft., Ax 012
Photographs, c. 1865-1924. 4 boxes, 2 linear feet, 124 images, PH119
Boutelle was an army officer who began his career during the Civil War, and later became a lieutenant in the 5th New York Cavalry. After muster-out, he rejoined the Army as an enlisted man, ending up as a captain in the 1st Cavalry. As a recruiter in World War I, Boutelle became one of the longest serving of US officers. The letters, mostly to his wife, describe Army life in various frontier posts in Oregon, Texas, Montana, and California. He served in the Modoc War, was superintendent of Yellowstone National Park, 1889-1890, and after his retirement in 1895 became adjutant general of the state of Washington. His son, Henry Moss Boutelle, was killed in action in the Philippines in November 1899. The photographs include seven tribal images, primarily related to the Indian Wars.
Bowman, Walter S. 1865-1938
Photographs, c. 1890-1925. 20 boxes, 4 linear feet, PH004
Walter S. Bowman was a professional photographer who worked in Pendleton, Oregon, from the late 1880s to the mid 1930s. Bowman's photographs document daily life in Eastern Oregon, including special events such as the Pendleton Round-Up. The collection includes about 40 images with tribal subjects, primarily related to rodeo. Other Bowman images are located in The Moorhouse and Furlong collections
Boyle, William Henry.
Papers, 1951-1917. 4 boxes; 6 lin. ft., Coll 187
Boyle fought in the Civil War, entering the New York Volunteer Army in 1862. He served under Generals Crook and Sheridan, and fought at Harper's Ferry, Lynchburg, and Cedar Creek. In 1869 Boyle was sent to the Umatilla Indian Agency in Oregon, and served as agent until 1971. He was Field Quartermaster during the Modoc War, and commanded Fort Lapwai (Idaho) in 1877, arranging council with Chief Joseph in hopes of preventing war with the Nez Perce Indians. In 1884 he was sent to Nebraska, then South Dakota. The papers contain some correspondence, but mostly U.S. Army service documents, military memorabilia, scrapbooks, and two watercolors done by Boyle of scenes on the Umatilla Indian reservation.
Brown, Joseph Henry, 1837-1898.
History of Indian Wars in Oregon and Washington. 888 p., F979.5 B814h
Unpublished work, intended as a companion to Brown's Political History.
Brown, Joseph Henry, 1837-1898.
Letter to John H. Mitchell, May 19, 1893. 1 p. CA 1898 May 19
Asks for government maps for projected history of Oregon Indian wars.
Cayuse-Nez Perce Sketchbook [ca. 1904]
1 album, SFM 61
Sketchbook by unknown artist depicting scenes of Nez Perce and Cayuse Indian warfare as well as drawings of soldiers, cowboys, and athletes.
Cayuse, Yakima, and Rogue River Wars. Finding aid
Papers, 1847-1858. 1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Bx 047
A collection of letters, official reports, general orders, petitions, and miscellaneous papers relating to Indian wars in Oregon and Washington. Correspondents include George Abernathy, Jesse Applegate, Alanson Hinman, and Joel Palmer.
Chambreau, Edward, 1820-1902. Finding aid
Papers, 1847-1890. 1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Coll 056
Chambreau came to Oregon in 1847, went to California in 1849, returned to Oregon in 1851, and went to the Idaho mines in 1862. He was an Indian trader, miner, saloon keeper, gambler, and military scout for General O.O. Howard.
The papers include photocopies of letters to Gen. Howard; manuscripts, including Chambreau's autobiography; diaries; and articles.
Clark, Robert Carleton, 1877-1939.
Essays in honor of R.C. Clark. Eugene, OR, 1941-1943. 1 box; .5 lin. ft., F 979.5 C549
The essays were intended as a memorial volume, but never published. The twelve essays include G.F. Brimlow's "Indians of the Malheur Country;" H.S. Bruce's "Oregon Central Military Wagon Road Company;" and C.A. Spreen's "Placer Gold Mining in Oregon."
Clarke, Samuel Asahel, 1827-1909.
History of the Modocs. 5 folders, CB C556h
Includes Winema's account of the massacre of the peace commissioners in 1873.
Colver Family. Finding aid
Papers, 1860-1923. 1 box; .5 lin. ft., Ax 126
Includes correspondence of Samuel Colver, an Oregon pioneer of 1850, and letters (1865-1867) written by Lewellyn Colver to his parents while he was at Ft. Klamath in Company I, 1st Oregon Infantry.
Cornelius, Thomas R., 1827-1899.
Letters and document, 1855-1856. 1 folder, CA 1855 Oct. 20
Cornelius came to Oregon with his parents in 1845. He enlisted for the Cayuse Indian War and the Yakima Indian War. Later he ran a general store in the town of Cornelius, and farmed.
One letter, Oct. 20, 1855, was written from The Dalles and cites rumors of Indian war plans; the other letter, Feb. 20, 1856, written from Ft. Henrietta, refers to supply problems and the sale of horses to the government.
Crawford, William James, 1907-1970. Finding aid
Case files, 1949-1961. 1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Ax 636
Crawford was born in The Dalles, OR, and educated at the University of Oregon. He was an attorney in Burns and Portland. The case files include a file on the Indian Claims Commission, no. 17, Snake or Piute Indians vs. United States, 1941-1961. This was a suit to recover value of reservation land, and includes photocopies of U.S. Army and Bureau of Indian Affairs documents, 1864-1881, depositions by Indians, and correspondence.
Crook, George, 1828-1890. Finding aid
Letters, 1863-1890. 2 folders, A 024
Crook was an army officer, best known for his Indian fighting in the Pacific Northwest and the Southwest. Included are letters from Crook to Lyman Walter V. Kennon, his aide, 1888-1890. There are also drafts of letters from Crook to George A. Custer. Most of the letters refer to Indian campaigns and relocation of the Apache Indian reservation.
Donegan, James J.
Historical sketch of Harney County, OR. Burns, OR, 1927. 23 p. (typed copy), CB D716
Includes section on the Bannock Indian War, 1878.
Dowell, Benjamin Franklin, 1826-1897. Finding aid
Papers, 1848-1880. 2 boxes (including 23 vol.); 3 lin. ft., Ax 031
Dowell, a Virginia native, emigrated to California, then Oregon in 1850. He had a degree in law, but since there was not enough legal business in Oregon at that time to support another lawyer, Dowell ran a pack team from various points to the gold region of southern Oregon and northern California. The business flourished during the Indian wars in southern Oregon in the 1850s, but after his pack train was captured by Indians, Dowell returned to law. He began practice in Jacksonville, and specialized in pressing "Indian depredation" and military expense claims for Oregonians. The papers consist of scrapbooks containing correspondence and clippings.
Ewing, William Day, b. 1832.
Autobiographical statement. 6 p. (typed copy), CB Ew56
Includes an account of his experiences in the Rogue River War, 1852.
Furlong, Charles W. 1874-1967
Photographs, 1895-1965. 5 boxes, 2 linear feet, PH244
Charles Wellington Furlong (1874-1967) was an explorer, adventurer, writer and scientist who documented his adventures in publications and notebooks and well as in photographs. The Furlong photographs include copies of his artwork, ethnographical evidence, historical events and personalities, and remote corners of the world. He was a competitor and chronicler for the Pendleton Round-Up.The tribal images include rodeo participants and indigenous people of South America.
Giles, Daniel, b. 1836.
Autobiography (to 1855). 65 p., CB G391
Includes an account of his overland journey to Oregon in 1852, and of gold mining and Indian fighting in southern Oregon, 1853-1855.
Gorman, Martin W., 1853-1926. Finding aid
Papers, 1872-1926. 3 boxes; 1.5 lin. ft., Coll 169
Gorman was born in Ontario, Canada. He came to Portland, OR in 1885, where he held a series of clerical jobs. He was also a botanist who made a number of trips to Alaska and the Yukon region. In 1906 he was appointed curator of the Forestry Building, part of the Lewis and Clark Exposition complex; he held this position until his death. The papers consist of diaries, plant lists, and manuscripts of articles. Among these are a vocabulary of the Tinne Indian language (1899), and "Food Plants of the Indian Tribes of the Northwest" (n.d.).
Hillers, John K. 1823-1945
Photograph album, albumen prints, c. 1879-1881, PH203_16
Hillers traveled with John Wesley Powell and photographed for the Bureau of Ethnology. This album shows scenery of New Mexico and Las Vegas (NM) Hot Springs and probably dates from the Smithsonian's Cushing expeditions. Includes 20 images, primarily portraits, of Southwestern tribal people.
Hinman, Alanson, 1822-1908. Finding aid
Papers, 1859-1900. 3 folders., A 051
Hinman came to the Oregon Country in 1844 and taught school at the Whitman Mission. He later moved to the Willamette Valley, was collector of customs at Astoria, and finally settled in Forest Grove. He was a trustee of Pacific University.
Included in the papers is correspondence with Senator Joseph Dolph, 1884, concerning the future of the Indian training school at Forest Grove. Other correspondence discusses Pacific University.
Holdridge, Herbert Charles, b. 1892. Finding aid
Papers, 1953-1970. 6 boxes; 9 lin. ft., Coll 124
Holdridge was commandant of the Adjutant General's school, Ft. Washington, Maryland. After his retirement in 1944, he became involved in numerous causes, including conservative politics and the plight of the American Indian. The papers consist of correspondence with members of various organizations, manuscripts, and miscellaneous pamphlets and publications, such as Memorandum on Yakima Indian Tribal Matters (Warner, Sutton, & Warner, n.d.).
Hutton, John P.
Letter to James C. Hutton, July 26, 1856. 3 p., CA 1856 July 26
Complains of idiotic actions of Captain David Goff.
Jackson, Boyd J. Finding aid
Correspondence, 1941-1950. 4 boxes; 2 lin. ft., Ax 055
Jackson was secretary of the business committee of the Klamath Tribal Council and a tribal delegate. The correspondence and documents relate to the affairs of the Klamath Indians and Klamath Indian Reservation in Oregon.
Jackson County, OR. Citizen's Committee.
Document, Feb. 1, 1865. 1 p., CA 1865 Feb. 1
Petition to the Jackson County commissioners for payment of bounty to persons enlisting.
James, James J., 1894-1967. Finding aid
Papers, 1941-1967. 3 boxes; 3.5 lin. ft., Ax 553
James, also known as Jimmy James and George N. James, was born in Kansas. He claimed to be part Cherokee Indian, and to have studied art at the Chicago Art Institute. At various times he called himself the "Painter of the Columbia" and "Indian Press Agent." From about 1853, when he was living in Portland, OR, he began a letter-writing campaign to improve the status and conditions of the American Indian. He wrote to public officials, Indian leaders, tribal councils, writers, and private citizens. The papers consist mainly of letters received and sent concerning Indian rights. Major correspondents include Alzamon Ira Lucas (Chief Rising Sun), Wayne L. Morse, and Richard Neuberger. One file concerns the proposed Northwestern American Indian Foundation and Center, Inc. Also included are newspapers such as Cherokee Times, Independent American, Smoke Signals, Ute Bulletin, and Yakima Reservation News.
Letter to R.H. Mallory, Oct. 24, 1857. 2 p., CA 1857 Oct. 24
Is worried about agent John F. Miller's accounts.
Jewett, Gary W., 1868-1959. Finding aid
Papers, 1938-1942. 1 box; .5 lin. ft., Ax 147
Jewett was an attorney and hotel owner in Pomeroy, WA. The papers concern his services as attorney to the Nez Perce Indians in the Court of Claims, case no. L-194, Joseph's Band of Nez Perce Tribe of Indians vs. The United States, 1938-1942.
Josephy, Alvin M., Jr., 1915-2005
Papers, 1948-1987. 176 boxes, 2 pkg; 148 lin. ft., Coll 014
Josephy was a writer who worked for the New York Herald Tribune, MGM, and was an associate editor for Time magazine from 1951-1960. He served on a number of Indian, governmental, and environmental organizations. His primary work dealt with the plight of the American Indian. He served as a consultant or board member to the National Congress of American Indians, the Association on American Indian Affairs, National Indian Youth Council, and the Indian Arts and Craft Board of the U.S. Department of the Interior. His books include The Nez Perce Indians and the Opening of the Northwest, Indian Heritage of America, Red Power, Now That the Buffalo's Gone, and War on the Frontier. The collection includes manuscripts of Josephy's works and works to which he contributed; correspondence; and records of organizations in which he was active. Some of the organizations are The Museum of the American Indian, Association on American Indian Affairs, Native American Rights Fund, National Resources Defense Council, Environmental Policy Institute, and various other Indian, environmental, historical, and military organizations.
Klamath Indian Tribal Council. Finding aid
Records, 1933-1958. 7 boxes; 4 lin. ft., Bx 051
Includes minutes of the Executive Council, 1950-1957; minutes of the General Council, 1933-1958; minutes of the Business Committee, 1934, 1936, 1946-1950; circulars; and copies of the Klamath Reservation News, no. 1-14 (June 1953-May 1954).
Klamath Management Specialists, Klamath Falls, OR.
Records, 1954-1958. 1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Bx 125
Public Law 587, Aug. 13, 1954, as amended, provided for "the termination of Federal supervision over the property of the Klamath Tribe of Indians." Sec. 5 of the act provided for the selection and retention by contract of management specialists to oversee and arrange for orderly termination. On May 9, 1955 Secretary of the Interior Douglas McKay signed a contract with T.B. Watters, W.L. Phillips, and Eugene G. Favell as Klamath Management Specialists. The records include correspondence and documents.
Lamerick, John K.
Letter to James Blakely, June 21, 1856. 1 p., CA 1856 June 21
Orders 2nd Regiment to proceed to place of muster for discharge.
Lipps, Oscar Hiram, b. 1872. Finding aid
Papers, 1912-1939. 2 boxes; 3 lin. ft., Ax 151
Lipps was a teacher, and entered the U.S. Indian School service in 1898. He served at Carlisle Indian School, as superintendent of the Nez Perce Agency, at the Chemawa Indian School, and as field representative of the U.S. Indian Service. Papers include general correspondence, 1934-1938, concerning Indian problems and rights, including letters from Matthew K. Sniffen, secretary of the Indian Rights Association. Also included are special reports and Indian school press publications, particularly from Carlisle and Chemawa Indian schools.
Lopp, William Thomas, 1864-1939. Finding aid
Papers, 1898-1938. 6 boxes; 3 lin. ft., Ax 058
Lopp was a missionary and teacher. He was chief of the Alaska Division, U.S. Bureau of Education, 1910-1923, and served as consultant for the Hudson's Bay Company, 1925-1927, as an expert on reindeer. In a controversy about ownership, care and marketing of reindeer and allied problems, he worked with the Indian Rights Association in opposition to the Lomen interests, 1936. The papers include diaries, 1893-1936; correspondence; and files on the Lomen controversy and the Hudson's Bay reindeer investigation.
McClain, Albert M.
Remarks on the Nez Perce Indians and Indian missions in the Northwest. n.d. 20 p. (typed copy), CB M131
McClain was a Presbyterian minister, missionary to the Nez Perce Indians, and later pastor in Nampa, ID.
Letter to Mr. Lockley, Aug. 25, 1872. 4 p., CA 1872 Aug. 25
Has met with Big Bow, Lone Wolf, and Kicking Bird of the Kiowas. Reports return by Indians of Susannah and Frances Lee. Remarks on Indian depredations on cattle drives.
Letter to J.S. Smith, Jan. 29, 1870. 4 p., CA 1870 Jan. 29
Asks Smith to press claim, through B.F. Dowell, for payment for services of mules in Indian war, 1855-1856.
Machetanz, Sara Burleson, 1918- Finding aid
Papers, 1954-1961. 4 folders, A 219
With her husband, Frederick, Sara Machetanz has written books and produced films about Eskimo life in Alaska. The papers include letters, manuscript fragments, and a diary written at Unalakleet, AK, 1954-1955, describing experiences in an Eskimo village.
Marsden, Edward, 1869-1932. Finding aid
Papers, 1890-1928. 6 boxes; 4 lin. ft., Ax 069
Marsden was a Presbyterian missionary and a Tsimshian Indian member of the Metlakahtla colony, Alaska. After being educated in Ohio, he returned to Alaska as a missionary. The papers consist of correspondence, including Marsden's correspondence as secretary for the Council of the Annette Islands Reserve, 1916-1921, and scrapbooks.
Moorhouse, Lee, 1850-1922.
Photographs, 1880s-1920s. 340 boxes, 204 linear feet, approx. 10,000 images, PH036
Lee Moorhouse was a Pendleton businessman who served briefly as Agent to the Cayuse, Walla Walla and Umatilla tribes. He took portraits of tribal members at his home, often attired in his collection of "Indian curios" as well as on the reservation. Some 6,000 of the images have tribal subjects. See also the digital collection Picturing the Cayuse.
Neuberger, Richard Lewis, 1912-1960. Finding aid
Papers, 1931-1960. 54 boxes, 1 pkg., 4 vol.; 82 lin. ft., Ax 078
Neuberger served in the Oregon Legislature, 1940-1942, 1948-1953, and was elected U.S. Democratic Senator from Oregon in 1954. Papers are mainly the office files of Senator Neuberger, 1955-1960. These include files on subjects such as conservation, Indian affairs, irrigation and reclamation, and public and private power.
Newell, Robert, 1807-1869.
Memorandum books, 1829-1842, 1848. 2 vol., A 089 and A 090
Newell was a mountain man and Oregon pioneer. He began as a trapper, and later settled in Oregon. In 1861 he moved to Lapwai, ID, where he served as special commissioner and interpreter among the Nez Perce Indians.
One of the memoranda, titled "Memorandum of travel to the Kiyuse War", covers Jan. 29 to Mar. 25, 1848. At this time, Newell was a member of a commission sent by Oregon's provisional government to hold council with Indian tribes on the Columbia River after the Whitman massacre. The other commission members were Joel Palmer and H.A.G. Lee.
30 images of Alaska Native subjects
Palmer, Joel, 1810-1881. Finding aid
Papers, 1845-1888. 23 boxes, 4 map folders; 15 lin. ft., Ax 057
Palmer came to Oregon in 1845. His Journal of Travels over the Rocky Mountains (Cincinnati, 1847) was a important guide book for Oregon-bound emigrants. He served as Superintendent of Indian Affairs, Oregon Territory, 1853-1856. He also served in both houses of the state Legislature, and in 1870 was Republican candidate for governor. Most of the papers are official records of the Oregon Superintendency, U.S. Office of Indian Affairs, 1852-1856, and of the Siletz Indian Reservation, where Palmer was agent from 1871 to 1873. Major correspondents are John Beeson, Timothy W. Davenport, Edward R. Geary, Joseph Lane, James W. Nesmith, and Isaac I. Stevens.
Pierce, Walter Marcus, 1861-1954.
Papers, 1933-1943. 85 boxes; 132 lin. ft., Coll 068
Pierce was an Oregon congressman, 2nd District, 1933-1943 (Democrat) and governor. The papers are Senator Pierce's office files, and include files on subjects such as agriculture, birth control, forests and forest policy, Indian affairs, old age pensions, power, and the Works Projects Administration.
Redington, John W., 1858-1935.
Papers, 1880-1935. 11 boxes; 6 lin. ft., Ax 093
Redington, born in Massachusetts, enlisted in the U.S. Army in 1874 as a means of getting to the West. After his discharge from the Army in 1874, he founded a job printing establishment in Salem, OR. He left this in order to wander through Oregon, Idaho, and Utah as a tramp printer. In the process he served as a scout in the Nez Perce Indian War and the Bannock Indian War. His small stature led General O.O. Howard to refer to him as the "original boy scout." Redington later took over the Heppner Gazette of Heppner, OR.
The papers include correspondence, manuscripts, newspaper clippings, and miscellany.
Robbins, Kate L., b. 1834. Finding aid
Papers, 1855-1886. 4 folders, A 105
Kate Robbins settled with her husband, Abner, in Oregon in 1859. In 1868 they moved to the Ochoco area; they were among the first settlers in that area. The letters from 1869 to 1886, written by Kate to her relatives in Massachusetts, describe living conditions in the area, with references to Indian uprisings, feuds between cattle and sheep ranchers, politics, and social life.
Roblin, Charles E.
Correspondence, 1923-1936. 1 box; .5 lin. ft., Ax 166
Roblin was a special allotting agent, U.S. Indian Bureau. He was stationed in New Mexico, Montana, and Washington. Most of the correspondence is official, consisting of copies of letters sent.
Russell, Silas, b. 1837.
Diary, May 3, 1865-Apr. 12, 1866. 1 vol., A 283
Russell came from Illinois to Oregon with his parents and farmed near Pleasant Hill, Lane County. In 1864 he enlisted in Company H, First Oregon Volunteer Infantry, during the Indian wars.
Saylor, Frederick H.
Myths, legends, and traditions of the native races of America. 1906. 4 vol., CA Sa99
Saylor was a collector of Indian legends and writer of articles for pioneer publications. The first three volumes are a manuscript; the fourth volume is a collection of mementos. Most of the Indian legends relate to the Pacific Northwest and California.
Shannon, John Phillip, b. 1824.
Autobiographical statement. 1 folder, CB Sh19
Includes references to the Indian wars in southern Oregon.
Southwest Oregon Research Project Finding Aid
Photocopies from national repositories; 49 boxes, 32.25 lin. ft., Coll 268
The Southwest Oregon Research Project (SWORP) Collection consists mainly of photocopies of widely scattered and overlooked original documents pertaining to the history of the Native peoples of greater Oregon. Many of these documents have been languishing in national repositories, particularly in Washington, D.C. SWORP aims to repatriate these materials to the Native American Tribes. Through the agency of Native Americans themselves, the archive and continuing project allows Native American and university scholars to continue to research and rewrite the histories of colonization that have been imposed upon Native peoples.
Sox, Carl E. Finding aid
Miscellaneous legal and personal papers, 1893-1930. 2 boxes; 1 lin. ft., Ax 168
Sox was an Albany, OR, merchant. The papers include corporate records of the Stewart and Sox Hardware Company, 1893-1913; documents relating to other businesses; and correspondence concerning W.A. Matthews, missionary at Warm Springs Indian Reservation, 1925.
Stevens, Hazard, 1842-1918. Finding aid
Papers, 1676-1918. 8 boxes, 11 map folders, 6 vol., 9 scrapbooks; 21 lin. ft., Ax 042
Stevens was the son of Isaac Ingalls Stevens, first governor of Washington Territory. He served in the Civil War, and after the war he went to Washington Territory, served as agent for the Oregon Steam Navigation Co., and was part owner of other transportation companies. In 1875, he relocated to Boston as an attorney. The papers include correspondence, diaries, materials on railroads and internal revenue, legal and family papers, and scrapbooks. Also included is a manuscript of Hazard Stevens's biography of his father, printed indian treaties associated with Isaac Ingalls Stevens, 1855-1856, and copies of proceedings of Indian councils, 1855-1856.
An account of the Rogue River Indian War of 1855. 14 p., CB Su87
Sutton was a participant in the war.
Underhill, Ruth Murray, b. 1884. Finding aid
Papers, 1959-1965. 3 boxes; 3.5 lin. ft., Ax 570
Underhill was a social worker, anthropologist, and teacher. The papers consist of manuscripts for her books, including Red Man's Religion, Antelope Singer, and Beaverbird. Also included is material on George W. Ingalls, an Indian agent and superintendent of religious work among Indians for the American Baptist Home Mission Society. His materials consist of correspondence, manuscripts, and mementos, including the manuscript "Customs and Legends of the Indians," told by Ingalls and written by Vernille DeWitt-Warr about 1915.
U.S. Office of Indian Affairs, Malheur Agency.
Correspondence and documents relating to the establishment and administration of the Malheur Indian Reservation, OR, 1876-1880. 1 box; .5 lin. ft. (Photostat copies from originals in the Department of the Interior.), Bx 053
The files relate to the struggle between the Interior Department and the Army for control of Indian affairs.
U.S. Office of Indian Affairs, Warm Springs Agency, OR.
Letterbook of James L. Cowan, agent, Dec. 22, 1896 - Jan. 18, 1898. 1 vol., B 143
Contains letters sent to the Commissioner of Indian Affairs concerning agency business.
Wakeman, Letha Evangeline Ward, 1898-1974. Finding aid
Papers, 1908-1974. 2 boxes; 3 lin. ft., Ax 794
Wakeman and her husband, Andrew, were missionaries to the Congo, 1922-1926. When Andrew became ill, they returned to the United States. Letha Wakeman was active in a number of organizations, including the Oregon Migrant Ministry. The papers include diaries, correspondence, and records of the Oregon Migrant Ministry and the Yamhill County Migrant Committee, 1955-1974. There is also a file on F. Richard Schneider, regional welfare representative, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bethel, AK.