Guide to architectural materials in Manuscript collections University of Oregon Special Collections
Guide to architectural materials in Special Collections
Architectural collections described in this checklist contain primary source materials that can be used in a variety of ways: in writing neighborhood histories, for historic research on different styles of architecture, for in-depth studies of a particular architect's work, as support material for proposals adding a structure to historic registers, or in constructing new buildings in period styles as well as in remodeling or making repairs.
Renderings, plans and drawings, specifications, and project files comprise the largest segments of materials found in the architectural collections, which date from the mid nineteenth century to the mid twentieth century.
Initial collecting was done on a regional level as part of an effort to document the cultural heritage of the Northwest. Reflecting this policy, 23 out of 33 collections belong to the Northwest, many being Oregon firms located in Portland. Other collections are of a national scope. It should also be noted that several collections listed are the work of landscape architects.
Entries were compiled by consulting finding aids and descriptions of manuscript collections which referred to both architects and architectural firms. The list is arranged alphabetically by architect or firm. Significant items and projects are highlighted within the description as are inclusive dates of materials, types of materials, and size of the collection. University Archives holds additional architectural materials related to campus projects, and the AAA library has materials supporting the study of architecture.
For general information about architecture please consult the library's research guides to Architecture and Historic Preservation. For information about campus, consult Architecture of the University.
Bentley, Percy, 1885-1968. Finding aid
Drawings and photographs, 1951-1962. 3.25 cu. ft.
Eugene, Oregon architect. Includes drawings, specifications, and photographs for public buildings in the Eugene-Springfield area. Coll. 145, PH 272.
Brookman, Herman, 1891-1973. Finding aid to papers, to photographs
Papers, 1921-1962. 16 lin. ft.
Architect, practicing in New York, 1915-1923, and Portland, Oregon, 1923-1967. Includes working drawings for residences and public buildings, plans, specifications, correspondence, and photographs for 62 projects. Major projects include the M. Lloyd Frank estate and Temple Beth Israel, both located in Portland, Oregon. Ax 330, PH 114.
Butcher, Claude R. Finding aid
Drawings and papers, 1920-1967. 33.75 cu. ft.
Architect and architectural delineator. Collection includes Butcher's renderings of buildings designed by Pacific Northwest architectural firms such as Burns, Bear & McNeil, Jacobberger & Stanton, Harry A. Herzog, and Richard Sundeleaf. Butcher's own plans, designs and some correspondence are also included. Coll. 137, PH 042.
Chamberlin & Whidden
Selected papers, 1884-1886. 1 folder.
Architects of Boston, Mass. Letters and documents relating to a suit against Henry J. Corbett to recover money for architectural services. CA/1886/Dec.
Congdon, Herbert Wheaton, 1876-1965.
Papers, 1900-1960. 5 lin. ft.
Architect and author, of Vermont. Includes an autobiography and manuscripts of three books, with correspondence concerning their publication. There are also drawings, plans, and photographs of churches and ecclesiastical furniture designed by Congdon and his father Henry Congdon. Ax 593, PH 011.
Davis, Charles Gilman, 1918-1979. Finding aid
Papers, 1947-1979. ca. 14 cu. ft.
Portland, Oregon architect and architectural historian. Includes plans, specifications, and drawings as well as research files on Oregon barns and California cottages and material on a proposal to create an architecture school at Portland State University. Slides and photographs are also included. Additional slides are in the Visual Resources Collection. Coll. 57, PH 142.
DeYoung & Roald Finding aid
Architectural plans and photographs, ca. 1927, of James W. DeYoung and Knud A. Roald. 1 folio & l box.
Architects of Portland, Oregon. Original plans and photographs of construction of New Heathman Hotel; photographs of interior of Paramount Theatre; photographs of designs and completed buildings, Portland, Oregon. BX 131
Ertz, Charles W.
Selected papers, 1924-1927. 4 folders.
Architect who practiced in Oregon and California. Includes architectural drawings of two buildings in Portland, Oregon and two of his residences. Also included are photographs of residences. Coll. 166
Gerke & Gerke Finding aid
Records, 1934-1946, of Walter H. and Florence Holmes Gerke. .5 cu. ft.
Landscape architects for the city of Portland, Oregon. Projects include gardens within Washington Park (Portland), planting plans for the Bonneville Power Navigation Project, and Dammasch State Hospital. Coll. 144, PH 275.
Hallock & Day Company
Ledger, 1853-1859. 1 volume.
A. B. Hallock, a general contractor, was a styled "architect" in Portland, Oregon. In 1855, the company became Hallock & McMillen. B 30
Herzog, Harry Albert, 1893- Finding aid
Architectural plans and specifications, 1939-1959. 5 lin. ft.
Portland, Oregon architect. Includes tracings and other data for 27 projects, most of them in Portland. Ax 599, PH 122.
Historic American Buildings Survey. District 39.
Records, 1934-1938. .35 cu. ft.
District 39 included Oregon and Washington. These are the administrative files of Jamieson Parker, architect in Portland, Oregon. Bx 149
Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), 1934-
The Library is a depository for records for the Pacific Northwest Region, including architectural drawings, photographs, cultural resources reports, and other historic documentation. Search the Library of Congress database collection to find available projects and view digitized materials. PH 314.
Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), 1969-
The Library is a depository for records for the Pacific Northwest Region, including architectural drawings, photographs, cultural resources reports, and other historic documentation. Search the Library of Congress database collection to find available projects and view digitized materials. PH 315.
Howell, Leslie Dillon, 1884-1969. Finding aid
Architectural drawings, 1912-1957. 52 folders, 3 cu. ft.
Portland, Oregon architect. Includes projects done by the firm Knighton & Howell, 1922-1938; projects by Howell after William C. Knighton's death in 1938, and one project by Knighton prior to his partnership with Howell, 1912-1913. Among significant joint projects are the Oregon State Office building and Grant High School in Salem, the Boys' Training School in Woodburn, and the Pythian Home in Vancouver, Washington. Coll. 146, PH 273.
Jacobberger, Francis Benedict, 1898-1962.
Records, 1910-1962. 20 lin. ft. plus drawings for over 500 projects.
Oregon architect. Includes specifications and architectural plans by Joseph J. Jacobberger, Everett Franks, Richard Norman, John Stanton, and Elmer Zeller. BX 139
Keally, Francis, 1900- Finding aid
Drawings, plans, specifications, and miscellaneous material relating to the Oregon State Capitol building, 1936-1967.
Keally was architect of the capitol and was consulted about alterations and additions. AX 381
Krumbein, Justus F.
Architectural plans and drawings, ca. 1920. 1 folio.
Portland, Oregon architect. Comprised of drawings for the Jacob Brothers building in Portland, Oregon. G/K79
Lawrence, Ellis Fuller, 1879-1946. Finding aid to papers
Papers, 1906-1925. 6 lin. ft. including about 4,000 letters.
Architect and first dean of the University of Oregon School of Architecture. Includes job files of Lawrence and Holford, and general correspondence files relating to architecture, including correspondence with artists and architects, such as Allen Eaton, J. H. Friedlander, and Walter R. B. Willcox. Ax 56, PH 105.
Lawrence, Tucker, and Wallmann Finding aid to papers
Project files and architectural drawings, 1926-1960, 4.5 cu. ft.
Portland, Oregon firm formed in 1947 whose principals included Abbott Lawrence, Ernest F. Tucker and George R. Wallmann. Drawings include many University of Oregon buildings (Eugene) and University of Oregon Medical School buildings (Portland). Coll. 113, PH 073.
Lord & Schryver Finding aid to papers
Drawings and papers, 1929-1970. 21 cu. ft.
Elizabeth Lord (1887-1976) and Edith Schryver (1901-1984) were the first firm of professional women landscape architects on the west coast, located in Salem, Oregon. Their practice focused on garden design for private residences but also included gardens for Reed College, College of Puget Sound, Salem parks, several Salem schools, and a variety of public city and state-owned buildings. Includes plans and drawings, correspondence and office files, subject files, and photographs. Coll. 98, PH 146.
Meeker, George C.
Architectural plans, n.d. 1 folio.
Architect from San Jose, California who designed the home of Dr. George W. Gray in Albany, Oregon. G/M43
Noel, Auguste Louis, 1884-1964. Finding aid
Architectural plans, drawings, and specifications,
1929-1964. 9 lin. ft.
Architect of New York City and Newport, Rhode Island. Includes plans for Whitney Museum of American Art, National Museum of Racing, and stately residences on the east coast. AX 619
Parker, Jamieson Kirkwood Hyde finding aid
Diary, 1916-1918. In the Horatio Hyde Parker Papers.
Portland, Oregon architect. Diary describes life in New York City, 1916-1918.
AX 76 (See also Historic American Buildings Survey collection, BX 149)
Pratt, John, collector.
Architectural drawings, 1887-1958. 1.5 cu. ft.
Consists of two projects: the Masonic Temple, designed by Warren Heywood Williams, and the Oregon Electric Railway station, designed by Doyle, Patterson and Beach. Both projects are located in Eugene, Oregon. Coll. 150
Purcell, William Gray, 1880-1965. Finding aid
Selected papers (photocopies), 1919-1964. 3 lin. ft.
Architect. Collection consists of correspondence, memoranda, drawings, and publications. Correspondents include John Jager, George Grant Elmslie, and original letters of Van Evera Bailey. There are extensive notes on Louis Sullivan and Bernard Maybeck, and biographical information on William Cunningham Gray. AX 267
Reese, H. Clyde
Architectural notebook, 1910-1912. 1 volume.
Reese was a draftsman with the Portland, Oregon architectural firm of Doyle, Patterson, and Beach. A 244
Ross, Marion Dean Finding aid
Former head of U of O School of Architecture. The papers consist of Ross's research files on various cities in Oregon and the United States, and smaller files on other countries. Coll. 231
Smythe, Richard Haviland, 1889-1965. Finding aid
Papers, 1909-1965. 55 folders. 19 cu. ft.
New York City architect. Includes plans and specifications for 760 jobs. Smythe was instrumental in recreating and restoring the village of Stony Brook on Long Island, New York, and was also noted for the creation of the modern store front as typified by the Melville Shoe Corp. of Thom McAn shoe stores across the nation. Coll. 134, PH 171.
Storrs, John, 1920- Finding aid
Architectural drawings, 1953-1977. 4.5 cu. ft.
Portland, Oregon architect. Includes plans and designs for Portland and Vancouver, Washington projects. Of special interest are the drawings for the Salishan Lodge near Lincoln City, Oregon. Coll. 108
Sundeleaf, Richard Finding aid
Portland, Oregon, architect. Collection includes drawings, job files, and related material. Coll. 196, PH 196.
Sutton and Whitney Finding aid
Architectural renderings, 1912-1935, of Albert Sutton and Harrison Allen Whitney. 78 pieces.
Portland, Oregon architects. Some renderings bear the firm name of Sutton, Whitney and Aandahl, whose principals were Albert Sutton, Harrison Allen Whitney and Fred Aandahl. Renderings of better known buildings include Emanuel Hospital, Shriners Hospital, Good Samaritan Hospital, University of Oregon Medical School, and the Masonic Temple, all located in Portland. BX 172
Therkelsen, Cachot, 1894-1964, collector. Finding aid
Architectural drawings, 1906-1952. 31 cu. ft., including 269 sets of plans.
Real estate broker who collected plans in order to assess property values for investment purposes. Arranged by type of building and includes plans of apartments, banks, office buildings, hotels, residences, stores and theaters. Major architects represented are: Emil Schacht, Martin Schacht, John Bennes, A. E. Doyle, and Edgar Lazarus. Coll. 94, PH 140.
Thompson, David E., 1906-1972. Finding aid
Architectural drawings, 1937-1971. 12 lin. ft., including 138 sets of plans.
Consists of working drawings, sketches and final plans for 138 projects in Washington and Oregon.
One of the first professional landscape architects in the Northwest. Included are the landscape plans, irrigation layouts, and topographical studies for recreational sites, schools and colleges, parks, and residential and professional sites. Addenda to the collection include plans, specifications, correspondence, cost estimates, and photographs. AX 851
Whitehouse, Harold Clarence, 1884-1974. Finding aid
Papers, 1915-1962. 35 lin. ft.
Seattle, Washington architect. Includes 238 sets of specifications, with correspondence, photographs, and sketches. Also includes 266 sets of plans and drawings for architectural work done in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. Ax 373, PH 115.
Wiener, Paul Lester, 1895-1967. Finding aid
Architectural records and professional correspondence, 1930-1967. 40 lin. ft.
Architect and urban planner in New York City and South America. Includes designs, plans, and biographical data. BX 155
Willcox, Walter Ross Baumes, 1869-1947.
Drawings and papers, 1892-1947. 20 lin. ft., including about 10,000 letters.
Architect and teacher. Architect practiced in Burlington, Vermont and Seattle, Washington. He was head of the Architecture Department, University of Oregon, board member of the American Institute of Architects, and developed an adaptation of the economic philosophy of Henry George. The papers include an autobiography; correspondence with architects, students, and economic theorists; a project file; and drawings and plans. Major correspondents include: Charles H. Alden, C. O. P. Hammond, Thomas R. Kimball, Ellis Lawrence, H. Van Buren Magonigle, Paul D. Richardson, William J. Sayward, Arnold Soughwell, Frank Waugh, Charles H. Whitaker, Charles E. White, L. D. Beckwith, James J. Sayer, C. R. Walker, and A. R. Weaver. Ax 96, PH 110.