Oboe Research Guide
|Index for this guide:
Finding Books Using Subject Headings
Indexes to Articles
Finding Music in the UO Library's Catalog
Finding Oboe Recordings
Oboe Web Sites
Other Library Resources
Oboist's Guide to the Knight Library's Music Services Department
Encyclopedias for Information on Instruments and Musicians:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N 48 2001]
[Has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.]
Available on the web to UO users by the title Grove Music Online.
To get to the online version, search the title as Grove Music Online, then click on the Advanced Search and choose the Grove.
Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 B34 1992]
Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia.
NY: Sterling Pub., 1997.
[MUSIC ML 102 I5 M88 1997]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
London: Macmillan;NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984. 3 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 N48 1984]
Finding Books about the instrument by using the SUBJECT HEADINGS TO SEARCH IN THE UO LIBRARY'S CATALOG:
The following subject headings are a useful way to search the UO Local Catalog:
Oboe (for books about the instrument itself)
- Bibliography (For lists of books about the oboe)
- Construction (How oboes are constructed)
- Discography (For lists of recordings of oboe music)
- History (an obvious heading)
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn oboe)
- Maintenance and Repair (For that all-important topic)
- Methods (Resources to teach you how to play the oboe)
- Reeds (For books on your personal fixation!)
Note: See also ENGLISH HORN; SHAHNAI (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT) and SHAWM with the same sub-subjects
Indexes to Articles about Oboes, Oboe Music & Oboists:
(Note: Many of the latest issues of the paper volumes are located on the Music Reference Index table).
Academic Search Premier
A general index that includes access to the online version of a number of music journals.
The source for articles on music, musicians, and society.
(This is also available on the UO Library web site from Articles, Databases & Indexes on the left-hand side of the screen. Search the title Music Index in the search box.
More esoteric, and multilingual.
(This is also available on the UO Library web site from the Articles, Databases & Indexes section, under RILM, from 1967 - present.)
Music Article Guide
v.1 (1986)-31 (1996)
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M842]
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
Periodicals Especially Useful for the oboist/English hornist:
"Official journal of the International Double Reed Society."
[MUSIC ML 1 .D588] (Preceded by To the world's oboists.
[MUSIC ML1.T365 v.1-5 1972/73-77]
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society.
[MUSIC ML 1 .A527]
Official publication of: the British Association of Symphonic Bands & Wind Ensembles (basbwe)
[MUSIC ML999 .W56 (1989 - present]
Burgess, Geoffrey and Bruce Haynes.
New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2004.
[MUSIC ML940 .B87 2004]
Marcel Tabuteau: how do you expect to play the oboe when you can't peel a mushroom?
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2008
[MUSIC ML 419 .T125 S76 2008 + Doug. Circ. COMPACT DISC CX15282]
Weber, David B.
The reed maker's manual: step-by-step instructions for making oboe and English horn reeds.
Phoenix, AZ D.B. Weber and F.B. Capps, c1990.
Accompanying videocassette: The reed maker's video: a supplement to The reed maker's manual.
[MUSIC ML941 .W42 1990 + VIDEO COLL VIDEOTAPE 01744]
Finding the Music on the UO Library Catalog:
[Note: You are not limited to the music (and, in some cases, recordings) that the UO owns. We belong to two consortiums, SUMMIT (which is 33+ academic libraries in Oregon and Washington) and WorldCat (over 20,000+ libraries in the world) that allow us to borrow music, books, and recordings online.
To find out what resources there are in the world:
I. Use the following resources for lists of published oboe, oboe d'amore, and English horn music:
Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass.
Music for oboe, oboe d'amore, and English horn : a bibliography of materials at the Library of Congress.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2G5 1983]
Music for oboe, 1650-1800: a bibliography. 2nd ed., rev. & exp.
Berkeley, Calif.: Fallen Leaf Press, c1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2 H55 1991]
Oboen-Bibliographie. (2 v.)
Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, c1975-1994.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2H7]
McMullen, William Wallace.
Soloistic English horn literature from 1736-1984.
Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon Press, c1994.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O2 M3 1994]
The index of oboe music including the index of baroque trio sonatas.
Magnolia, Ark.: Music Register, c1976.
[MUSIC ML128.O2 W5 + sup 1976/77-1978 ]
II. Use the following subject headings in the UO Local Catalog to find listings of music we own, then limit your search by Music, Printed to get the written music:
Oboe (or English Horn) Music (for the actual scores & recordings)
Sonatas (Oboe (or English Horn)) (A more-specific heading)
Suites (Oboe (etc.)) (Another more-specific heading)
Oboe- Orchestra studies
Oboe- Studies and exercises
To find music for multiple oboes, use:
To find music for oboe and another instrument, use:
To find music for common chamber ensembles, try:
III. Search the UO Local Catalog by the composer's last name.
IV. Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
To find recordings of oboe (or English horn) music in our library, use the following resources and methods:
The UO Library has a number of collections available for you to use, including our Circulating CD Collection, which is located inside the Douglass Room door and allows you to browse the covers by composer and performer; the regular master CD collection of over 16,000 CDs, which can be listened to in the Douglass Room; and the Audio Resources Online, which provides access to subscription streaming audio pieces through the Library's catalog, including Classical Music Library and the Database of American Music. Both of these resources have access points by instrument, so that you can hone into your favorite oboists or English hornists.
If you are going to search for the Douglass Room collections of CDs, here are a few tips to make searching easier:
Use the UO Local Catalog for the following searches:
- Search the performer's name as an Author (e.g. Vogel, Allan or Holliger, Heinz)
- Search the composer's name as an Author (e.g. Vivaldi, Antonio)
- Search the subject headings (listed above)
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores)
To search for just the compact discs:
- Start with the Call# tab on the UO Local Catalog.
- Scroll down to the Non-LC Call #:
You will receive a list of the 16000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading.
- If you want to browse our compact disc collection by genre (which doesn't include entries by instrument, see our genre web page at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/musgenres.html
- Browse our CIRCULATING CD COLLECTION.
The covers are available for browsing as you walk in to the Douglass Room. For recordings by specific performers, come browse our Performers section under their last names. These will be compilation albums of many different composers.
- Check out our Audio Resources Online, at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/aso.html
These databases provide streaming audio listening from 5 subscriptions, including the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) and Classical Music Library.
Searches can be by instrument, composer, genre, performers, etc.
(If you're having problems connecting off campus, see our Access to Electronic Resources site, at http://library.uoregon.edu/systems/proxy/
Web Sites of Interest to Oboists:
- The British Double Reed Society at http://www.bdrs.org.uk
- International Double Reed Society at http://www.idrs.org
- McFarland Double Reed Shop at http://www.mcfarlanddoublereed.com/
- See Also: Collection Development Resources at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/coldev.html
for more lists of publishers and dealers.
Other Library Resources:
- CHECKLIST FOR DOING MUSIC RESEARCH