Guides to Manuscript Collections
This is a partial list of our collections, grouped by subjects. Please be aware that many other collections focus on subjects not yet described, including intentional communities, the history of the University of Oregon, and documentary landscape photography. We are actively updating these guides.
These guides offer brief descriptions of relevant collections by subject. Links are provided whenever online inventories exist. You may also find collections pertinent to your research--at UO and at more than 30 other Northwest repositories in the Northwest Digital Archives.
- Arts, Architecture & Literature
- Ethnic Studies
- Natural Resources
- Politics & Social Activism
- Travelers & Explorers
- UO University Archives
- Women in Society
- Women Authors
- Women Children's Authors
- Women Collectors and Compilers
- Women's Family Papers
- Women Journalists
- Women Missionaries
- Women Performing Artists and Musicians
Catalogue of Manuscripts in the University of Oregon Library [PDF format], compiled by Martin Schmitt. This is a descriptive list and index of manuscript collections published in 1971. Representing a major portion of manuscript collections catalogued in the Division of Special Collections and University Archives, it describes collections that are arranged and ready to consult by researchers but does not reflect all the manuscript collections available for research. Two supplements (not currently online) and more recently received collections located on our online catalog (search bar at top of page) provide information about collections acquired since the publication of the Schmitt Guide.
The Checklist of Missionary Collections is a subject guide to 86 manuscript collections reflecting Christian missionary activities and the social, political, and cultural events of the countries in which the missionaries served. Their observations and experiences are recorded in the correspondence, diaries, reports, publications, and photographs contained in these collections. The majority of the missionaries represented served in China; others carried out their missionary work in Japan, Korea, India, the Middle East, South America, and Africa. [Microsoft Reader format]
"The progress of botanists in Oregon" is an article from our publication The Call Number that includes a listing of botanical collections.