Romantic Era Music Guide
|Index for this guide:
Sources for Specific Instruments
Discographies of 19th C. Music and Recordings at the UO
Bibliographies of Interest
ROMANTIC ERA MUSIC: A Research Guide to Resources in the Knight Library's Music Services Department
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
[MUSIC REF. M 100. N48 2001]
A good general starting point for information on composers and music.
(Look under: Romantic; names of countries, Art music (subdivided by period); instrument names (subdivided by period); composers' names, etc.)
Also available on the UO Web by typing Grove Music Online.
Other dictionaries interesting and useful to consult:
The New Grove dictionary of opera.
[MUSIC REF. ML102.O6 N5 1992b]
Also incorporated in the on-line version of the New Grove...
The Norton/Grove dictionary of women composers.
[MUSIC REF. ML105 .N38 1995]
[For best result in searching, use the UO Local Catalog below the Library's search box. This allows you to search for items by call number- especially recordings and videos.]
Look in the subject section under:
Music 19th Century (Add Subdivisions, Such As: Analysis Appreciation; Chronology; Discography; History And Criticism; Performance; Philosophy And Aesthetics, etc.)
Chamber Music --19th century
Music Theory-- 19th century
Opera-- 19th century
Orchestral music --19th century
Organ Music--19th Century
Piano Music--19th Century
Instrumental Music -- 19th Century.
Vocal Music -- 19th Century
Songs-- 19th Century
Symphony -- 19th century
Performance Practice Music 19th Century
Romanticism in music.
Names of composers
(Note:If you prefer browsing the shelves, biographies of composers are in the ML410 section, arranged alphabetically by the composer's last name.)
Using the same headings as suggested above, consult SUMMIT for resources at 33+ other member libraries. You can request those items we don't own (or that we own and are checked out) by choosing G for get (on the Non-web version of SUMMIT), then filling out the request on line. You should receive the item within three working days!
This resource allows you to search 20,000+ library holdings, using the same headings as UO Library's catalog. If you order these items online (by clicking on the ILL button while the item is on the screen, and filling out the form), you should receive them within two weeks of your order.
(Caveat: Start your research early in order to obtain these in time to read and complete your papers! And keep a paper copy of your request to remind yourself of what you ordered!)
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M84]
(1949 - 2000)
The source for articles on music, musicians, and society.
(This is also available, from 1976 to the present, on the web, at http://www.hppmusicindex.com
Need help using the paper version of the index? See the Guide to Using the Music Index
RILM [Repertoire international de litterature musicale]
(Searchable on the UO Library's catalog from the Articles, Databases & Index under Search by Subject. Choose Music, then note the connection to RILM.)
Also available in paper form to 1993 on Music Index Table.
Especially good for articles in non-music resources and in languages other than English. Annotations are given for a great number of the resources. The thesaurus of searching terms is available at the Music Reference Index Table.
Arts & Humanities Search
Especially good for tracking the impact an article and its author has on other articles and authors. You can search by author or by cited reference to those authors who have cited your author.
General Indexes that include music topics on the 19th century:
Nineteenth (19th) Century Masterfile
Nineteenth (19th) Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) is the primary index for magazines and periodicals published from 1802 to 1906. This database contains more than 400,000 citations from 479 periodical titles.
Reader's Guide Retrospective
The Readers' Guide Retrospective provides indexing for popular, general-interest magazines published in the United States. Dates of coverage are from 1890 - 1982.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online
An electronic version of the list the AMS compiles of dissertations-in-progress and completed dissertations in musicology.
Dissertation Abstracts International
The on-line index to dissertations, going back to 1861.
(These are indexed in the Music Index and RILM, as well as other resources)
[MUSIC ML 1 .C9
LIB. HAS: 1(1965)-42(1986);43-present
Journal of the American Musicological Society.
[MUSIC ML 27 .U5 A83363
LIB. HAS: 1(1948)- present
Nineteenth Century Music
[MUSIC ML 196 .N5
LIB. HAS: 1(1977)-present
Performance practice review.
[MUSIC ML 1 .P10876
LIB. HAS: 1(1988)- Present
At the University of Oregon:
Use the <a href="http://janus.uoregon.edu/search/X">UO Local Catalog</a> to find scores, listed by composer and title, in our collections. We also have collections of reference scores in the M2's and M3's. These are indexed in the works lists in the New Grove under the composers' names, and in the following resources:
Collections that may be of interest:
Heyer, Anna Harriet, 1909-
Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide to their contents.
3d ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980.
[MUSIC REF. ML113.H52 1980 v.1 -v.2]
Provides access to collections that the library may own and that are kept in the Music Reference section. Indexes by collection as well as by individual composers.
Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth And Early Twentieth Centuries
[MUSIC REF. M2.R23834]
Recent researches in American music
[MUSIC REF. M2.3.U6R4]
Recent researches in the music of the pre-classical, classical, and early romantic eras
[MUSIC REF. M2.R2381]
Anderson, Mark J.
A sourcebook of nineteenth-century American sacred music for brass instruments.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
[MUSIC REF. ML933 .A53 1997 ]
Boenke, Heidi M.
Flute music by women composers: an annotated catalog.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7 B6 1988]
DeVenney, David P., 1958-
Nineteenth-century American choral music: an annotated guide
Berkeley, Calif.: Fallen Leaf Press, c1987.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C48 D48 1987]
Gillespie, John, 1921-
A bibliography of nineteenth-century American piano music, with location sources and composer biography-index.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3G54 1984]
Organ and harpsichord music by women composers: an annotated catalog.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O6 O73 1991]
Violin music by women composers: a bio-bibliographical guide.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1989.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.W7 J63 1989]
Meggett, Joan M., 1909-
Keyboard music by women composers: a catalog and bibliography.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.H35M43]
Orr, N. Lee, 1949-
Choral music in nineteenth-century America: a guide to the sources.
Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C48 O77 1999]
The Cambridge history of nineteenth-century music.
Cambridge ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
[MUSIC ML196 .C36 2001]
Hall, Charles J.
A nineteenth-century musical chronicle: events, 1800-1899
New York : Greenwood Press, 1989.
[MUSIC REF. ML196 .H34 1989]
Heritage of music .
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1989.
Consult: v. 2. The Romantic era -- v. 3. The nineteenth-century legacy.
[MUSIC REF. ML160 .H527 1989]
Music analysis in the nineteenth century .
Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1994-
[MUSIC MT90 .M88 1994 v.1- v.2 ]
New Oxford history of music.
[London; New York: Oxford University Press, 1954-1990]
Consult: v. 8. The Age of Beethoven, 1790-1830 -- v. 9. Romanticism, 1830-1890
[MUSIC REF. ML160.N44]
Pierpont Morgan Library.
Nineteenth-century autograph music manuscripts in the Pierpont Morgan Library: a check list.
[MUSIC REF. ML136.N5P56 1982]
See also: The New Grove early romantic masters, late romantic masters, masters of Italian opera. (found by title in the UO Library's catalog.)
Basart, Ann Phillips.
The sound of the fortepiano: a discography of recordings on early pianos.
Berkeley, Calif.: Fallen Leaf Press, c1985.
[MUSIC REF. ML156.4.P5B3 1985]
Hixon, Donald L. and Don A. Hennessee.
Women in music: an encyclopedic biobibliography. 2nd ed.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1993.
[MUSIC REF. ML105 .H6 1993]
Provides access to biographical resources on women composers, performers, etc.
Hoek, D. J. and Allan Wenk.
Analyses of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music : 1940-2000.
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press and Music Library Association, 2007.
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .H695 2007]
Indexes analyses in books and periodical articles for specific pieces.
ORGANIZATIONS' WEB SITES
UNIVERSITY MUSIC LIBRARIES' WEB SITES
[Note: these are just a few of the sites. To get a more comprehensive list, see the University of Oregon's library web site, which includes links to the major university libraries in the world.]