The Percussionist's Guide
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
The percussionist's dictionary : translations, descriptions, and photographs of percussion instruments from around the world.
Melville, N.Y. : Belwin-Mills Pub. Corp., c1984.
[MUS REF. ML102.P4A3 1984]
Encyclopedia of percussion / edited by John H. Beck.
New York : Garland Pub., 1995.
[MUS REF. ML102.P4 E5 1995]
Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia.
New York: Sterling Pub. Co., 1997
[MUS REF ML 102 .I5 M88 1997]
Handbook of percussion instruments : their characteristics and playing techniques, with illustrations and musical examples from the literature.
London ; New York : Schott ; Melville, New York : [distributed by] : Belwin-Mills, c1976.
Translation of Handbuch des Schlagzeugs.
[MUS REF. ML1030 .P4413]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. 3 vols.
London: Macmillan Press Ltd., 1984.
[MUS REF ML 102 .I5 N48 1984]
Bibliographies on Percussion Instruments and Players
Percussion : an annotated bibliography with special emphasis on contemporary notation and performance.
Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1988.
[MUS REF. ML128.P23 B34 1988]
Reference guide on percussion publications.
Minneapolis, Typist Letter Co., c1960.
[MUSIC ML128. P23 M4]
Skei, Allen B.
Woodwind, brass, and percussion instruments of the orchestra : a bibliographic guide.
New York: Garland, 1985.
[MUS REF. ML128.W5S6 1985]
Indexes to Articles
The MUSIC INDEX (1949 - 2000) in paper form
(MUSIC REFERENCE INDEX TABLE)
The Music Index Online
Available on the web, through the UO connections, at
Articles, Databases & Indexes from the UO Library's home page.
Searchable by Index Word ; keyword (anything in any part of the citation); author, title, journal.
Need help? See the Guide to Using the Music Index
An international index that includes journals on music subjects from other disciplines' perspectives.
Music Article Guide
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
[MUSIC REF. ML 118 .M842]
For more music indexes, see the Articles, Databases & Indexes page from the UO Library's home page, then choose Music from the Search by Subject area, then scroll down to the Music Performance list.
[MUSIC ML1035.M6 v.4 no.1,3-6 1980-81 - present ]
Accompanying records are at: [DOUGLASS PHONODISC DMbs A13]
Percussive notes. Research edition.
Official publication of: Percussive Arts Society.
Preceeded by Percussionist. and Percussive notes. Research edition: Percussionist.
1970 - present.
Official publication of the Percussive Arts Society.
[MUSIC ML1 .P108]
Other Periodicals Related to Percussion
Balungan : a publication of the American Gamelan Institute.
Vol. 1, no. 1 (June 1984)-
[MUSIC ML1 .B34v.1-4 no.2 1984-90- no.1 1991 ]
Available in paper, from 1954 to the present (at MUSIC ML1.D6) and on Microfilm, from 1974 to the present, (at KNIGHT MICROFILM ML1.D6)
Vol.1 - present
[MUSIC ML5 .I55]
Jazz educators journal : official magazine of the National Association of Jazz Educators.
[MUSIC ML1 .N124]
(Preceeded by the NAJE educator.) [MUSIC ML1 .N3]
National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors.
" Official publication of the association."
[MUSIC ML27.U5 N17]
Woodwind world-Brass and percussion.
Official publication of: the Association of Concert Bands of America (ACBA)
Preceeded by Brass and percussion. and Woodwind world.
Musical instruments [interactive multimedia]
[CD-ROM Disk contains four interactive sections designed to help teach about musical instruments.
Families of instruments shows brass, string, woodwind, keyboard, and percussion families.]
[Ask at Douglass Listening Room desk for for Doug Circ CD-ROM ML460 .M95 1993]
Finding Music in the UO Library's Catalog
I. Consult the following lists of percussion music:
Handbuch der Schlag- und Effektinstrumente; ein Wegweiser fur Komponisten, Dirigenten, Musiker und Instrumentenbauer.
Frankfurt/M., Verlag Das Musikinstrument 
Combs, F. Michael.
Solo and ensemble literature for percussion.
Knoxville, Tenn.: [s.n., 1972]
Bound with the author's Supplement to solo literature for percussion.
Heller, George N.
Ensemble Music for wind and percussion instruments: a catalog.
Washington, D.C.: Music Educators National Conference 
[MUSIC REF. ML128.W5H4]
Weerts, Richard K.
Original manuscript music for wind and percussion instruments.
Washington, D.C.: Music Educators National Conference, 1973]
[MUSIC ML132.C4 W4]
II. Search the UO Local Catalog:
by Author for composers and performers;
by Subject for other listings of items we own
(Common call numbers, if applicable, given for printed music)
Finding Percussion Recordings
Consult the following discography of percussion music:
Meza, Fernando A.
Percussion discography: an international compilation of solo and chamber percussion music.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.
[MUSIC REF. ML156.4.P4 M5 1990]
Then, using the UO Local Catalog:
- Search the performer's name as an Author (e.g. Burton, Gary or Black Earth Percussion Ensemble)
- Search the composer's name as an Author (e.g. Reich, Steve)
- Search the subject headings (listed above)
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores)
To search for just the compact discs:
- Start with the Call# tab on the UO Local Catalog.
- Scroll down to the Non-LC Call #:
You will receive a list of the 16000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading.
- If you want to browse our compact disc collection by genre (which doesn't include entries by instrument, see our genre web page at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/musgenres.html
- Browse our CIRCULATING CD COLLECTION.
The covers are available for browsing as you walk in to the Douglass Room. For recordings by specific performers, come browse our Performers section under their last names. These will be compilation albums of many different composers.
- Check out our Audio Resources Online, at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/aso.html
These databases provide streaming audio listening from 5 subscriptions, including the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) and Classical Music Library.
Searches can be by instrument, composer, genre, performers, etc.
(If you're having problems connecting off campus, see our Access to Electronic Resources site, at http://library.uoregon.edu/systems/proxy/
Percussion Web Sites
Also check out Yahoo's Drums & Percussion site
Orchestral Excerpts for Percussion Players
Note: For a comprehensive list of individual pieces represented in orchestral studies, see
Carolyn Rabson's Orchestral excerpts : a comprehensive index
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O5 R2 1993]
20th century orchestra studies for timpani.
New York, G. Schirmer 
[MUSIC MT660.A2 ]
Orchestral repertoire for the snare drum
Pasadena, Calif.: Batterie Music, 2000
[MUSIC MT662.4 .O75 2000]
Cirone, Anthony J.
Symphonic repertoire for snare drum: a detailed analysis of the major orchestral snare drum repertoire
Galesville, MD : Meredith Music Publications, 2006
[MUSIC MT662.4 .S967 2006]
Classic overtures for timpani : from Mozart to Wagner.
New York : Chappell, c1961.
Classic symphonies for timpani : Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven.
New York : Chappell, c1963.
Standard concertos for timpani : from the piano and violin solo repertory.
New York : Chappell [c1969]
Romantic symphonies for timpani : Schubert, Mendelssohn,Schumann, Brahms, Dvorak, Tchaikovsky. / compiled by Morris Goldenberg.
[Bryn Mawr, Pa.?] : T. Presser, c1964.
[MUSIC MT660.4.R65 1964]
Passi difficili e "a solo" per timpani = Difficult passages and"solos" for timpani = Schwierige Stellen und "Soli" fur Pauken.
Milano : Ricordi, c1977.
Excerpts selected from standard orchestral works and orchestral accompaniments.
[MUSIC MT660.4 .P388 1977]
Other Library Resources: