Subject guide to Music materials

Subject guide to Music materials in Manuscript collections

Return to Guides list

Adams, Frank Ramsay, 1883-1963. Finding aid
Papers, 1908-1955.
18 boxes; 27 lin. ft., Ax 527
Adams was educated at the University of Chicago. He was manager of the Playhouse Theater and owner of the Sylvan Beach Resort Co., Whitehall, MI, from 1916 to 1932. Adams also wrote short stories, plays, musical comedies, motion picture scripts, and lyrics for popular songs such as "I Wonder Who's Kissing Her Now?" The collection includes story manuscripts; manuscripts of musical comedies such as "The Umpire" and "The Flirting Princess," written with William M. Hough and Joseph E. Howard; manuscripts of plays and motion pictures; published works; scrapbooks; and correspondence. Correspondents include Jerry Vogel (Vogel Music Co.); William H. Hough; Joseph E. Howard; The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers; and the Music Publishers Holding Company.

Aitken Family. Finding aid
Papers, 1874-1969.
6 boxes; 7 lin. ft., Ax 754
This collection includes the papers of Carrie Frances Aitken (1860-1947) and her two daughters, Frances Alva (1889-1970) and Geraldine Lee (1887-1972). Geraldine attended music school in the Boston area in 1909. In 1916 she went to Hawaii to teach music at Oahu College, Honolulu, and remained there until 1927 when she went to New York and taught at the Seymour School of Musical Recreation. At the same time, she ran a private piano school in Maplewood, NJ. She returned to Honolulu in 1935 as a private teacher of piano. Included are Geraldine's letters, written to her mother and sister, 1909-1910, 1916-1917, 1923-1951.

Alderson, William L.
Notes and correspondence on Pacific Northwest folklore, 1944-1963.
2 boxes, 1 pkg.; 2 lin. ft., Ax 195
Alderson was a professor of literature at Reed College, Portland, OR. The collection consists of transcriptions of folk songs, folk sayings, and tales; course outlines; and letters of inquiry from other folklorists. There are recordings by
Alderson of fiddler Karl Hutchinson and ballad singer Mrs. Don Slocum, both of Portland.

American Federation of Musicians. Local 315, Salem, OR.
Minutes of meetings, June 1920-Oct. 1928.
2 vol., B 173

Applegate, Alex M.
Diary, 1861-1862.
3 vol.; 1 folder, A 004
Alex Applegate was the son of Charles Applegate, Oregon pioneer; he lived near Yoncalla, OR. Vol. 3 is a composite, including a narrative, "Ventures and Adventures of a Party of Webfoot Miners on Their Way to and in the Poly Region of the Northern Mines;" copies of letters; extracts from diaries; and ballads.

Barlow, Howard, 1892-
Little violin piece, 1920.
4 p.; 1 folder, CA 1920 Jan. 1
Music manuscript.

Bauer, Lydia M., compiler.
Sacred and secular songs, 1859.
1 vol., F 811 B326
Manuscript song book of German and English selections, both hymns and ballads, compiled by Bauer. She was a member of the Aurora Colony, OR.

Beau, Henry J., 1911-1987.
The Henry Beau collection of American popular music: stock arrangements, popular song arrangements by Henry Beau, and miscellaneous sheet music, 1925-1955.
95 boxes, 1 pkg.; 55.5 lin. ft., Ax 499
Beau began his music career as a member of a family orchestra. He was a musician (clarinetist) with orchestras of Red Nichols, Tommy Dorsey, Benny Goodman, Ray Noble, John Scott Trotter, and Paul Weston. He was also an arranger for radio and television programs. The collection consists of original music manuscripts (scores), personal papers, audio tapes, and Beau's personal record collection.

Beau, Wally.
Music arrangements.
3 boxes; 4.5 lin. ft., Ax 806
The collection contains over 2000 stock arrangements, some by Henry J. Beau.

Branch, Houston, 1905-1968.
Papers, 1919-1958.
11 lin. ft., Ax 466
Beginning in 1926, Branch was a film writer in Hollywood. He also formed a public relations firm, Houston Branch Associates, and founded the American Library Foundation with William Allen White. Branch collaborated with Charles Wakefield Cadman on several projects. The collection consists of manuscripts of novels, plays, and screen stories, including musical romances titled "The Blackguard" and "The Bright Shawl." Charles Wakefield Cadman materials include music for "Cubanite," "A Song in the Dark," and "The Splendid Hour," and one letter from Cadman to Branch.

Burkes, DeWitt C.
Correspondence, 1940-1957.
2 boxes; 1 lin. ft., Ax 106
Burkes was a psychiatrist. Along with files on the Central Inspection Board and the American Psychiatric Association, there is correspondence about the beginnings of the Portland Chamber Orchestra Association (1947-1949).

Calbreath Family.
Papers, 1843-1930.
6 boxes; 3 lin. ft., Ax 193
The collection consists of papers of the Calbreath and Smith families. John Calbreath, born in West Virginia, came to Oregon with his family in 1865, and later practiced medicine in Lafayette and McMinnville, OR. From 1899 to 1908 he was superintendent of the Oregon State Insane Asylum. He married Irene Smith, daughter of Sidney Smith, Oregon pioneer. Their daughters, Helen and Evelene, studied music in Europe, mainly in Berlin, where they met Edith Sitwell.
Included are letters from Helen and Evelene to their parents, written from Europe, 1907-1909.

Carroll, Harry, 1892-1962
Papers, 1913-1963.
1 box, 1 pkg.; 2 lin. ft., Ax 224
Carroll was a composer of popular songs. He was a founder and the original director of ASCAP. The collection contains correspondence with ASCAP, 1943-1963, and a manuscript autobiography. The autobiography touches on most aspects of his life, including his associations with famous entertainers such as the Dolly Sisters, Eddie Cantor, and Sophie Tucker. Also included is manuscript and published music, such as published copies of Carroll's two most popular pieces, "Down in Bom-Bombay" and "I'm Always Chasing Rainbows;" clippings; a scrapbook; and photographs.

Clark, R. A.
Broadsheet, 21 x 28 cm. (Portland, OR: McCormick Brothers, 1879), G 1879 M381
Masonic Hall. Friday evening, April 29, 1879. Complimentary testimonial concert, tendered to Mr. R.A. Clark.

Coleman, John.
Ballads and songs, n.d.
11 pieces; 1 folder, A 202
"Jock" Coleman was a cowboy and harvest hand of Umatilla County, OR, around 1919-1920. He was known as the "poet lariat." The music consists of love songs, some with lyrics.

Cummins, Lucile, d. 1975.
Papers, 1910-1940.
1 box, 1 pkg.; 1.5 lin. ft., Ax 786
Cummins was a music teacher. She studied music and gave private lessons in Portland, OR in 1924 and in New York in 1935, where she studied at the Juilliard Institute. The papers consist of correspondence, mainly with her parents, Rose and John M. Cummins, who lived in Elgin, OR. The letters describe the life of a student living away from home, and comment on musical and cultural events. Also included are newspaper clippings and theater and concert programs.

Cykler, Samuel.
Music, 1884-1920.
1 box, F 780 C9
Cykler was a San Jose, CA dealer in zithers, zither music, and strings. The collection includes manuscript and published music for the zither.

DeMoss Family
Papers, 1877-1942.
8 boxes, 1 pkg.; 4.5 lin. ft., Coll. 070
The DeMoss Lyric Bands began touring in 1872; their career of musical touring lasted more than 35 years. Family members were James M. DeMoss, his wife Elizabeth, and their five children--Henry, George, Lizzie, Minnie, and May. The children were trained by their parents and also attended the Royal Academy of Music in London. Their first tours were confined to Oregon. Their specialty was playing 40 to 50 different instruments during one performance. The collection contains correspondence, tour journals (mainly lists of towns, evening's grosses, and expenses), manuscripts, testimonials, published music, and publicity materials.

Ehrman, William Heller, collector.
Autographs of musicians and writers.
7 items; 1 folder, A 279
Includes autographs of Moritz Jokai, Franz Liszt, Alexander Posonyi, Dante Gabriel Rosetti, Edward Strauss, Johann Strauss, and C.M. Ziehrer.

Ellison-White Bureau, Portland, OR.
Scrapbooks of programs, advertising material, and clippings, seasons 1936-1937 to 1955-1956.
17 vol., CA El59

Ellison-White Chautauqua System, Portland, OR.
Corporate records, 1912-1920.
1 vol., B 075
Includes articles of incorporation and minutes of the board. The firm was also incorporated as the Elwyn Concert Bureau, Inc.

Empire City Dramatic Society.
Broadside, 29.5 x 15 cm. (1875), G 1875 Em73
An amateur dramatic and musical entertainment! at Reichert's hall, Empire City, Saturday evening, March 20th, 1875.

Enna, Emil, 1877-1951.
Scrapbooks of music criticism by Emil Enna as published in the News and News-Telegram, Portland, OR, 1923-1931.
2 vol., CB En61
Enna was born in Copenhagen, Denmark, and came to Oregon in 1907. He was a composer, pianist and music teacher, and music critic for the News and News-Telegram. Included with the scrapbooks are letters to Enna and the editors concerning his reviews.

Estes, Amy.
"Goodbye." Portland, OR., ca. 1880.
3 p., F 784 Es85
Manuscript music of a song titled "Goodbye," with word and music by Amy Estes. The cover has a pencil drawing by Amy Estes of a man leaving home.

First Methodist Church, Jacksonville, OR.
Broadside, 25 x 11 cm. (Jacksonville, OR: Times print, 1879), G 1879 F519
Concert for the benefit of the M.E. church of Jacksonville, Oregon. Saturday evening, March 8, 1879.

First Methodist Church, Jacksonville, OR.
Broadside, 20.5 x 12 cm. (Jacksonville, OR: Times print, 1887), G 1887 F519
Grand closing concert in the M.E. church, Jacksonville, on Monday evening, April 25, 1887.

Friendly, Leonard.
Papers, 1947-1960.
1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Ax 236
The collection includes music manuscripts; a set of "Leonard Friendly's Hammond Organ Stylings" (6 LP records, Northwestern 2562); and correspondence from agents, publishers, and listeners of Friendly's radio programs. Also included are miscellaneous program schedules, music brochures, and promotional material.

Friendly, Leonard.
Leonard Friendly Collection of American popular music, 1896-1956.
3 boxes; 4.5 lin. ft., Bx 104
The collection contains over 2100 pieces, such as "Blue and Sentimental" (Count Basie) and "I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outta My Hair" (Richard Rodgers).

Gordon, Robert Winslow, 1888-1961. Finding aid
Notes on American folklore, folk songs, and ballads, and personal papers, 1909-1934.
16 boxes; 8 lin. ft., Ax 039
Gordon was a folklorist and writer. The notes are typed material and lyrics from published sources, singers, and reciters. The collection is especially representative of the Civil War period and the South. Included are the private collections of Joanna Concord, Joseph McGinnis, Mary Newcomb, and Betty Bush Winger.

Greenwald, Bernard, 1908-1975.
Papers, 1945-1975.
21 boxes, 1 pkg.; 12 lin. ft., Coll. 004
Bernie Green (real name: Bernard Greenwald) was a composer, conductor, and arranger. He graduated from New York University College of Fine Arts in 1932, and first became famous in the mid 1940s as director and composer for the "Henry Morgan Radio Show." He also worked on the radio shows "The Fat Man" and "The Clock." He wrote theme music and songs for TV shows such as "Mr. Peepers" (1952-1955), "Caesar's Hour" (1954-1957), and "The Garry Moore Show" (1966-1967), and wrote music for the Miss Universe and Miss USA pageants from 1968 to 1975. In addition to television, Green wrote plays and musicals, and produced several albums. The collection includes business correspondence; work done on the musical "Independence Blues" or "The Last 200 Years of Music"; programs and scripts for Miss Universe and Miss USA pageants; and work done for radio and television shows.

Grimes, Lyle, collector.
Lyle Grimes collection relating to jazz, 1955-1964.
4 boxes, 1 pkg.; 3 lin. ft., Coll. 083
Included are record catalogs, lists, and reviews (some from The Grammophone Magazine); personality profiles of musicians; clippings related to musicians and music; jazz booklets, and jazz book reviews.

Heller, Hans Ewald, 1894-1966.
Papers, 1913-1966.
2 boxes, 4 vol., 1 pkg.; 3 lin. ft., Ax 39
Heller was a composer and music critic, born in Vienna and educated at the University of Vienna. He was a music critic for Wiener Zeitung and Neues Wiener Journal. He fled Vienna in 1938 and came to the United States, where he taught, edited, created film music and was music director for Hearst Metrotone News. The collection consists of 45 original scores, including "Carnival in New Orleans," "Drei Lieder," "Quartettino," and "Suite fur Klarinette und Klavier." Also included are five pieces of published music, scrapbooks, programs, reviews, and two tape recordings. Most of the songs and orchestral pieces in the collection were written prior to 1938.

Hoch, Oscar, collector.
Hoch collection of popular dance band arrangements and mementos, 1880-1927.
29 boxes; 43.5 lin. ft., Bx 043
Oscar, Lotta, and Charles Hoch played in bands and orchestras on the Pacific coast, and conducted the Multnomah School of Music, Portland, OR.

Hull, Alexander, 1887-1953.
Papers, 1913-1950.
8 boxes, 2 vol.; 5 lin. ft., Ax 052
Hull was an Oregon author and composer. The papers includes manuscript and published short stories, and a few pieces of manuscript music.

Karczag, Leo, 1897-1985.
Papers, 1928-1984.
9 boxes; 4.5 lin. ft., Coll. 172
Karczag was born in Budapest, Hungary. He toured Europe, Asia, Africa, and South and Central America as a concert pianist, then settled in the United States in 1938. In 1964 Karczag and his family moved to Klamath Falls, OR, where he composed his most extensive work, titled "Oregon, My Oregon," which premiered in 1968. He wrote over 70 songs, three musicals, and several instrumental works. The papers consist of manuscripts for musicals, including "Oregon, My Oregon;" miscellaneous songs and instrumentals; composition notebooks; lyric notebooks; and programs and publicity material.

King, Stoddard, 1889-1933.
Papers, 1913-1933.
2 boxes; 2 lin. ft., Ax 303
King was a columnist for the Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA), and a writer of light verse. The papers include two manuscript versions and published versions of the popular song "There's a Long, Long Trail", for which King wrote the words. Also included is a collection of materials on Vachel Lindsay.

Lampman, Ben Hur, 1886-1954.
Papers, 1912-1954.
3 boxes; 11 lin. ft., Ax 426
Lampman was a compositor, printer, and editor in North Dakota before moving to Oregon, where he was editor and publisher of the Gold Hill News from 1912 to 1916. Beginning in 1916 he was an editorial writer for the Portland Oregonian. He wrote nature stories and essays, and was named Poet Laureate of Oregon in 1951. The papers include manuscripts of books, short stories, and essays; correspondence; and a music manuscript, "Rose of the Morning," with lyrics by Lampman, music by E.T. Hern, 1921.

McComas, Evans Smith, 1839-1911. Finding aid
Diary and scrapbook, 1862-1911.
1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Ax 181
McComas was born in Ohio and came to Oregon in 1862 to the mines near Auburn. He was most successful as a newspaper editor, and owned, edited, or contributed to a series of papers in eastern Oregon. The diary, 1862-1867, is the account of his overland trip to Oregon, and contains songs, speeches, and ballads transcribed on the final pages.

McCully, Jane M.
Broadside, 20.5 x 11 cm. (1915?), G 1915 M139
Pioneer's song, written for the pioneer reunion by Mrs. Jane M. McCully.

McHargue Butcher Shop, Brownsville, OR.
Account book, 1862.
1 vol., B 047
American ballads and songs are copied in the back of the volume.

Merovitch, Alexander, 1895-1965.
Papers, 1935-1961.
1 box, 6 vol.; 3 lin. ft., Ax 288
Merovitch was born in St. Petersburg, Russia. He was an impresario, and managed the early American and European careers of Vladimir Horowitz, Nathan Milstein, and Gregor Piatigorsky. He was also representative, promoter, and adviser to Vladimir Golschmann, Guido Cantelli, Peter Herman Adler, Massimo Freccia, Paul Strauss, and Oscar Shumsky. Merovitch was president of the Music Art Management Association for four years. The papers consist of correspondence, contracts, and related papers concerning artists managed by Merovitch. Major files relate to Guido Cantelli, Massimo Freccia, Vladimir Horowitz, and Oscar Shumsky. Included is a letter from Peter Adler, April 13, 1954, describing the final Toscannini NBC concert, and a manuscript of Samuel Barber's "Concerto for Violincello and Orchestra" (Op. 22). Also includes 11 published piano numbers by Alfred Mirovitch.

Miller, Lydia Ann, compiler.
Sacred and secular songs, 1858.
1 vol., F 811 M615
Manuscript song book of German and English selections compiled by Miller. She was a member of the Aurora Colony, OR.

Mills, Randall Vause, 1907-1952. Finding aid
Papers, 1936-1952.
42 boxes; 18 lin. ft., Coll. 088
Mills was a member of the English faculty, University of Oregon, 1938-1952. He was particularly interested in folklore and the history of transportation. Most of the papers consist of notes on the history of steamboats, railroads, covered bridges, and folklore, particularly songs, proverbs, superstitions, and speechways.

Morris Music Store, Eugene, OR.
Day book, June 12-October 9, 1904.
1 vol., B 049
Lists cash sales only.

New England Conservatory Club, Portland, OR.
Minute books, 1902-1922, 1936-1942.
3 vol., B 161
The New England Conservatory Club was a women's club founded Jan. 8, 1902 by former pupils of the New England Conservatory of Music, Boston, "for the purpose of mutual improvement and the promotion of musical interests in Portland." Included are programs and announcements.

New Market Theater, Portland, OR.
Broadsheet, 20.5 x 28 cm. (Portland, OR: 1879), G 1879 N42
Remenyi concerts. Edouard Remenyi, the great violinist, Miss Emma Thurston, soprano, Mr. F. Dulcken, pianist and musical director.

Nichols, Ernest F. Loring, 1905-1965.
Papers, ca. 1920-1965.
232 boxes, 3 scrapbooks, 10 vol.; 126 lin. ft., Ax 539
Nichols was known as "Red" Nichols. He had a long and productive career as a cornetist, bandleader, and recording artist. He studied music with his father, a professor of music at Weber College. By the early 1920s, he had established a reputation as a studio musician in New York City. He and his band, The Five Pennies, began to record for Brunswick Records in 1926. Nichols was a popular bandleader throughout the 1930s, and worked as a bandleader until 1959. The Paramount movie "The Five Pennies" is based roughly on his life story. The collection contains over 2000 original music scores, representing over 900 titles. Also included is some published sheet music from Nichols' own library, and material relating to "The Five Pennies" film. Over 200 recordings, mainly of Nichols' groups, are also included.

Oregon Music Teachers Association, Portland, OR, District.
Minute book, 1917-1921.
1 vol., B 162
Founded in 1916 as the Oregon State Music Teachers Association, with 13 districts.

Patton, Lowell, 1893-1961.
Collection, 1902-1955.
2 boxes; 1 lin. ft., Ax 481
Patton was born in Portland, OR. He studied organ under Carl Denton, and was organist of the First Methodist Church, Portland. He was also organist on Chautauqua and Lyceum circuits in the 1920's, and from 1932-1957 he was the organist for the First Presbyterian Church, Hempstead, NY. He was nationally known as a radio organist. Included is published and manuscript music, songbooks, biographical material, and photographs.

Pierson, Lola.
Papers, 1923-1971.
1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Coll. 174
Pierson was raised in Ashland, OR, and taught music in Oregon public schools.
The papers include four diaries, manuscripts for "Old Settlers Story" and "Within This Little Hour of Grace," and a music notebook.

Portland Philharmonic Society.
Cardboard ticket, 5.5 x 11.5 cm. (Portland, OR: 1867)., G 1867 P837
The Portland philharmonic society will give a vocal and instrumental concert at Oro Fino hall, Friday evening, June 14, 1867, for the benefit of the poor of this city.

Portland Philharmonic Society.
Cardboard ticket, 5 x 9.5 cm. (Portland, OR: 1868). G 1868 P837
Portland philharmonic society. 1868. Honorary. Admit Mr. ________ to the rehearsals of this society.

Powell Family.
Papers, 1851-1918.
1 box; 1.5 lin. ft., Ax 521
The papers include a copy book of Allie Butler, Monmouth, OR, 1877, containing transcriptions of sacred and popular songs.

Robinson, Avery, 1878-1965.
Papers, 1895-1964.
3 boxes; 3.5 lin. ft., Ax 247
Robinson was educated at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He moved to England in 1920, studied composition with Norman O'Neill, and became treasurer of the Royal Philharmonic Society. He returned to the U.S. in 1930, and later became vice-president of Mary Chess, Inc. He composed the song, "Water Boy". The papers include 59 pieces of manuscript music by Robinson; a collection of his published works; correspondence with music publishers, 1924-1927; and letters to his daughter, Carley Dawson. Also included are two notebooks with manuscript transcriptions of Negro hymns collected by Mildred J. Hill of Vagabondia and Louisville, KY, about 1895.

Salem Musical Union, Salem, OR.
Treasurer's book, 1869-1871.
1 vol., B 124
The book lists receipts and disbursements, and dues-paying members.

Schuster, Gustav M., 1878-1942.
Scrapbooks, 1896-1939.
4 vol., 1 box; 3 lin. ft., CB Sch88
The scrapbooks contain material relating to Schuster's career and his music school, including manuscript compositions.

Seely, Nell, 1878-1968
Papers, 1939-1965.
3 boxes; 4.5 lin. ft., Ax 585
Seely was born in Junction City, OR; she was a milliner, painter, poet, song writer, and composer. Her best-known song is "Blue Night" (New York, 1944). The papers consist of correspondence with music publishers and other composers and lyricists. Also included is a file of published and unpublished music, and several phonograph records.

Steiner, George, 1900-1967. Finding aid
Music manuscripts, 1914-1964.
21 boxes; 12 lin. ft., Ax 537
Steiner was born in Budapest, Hungary. He studied music under Zoltan Kodaly, and began a career of composing and conducting in 1918. He was associated with Paramount Studios in New York as a composer of background and mood music. He composed the score of the Chrysler Co. show at the New York World's Fair, 1939 and 1940. His major works include "Rhapsodic Poem for Violin and Orchestra" (1942), "Poeme Hongroise" for harp and orchestra (1941), and "Hora Burlesca" (1941). The collection includes original compositions; arrangements for radio, motion picture and television music; mood and background music; and school notebooks. Television music includes pieces for commercials, and the cartoons "Bullwinkle" and "Dudley Do-Right". There is also a collections of published pieces.

Stern, Henry R., 1874-1966.
Papers, 1906-1967.
4 boxes, 2 pkg.; 6 lin. ft., Ax 637
Stern was educated at Columbia University. In 1898 he entered his brother's music publishing business, Joseph W. Stern & Co., later absorbed by Edward B. Marks Co. He also composed popular music--ballads, novelty and comic tunes--under the name S.R. Henry. Among his compositions are "By Heck," "Kentucky Dream," "Polly Prim," and a musical comedy, "Little Miss Charity." One of his lyricists was James J. Walker. The papers consist of business correspondence with music publishers and lyricists, including ASCAP, Edward B. Marks Company, and Robbins Music Corporation. Manuscript music by Stern includes the titles "Blow Away Your Troubles" and "There's a Man in the Moon." Also included is published sheet music and private recordings of Stern's compositions.

Stordahl, Axel, 1913-1963.
Music scores and arrangements, 1936-1960.
Approx. 400 boxes; appr. 200 lin. ft. Ax 528
Stordahl began his musical career as a trumpet player and arranger with the Bert Bloch orchestra in 1934. From 1936 to 1943 he was with the Tommy Dorsey band as player, composer, and arranger. He was associated with the radio show "Hit Parade" as composer and arranger. Much of his work was done for Frank Sinatra. He also did arrangements for Eddie Fisher, Gisele MacKenzie, Nanette Fabray, Dinah Shore, Dean Martin, and Bing Crosby. He was musical director for the television series, "McHale's Navy." The collection consists of scores and arrangements for orchestra and voice, often for specific artists and groups. Titles include "Accentuate the Positive" (Dinah Shore), "We're the Number Two Boys in the Land" (Sinatra-Kaye), and "Love and Marriage" (Eddie Fisher). Also included are recordings, many in different languages.

Trued, S. Clarence.
Sheet music.
3 folders, A 280
Trued was a Roseburg, OR composer of sacred and popular music. Included are 58 pieces of printed sheet music.

Turner Cornet Band, Turner, OR.
Minutes of meetings, Oct. 1, 1890-Dec. 1, 1897.
1 vol., B 187
A cash account is included in the back of the volume.

Ward, Harriet Lucia, 1898-1968.
Music manuscripts, 1928-1942.
1 box; .5 lin. ft., Ax 520
Ward was educated in Portland and New York City. She was a music teacher, composer, and arranger, living in Portland and Reedsport, OR. The collection includes music manuscripts for string instruments and ensembles and a collection of personal mementos.

White, Clarence H., 1874-1945.
Papers, 1898-1945.
1 box; .5 lin. ft., Ax 175
White was educated at Nebraska Wesleyan University. In 1910 he established the Ellison-White Lyceum, with J. Roy Ellison, operating out of Boise, ID. The organization moved to Portland, OR, in 1920, reorganizing as the Ellison-White Lyceum & Chautauqua Association, incorporating in 1921. It operated a circuit in New Zealand and Australia. Ellison-White also founded a conservatory of music in Portland. The papers include correspondence, reports of the Chautauqua Association, catalogs of the music school, and programs.

Whitcup, Leonard, 1903-1979.
Sheet music collection, 1924-1967.
1 box, 1 vol.; .5 lin. ft., Coll. 074
Whitcup was educated at New York University and studied music with David Saperton and Orville Mayhood. He wrote music and lyrics for radio from 1925-1934, often performing alone or with his trio, The Playboys. From 1934-1977, he wrote popular songs and special material for vaudeville, revues, television programs, and motion pictures. His songs were recorded by Bing Crosby and Gene Autry, among others. The collection consists of two bound volumes of published sheet music. Some of these pieces were featured by Rudy Vallee, Xavier Cugat, Tex Ritter, and Bing Crosby. Three folders also contain sheet music, some of which has not been published.

Will, Clark Moor, 1893-1982. Finding aid
Papers, 1871-1981.
7 boxes; 4.5 lin. ft., Coll. 062
Will was born in Corvallis, OR. He worked at various jobs, but his life-long hobby was to investigate the history of Dr. William Kiel's Aurora Colony, a communal and non-denominational Christian settlement that flourished in Marion County, OR, from 1856 to 1883. He was also a musician, playing with several local bands and the Salem Symphony Orchestra. The papers consist of correspondence and material on the Aurora Colony, including information on the Aurora Band and two printed musical scores.

Williams, Jean, 1876-1965.
Papers, 1941-1957.
1 box; .5 lin. ft., Ax 387
Williams was born in England and emigrated to Toronto, Canada. After graduating from the Royal Conservatory of Music of the University of Toronto, she returned to England and studied to be a concert pianist. A broken wrist changed her career to voice, and she returned to the University of Toronto, where she taught voice and piano. She later taught in Cleveland and St. Louis before moving to Portland, OR, in 1932. For a time, she served as president of the National Music Teachers Association. Williams was nationally known as a composer of piano music. The papers include correspondence with music publishers, including J. Fischer & Bro., and Schroeder & Gunther, Inc.; clippings and publicity releases; and over 100 music manuscripts.

Woodburn, OR. Commercial Club.
Broadside, 91 x 60 cm. (Woodburn, OR: Independent Print, 1915?), G 1915 W852
Horse fair, Woodburn, OR, under auspices of the Commercial Club. Events include parade, automobile parade, motorcycle race, band concert, and dance.
 

 

Return to Guides list

Created by nhelmer on Jun 18, 2012 Last updated Jun 25, 2014