Keyboard Research Guide
Research Guides
Keyboard Resource Guide to the Knight Library's Music Services Department
Encyclopedias for Information on Instruments and Musicians:
General:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N48 2001]
[Has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.]
Available on the web to UO users through Databases & Indexes section of the UO Library web.
Instrument-specific Resources:
Baines, Anthony.
The Oxford companion to musical instruments.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML102 .I5 B34 1992]
Diagram Group.
Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia.
NY: Sterling Pub. Co., 1997.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 M88 1997]
Marcuse, Sibyl.
A Survey of Musical Instruments.
NY: Harper & Row, 1975.
[MUSIC ML 460 .M365 S94]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
London: Macmillan;NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984. 3 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 N48 1984]
Young, Phillip T.
The Look of Music: Rare Musical Instruments, 1500- 1900.
Vancouver: Vancouver Museums & Planetarium Association, 1980.
[MUSIC ML 462 .Y68]
Keyboard Instrument Resources:
Boalch, Donald H. (Donald Howard)
Makers of the harpsichord and clavichord, 1440-1840 . 3rd ed.
Oxford : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
[MUSIC REF. ML652 .B666 1995]
Costa, Susanne.
Glossary of harpsichord terms = Glossar uber Cembalo- Fachausdrucke .
Frankfurt/Main : Verlag Das Musikinstrument, 1980.
[MUSIC REF. ML652.C64]
Schimmel, Klaus.
Piano-Nomenclatur. Ein Bildworterbuch der Teile von Klavier und Flugel: Deutsch, Englisch, Franzosisch, Italienisch und Norwegisch.
Frankfurt, a.M., Verlag Das Musikinstrument (1966)
[MUSIC REF. ML102.P5S3]
Finding Books about the keyboard instruments by using the Subject Headings to search in the UO Local Catalog:
The following subject headings are a useful way to search the UO Local Catalog.
Subject Headings for the Piano, Harpsichord and Organ:
Piano (or Harpsichord or Organ (Musical instrument)) (for books about the instrument itself)
- Bibliography (For lists of books about the instruments)
- Construction (How the instruments are constructed)
- Discography (For lists of recordings of keyboard music)
- Fingering (For books about fingering)
- History (an obvious heading)
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn harpsichord, piano or organ)
-Instruction and Study (Juvenile) (For teaching beginning players)
- Maintenance and Repair (For that all-important topic)
- Methods (Resources to teach you how to play the harpsichord, piano, or organ)
-Methods-Group Instruction (For that group piano course)
Piano (Harpsichord, Organ) makers.
Piano pedaling
Bibliographies of Piano Music
The following are lists of books and articles about keyboard instruments, keyboard techniques, accompanying, and players:
Gillespie, John.
A bibliography of nineteenth-century American piano music, with location sources and composer biography-index .
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, c1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3G54 1984]
Hinson, Maurice.
The piano teacher's source book : an annotated bibliography of books related to the piano and piano music . 2d ed.
Melville, N.Y. : Belwin Mills Pub. Corp., c1980.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3H55 1980]
Palmieri, Robert.
Piano information guide : an aid to research .
New York : Garland, 1989.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 P34 1989]
Schulz, Ferdinand F.
Pianographie : Klavierbibliographie der lieferbaren Bucher und Periodica sowie der Dissertationen in deutscher, englischer, franzosischer und italienischer Sprache .2., verb. und erheblich erw. Aufl.
Recklinghausen : Piano-Verlag, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3S36 1982]
Works on Specific Composers:
Baytelman, Pola.
Isaac Albeniz : chronological list and thematic catalog of his piano works .
Michigan : Harmonie Park Press, 1993.
[MUSIC REF. ML134.A45 A12 1993]
Yeomans, David.
Bartok for piano .
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML134.B18Y4 1988]
Accompanying Bibliographies:
McTyre, Ruthann Boles
Library resources for singers, coaches, and accompanists : an annotated bibliography, 1970-1997.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1998.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.V7 M45 1998]
Indexes to Articles about Pianos, Organs, Harpsichords, Their Music & Players:
(Note: The last 10 years of many of these indexes are located on the Music Reference Index table).
Music Index
The source for articles on music, musicians, and society.
(This is also available on the web, through the Databases & Indexes section on the UO Library's catalog.)
Need help? See the Guide to Using the Music Index
RILM
More esoteric, and multilingual, this is also available on the web.
Music Article Guide
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M842]
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
JOURNALS BY INSTRUMENT:
Piano Periodicals
Clavier.
RELATED TO Electronic music educator ; Piano teacher
[MUSIC ML1 .C79 v.1-2 1962-63 -v.35 1996 ]
Keyboard.
[MUSIC ML1 .C9153]
Piano & keyboard : the bimonthly piano quarterly.
RELATED TO Piano quarterly
[MUSIC ML1 .P66]
The Piano quarterly.
RELATED TO Piano quarterly newsletter; Piano & keyboard
[MUSIC ML1 .P66]
Periodicals related to Harpsichords, Harpsichord Music, and Harpsichordists
Early music.
[MUSIC ML 5 .E3]
Harpsichord.
[MUSIC ML1 .H3]
Performance practice review.
[MUSIC ML 1 .P10876]
Periodicals on Organs and Organ Music
American organist.
[MUSIC ML 1 .M2]
Choir & organ.
[MUSIC ML 5 .C46]
The Diapason.
[MUSIC ML 1 .D41]
International Society of Organbuilders.
ISO information.
[MUSIC ML5 .I54]
The Organ.
[MUSIC ML 1 .O58]
The Organ yearbook.
[MUSIC ML 1 .O67]
Finding Music for Keyboard Instruments:
Use the following subject headings in the UO Library's Catalog to find listings of music we own:
(for the actual scores & recordings)
Piano music (or Organ music or Harpsichord music)
Sonatas (Piano)
Concertos (Piano)
Piano -Methods
Piano -Studies and exercises
Piano -Performance (For interpretation, phrasing and dynamics)
For the many (or one) handed pieces, use:
Piano Music - 1 Hand
Concertos (Piano, 1 hand)(for the Ravel, etc.)
Piano Music- 3 Hands
Piano Music - 4 Hands
Piano Music - 5 Hands (etc.)
To find music for multiple pianos, use:
2 Pianos = Piano Music Pianos (2)
More than 2 pianos = Piano ensembles
To find music for the piano and another instrument, use:
(Fill in the name of the instrument) and piano music
Quartets (Piano,_____, _____, _____) (fill in the other instruments' names)
Except:
Violin, viola, piano = Piano trios
Piano and string quartet = Piano quartets
- Search the UO Local Catalog by the composer's last name.
- Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
M 6 - 17 - Music for organ
M 20- 21 - Anthologies of early keyboard music
M 22-38 - Music for solo piano
MT 360-362 = Methods books for piano - Search the following resources for music for keyboard instruments available commercially:
Lists of Piano Music
Alker, Hugo.
Literatur fur alte Tasteninstrumente; Versuch einer Bibliographie fur die Praxis.
Wien: H. Geyer, 1962.
[MUSIC ML128.O6 A4 ]Chang, Frederic Ming.
Team piano repertoire : a manual of music for multiple players at one or more pianos .
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1976.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3C48]Edel, Theodore.
Piano music for one hand .
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c1994.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 E3 1994]Faurot, Albert.
Concert piano repertoire; a manual of solo literature for artists and performers.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1974.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3F39]Friskin, James.
Music for the piano; a handbook of concert and teaching material from 1580 to 1952.
New York: Rinehart [1954]
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 F7]Fuszek, Rita M.
Piano music in collections, an index .
Detroit, Mich.: Information Coordinators, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3F87 1982]Hinson, Maurice.
Guide to the pianist's repertoire. 3rd. ed.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c2000.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 H5 2000]Hinson, Maurice.
Music for more than one piano: an annotated guide .
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c1983.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3H52 1983]Hinson, Maurice.
The pianist's guide to transcriptions, arrangements, and paraphrases .
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 H536 1990]Lockwood, Albert Lewis.
Notes on the literature of the piano.
New York: Da Capo Press, 1968.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3L38 1968]McGraw, Cameron.
Piano duet repertoire: music originally written for one piano, four hands .
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 M2 ]Magrath, D. Jane (Dorothy Jane)
The pianist's guide to standard teaching and performance literature.
Van Nuys, Calif.: Alfred Publishing Co., c1995.
"An invaluable resource of piano literature from Baroque through contemporary periods for teachers, students and performers."
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 M24 1995]Maxwell, Grant L. (Grant Lyle)
Music for three or more pianists: a historical survey and catalogue.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1993.
[MUSIC REF. ML700 .M39 1993]Meggett, Joan M.
Keyboard music by women composers: a catalog and bibliography .
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.H35M43]Rezits, Joseph.
The pianist's resource guide: piano music in print and literature on the pianistic art, 1978-79.
Park Ridge, Ill.: Pallma Music Co.; San Diego: distributed by Kjos West, c1978.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3R5 1978]Walker-Hill, Helen.
Piano music by Black women composers: a catalog of solo and ensemble works.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3 W3 1992]Lists of Harpsichord Music:
Alker, Hugo.
Literatur fur alte Tasteninstrumente; Versuch einer Bibliographie fur die Praxis.
Wien: H. Geyer, 1962.
[MUSIC ML128.O6 A4 ]Arneson, Arne Jon.
The harpsichord booke: being a plaine & simple index to printed collections of musick by different masters for the harpsichord, spinnet, clavichord & virginall.
Madison, Wis.: Index House, 1986.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.H35A7 1986]Bedford, Frances.
Harpsichord and clavichord music of the twentieth century.
Berkeley, Calif.: Fallen Leaf Press, c1993.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.H35 B39 1993]Gustafson, Bruce.
A catalogue of French harpsichord music, 1699-1780.
Oxford [England]; New York: Clarendon Press, 1990.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.H35 G75 1990]Harley, John.
British harpsichord music.
Aldershot, Hants, England: Scolar Press; Brookfield, Vt., USA: Gower, c1992-
[MUSIC REF. ML728 .H37 1992 v.1]Heinrich, Adel.
Organ and harpsichord music by women composers: an annotated catalog.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O6 O73 1991]Meggett, Joan M.
Keyboard music by women composers: a catalog and bibliography.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.H35M43]Watkins, R. Bedford.
Contemporary works for solo harpsichord.
[Evanston, Ill.: Clavier, 1970]
[MUSIC ML128.H37 W3]Lists of Organ Music
Alker, Hugo.
Literatur fur alte Tasteninstrumente; Versuch einer Bibliographie fur die Praxis.
Wien: H. Geyer, 1962.
[MUSIC ML128.O6 A4]Arnold, Corliss Richard.
Organ literature: a comprehensive survey. 3rd ed. 2 v.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1995..
[MUSIC REF. ML600 .A76 1995]British Broadcasting Corporation. Central Music Library.
Piano and organ catalogue. 2 v.
[London]: British Broadcasting Corporation, 1965.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.P3B7]Edson, Jean Slater.
Organ-preludes; an index to compositions on hymn tunes, chorales, plainsong melodies, Gregorian tunes and carols. 2 v. + 1974 suppl.
Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1970.
CONTENTS v. 1. Composer index.--v. 2. Tune name index.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O6 E4]Frankel, Walter A.
Organ music in print. 2nd ed.
Philadelphia: Musicdata, 1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O6F7 1984]Heinrich, Adel.
Organ and harpsichord music by women composers: an annotated catalog.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.O6 O73 1991]Kratzenstein, Marilou.
Survey of organ literature and editions.1st ed.
Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1980.
[MUSIC ML600.K73]Meggett, Joan M.
Keyboard music by women composers: a catalog and bibliography.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.H35M43] -
To find out whether the pieces of music listed above are in print, check out the Music Publishers' Web Site at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/coldev.html#Music
To find Recordings of Piano Music in our library, use the UO Local Catalog:
- Search the performer's name as an Author (e.g. Gould, Glenn or Ashkenazy, Vladimir)
- Search the composer's name as an Author (e.g. Chopin, Frederic)
- Search the subject headings (listed above)
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores) by selecting MUSIC,RECORD or MUSIC,PRINTED, respectively, from the Material Type menu on the UO Local Catalog main page.
To search for just the compact discs:
- Start with the Call# tab on the UO Local Catalog.
- Scroll down to the Non-LC Call #:
You will receive a list of the 16000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading. - If you want to browse our compact disc collection by genre (which doesn't include entries by instrument, see our genre web page at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/musgenres.html
- Browse our CIRCULATING CD COLLECTION.
The covers are available for browsing as you walk in to the Douglass Room. For recordings by specific performers, come browse our Performers section under their last names. These will be compilation albums of many different composers. - Check out our Audio Resources Online, at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/aso.html
These databases provide streaming audio listening from 5 subscriptions, including the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) and Classical Music Library.
Searches can be by instrument, composer, genre, performers, etc.
(If you're having problems connecting off campus, see our Access to Electronic Resources site, at http://library.uoregon.edu/systems/proxy/
DISCOGRAPHIES OF KEYBOARD MUSIC
Discographies of Piano Music
Methuen-Campbell, James.
Catalogue of recordings by classical pianists.
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire: Disco Epsom, 1984-
[MUSIC ML156.4.P5M47 1984]
- Basart, Ann Phillips.
The sound of the fortepiano: a discography of recordings on early pianos.
Berkeley, Calif.: Fallen Leaf Press, c1985.
[MUSIC REF. ML156.4.P5B3 1985]
Discographies of Harpsichord Music:
Elste, Martin.
Modern harpsichord music: a discography.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995.
[MUSIC REF. ML156.4.H3 E47 1995]
Discographies of Organ Music
Kratzenstein, Marilou.
Four centuries of organ music: from the Robertsbridge Codex through the Baroque Era: an annotated discography.
Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML156.4.O6K7 1984]
Rowell, Lois.
American organ music on records.
Braintree, Mass.: Organ Literature Foundation, 1976.
[MUSIC REF. ML156.4.O6 R7]
Directories of Keyboard Artists
American keyboard artists. 1989 ed.
Chicago, Ill.: Chicago Biographical Center, c1989.
[MUSIC REF. ML397 .A447 1989]
Web Sites:
Piano Web Sites
- The Piano Page at http://www.ptg.org/
A mammoth web site, produced by the Piano Technicians Guild, that connects you to all sorts of other sites.
Harpsichord Web Sites
- The Harpsichord Clearinghouse at http://www.harpsichord.com/
A site in Boston that offers harpsichord instruments, books, music, etc. - Zuckermann's Web Site at http://zhi.net/
Home of the famous Zuckermann harpsichord kits, this sites provides connections to many other harpsichord sites.
Organ Web Sites
- The American Guild of Organists at http://www.agohq.org/
A large site compiled by the major organization for organists in the United States. It includes a number of links to other organ-related sites.
Other Library Resources:
