Flute Players Guide
Research Guides
Flutist's Guide to the Knight Library's Music Services Department
Encyclopedias for Information on Instruments and Musicians:
General:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
[Has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.]
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N48 2001]
Also available on the web to UO users as Grove Music Online.
Instrument-specific:
Diagram Group.
Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia.
NY: Sterling Pub. Co., 1997.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 I5 M88 1997]
Library of Congress.
Musical instruments in the Dayton C. Miller flute collection at the Library of Congress : a catalog.
Washington: Library of Congress, 1982-
v. 1. Recorders, fifes, and simple system transverse flutes of one key.
[MUSIC ML462.W33L545 1982 v.1]
Also available on the Library of Congress American Memory web site at: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/dcmhtml/dmhome.html
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
London: Macmillan;NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984. 3 v.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 N48 1984]
Young, Phillip T.
The Look of Music: Rare Musical Instruments, 1500- 1900.
Vancouver: Vancouver Museums & Planetarium Association, 1980.
[MUSIC ML 462 .Y68]
Finding Books about the instrument by using the Library of Congress Subject Headings To Search In The UO Library's Catalog:
The following subject headings are a useful way to search the UO Local Catalog (which we recommend for music searching.)
- Flute (for books about the instrument itself)
[Note: See also FIFE, FLAGEOLET, PENNY WHISTLE, PICCOLO, RECORDER (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT), RYUTEKI, SHAKUHACHI, and TI TZU.]Add the following sub-headings:
- - Bibliography (For lists of books about the flute)
- Construction (How flutes are constructed)
- History (an obvious heading)
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn flute)
- Maintenance and Repair (For that all-important topic)
- Methods (Resources to teach you how to play the flute) - Flute Music (For list of music and information about the music)
- - Discography (For lists of recordings of flute music)
If the item is not in UO Local Catalog or it won't be back for a while, where do you go next?
I. SUMMIT
The catalog of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance, this database combines the collections of over 35 member libraries into a single online catalog. The member libraries include the state university libraries of Washington and Oregon, as well as a number of private colleges and community colleges in the two states. Another member includes the Center for Research Libraries, which provides unique resources for research.
Material identified in SUMMIT may be borrowed by clicking on the Request this item button in the web.
Borrowing time is usually 3 weeks- and the items should come to the library in about 3 working days. When they arrive, they are kept at the Circulation Desk until you pick them up.
If you don't find it in SUMMIT, check...
II. WorldCat
WorldCat, which is part of the umbrella title, FirstSearch, is the shared catalog of more than 20,000 libraries world wide. It includes the computer tapes for the National Union Catalog of the Library of Congress, as well as many other countries' national catalogs.
Limitations: Only complete for items cataloged after each library signed on. (We signed on in 1981.)
Connect to WorldCat from the web version of UO Library's Catalog.
You can request ILL items right on the screen by clicking on the ILL button in the web version. The screen will guide you through the ordering process.
Indexes to Articles about Flutes, Flute Music & Flutists:
Note: To find which databases we have, search the UO Library's catalog under Articles, Databases & Indexes on the left-hand side of the UO Library's screen.
Click on the Music heading under Search by Subject to get to the music databases. You can then click on the sub-category Music Performance to find what databases are best for doing research on your instrument and performing its music.
This screen will present you with the databases (for articles, audio online resources, and the Grove Music Online) to do searching.
The Most Useful Databases are:
Academic Search Premier
A general index that includes access to the online version of a number of music journals.
Music Index
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M84]
The source for articles on music, musicians, and society.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .R4]
An international index to music literature, including parts of books, dissertations, as well as academic and popular articles in multiple languages.
RILM provides connections to the full text of journals that the Library owns in electronic form, as well as direct connections to the Interlibrary Loan forms, when we don't own the journal.
Music Article Guide
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources. It is only available in paper form.
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M842]
Magazine and Journal Articles:
Note:Like the databases, the Library provides easy access to online versions of journals, by searching the Journal Titles (FindText) line on the left-hand side of the UO Library's catalog.
You can search the journals by title under the A-Z list of journals.
If the Library doesn't own an online copy of that journal, it will offer you a chance to search the Library's catalog for the paper copy.
Periodicals devoted to Flute and Flutists:
The Flutist.
[MUSIC ML1.F55]
Flutist Quarterly. [The official magazine of the National Flute Association.]
[MUSIC ML27 .U5 N3676]
The Instrumentalist.
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society.
[MUSIC ML 1 .A527]
Woodwind/brass & percussion.
Official publication of: the Association of Concert Bands of America (ACBA)
[MUSIC ML1.W6]
Special Resources
Estevan, Pilar.
Talking with flutists.
[New York]: Edu-Tainment Pub. Co., c1976.
v. 1. Jean-Pierre Rampal. Julius Baker. Samuel Baron. Paula Robison. Doriot Anthony Dwyer. Harvey Sollberger. Hubert Laws. Marcel Moyse.
[MUSIC ML399.E78 v.1 ]
Howell, Thomas.
The avant-garde flute; a handbook for composers and flutists.
Berkeley: University of California Press, 1974.
[MUSIC ML935.H795 A9 & Accompanying Recording =DOUGLASS PHONODISC DMbl 23]
Protocol: a guide to collegiate audition process: for flute.
New York: C. Fischer, 2007.
[MUSIC MT305 .P768 2007]
"The purpose of this book is to provide high school students with or without a private teacher with a comprehensive collection of materials that will satisfy the needs of most college/university auditions."
Solum, John.
The early flute; with a chapter on the Renaissance flute by Anne Smith.
Oxford [England]: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
[MUSIC ML935 .S66 1992]
Toff, Nancy.
The flute book: a complete guide for students and performers . 2nd ed.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
CONTENTS: The instrument -- Performance -- The music -- Repertoire catalog.
[MUSIC ML935.T65 1996]
Finding the Music in the UO Library's Catalog:
Alphonse Leduc (Firm)
Musique pour flute: catalogue thematique = thematic catalogue = thematischer Katalog = catalogo tematico.
Paris: Leduc, [1991]
[MUSIC ML145.L34 F45 1991]
Boenke, Heidi M.
Flute music by women composers: an annotated catalog.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7 B6 1988]
McGowan, Richard A.
Italian baroque solo sonatas for the recorder and the flute.
Detroit: Information Coordinators, c1978.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7 M2]
National Flute Association. Pedagogy Committee.
Selected flute repertoire: a grade guide for teachiners and students.
Santa Clarita, CA: National Flute Association, 2001.
[MUSIC REF. ML945 .S47 2001]
Pellerite, James J.
A handbook of literature for the flute: compilation of graded method materials, solos, and ensemble music for flutes. Rev. 3d ed.
Bloomington, Ind.: Zalo Publications, c1978.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7 P4 1978]
Pierreuse, Bernard.
Flute litterature: catalogue general des oeuvres editees et inedites par formations instrumentales = general catalog of published and unpublished works by instrumental category.
Paris: Societe des Editions Jobert: Distribution, Editions Musicales Transatlantiques, c1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7P5]
Vester, Frans.
Flute music of the 18th century: an annotated bibliography. 1st ed.
Monteux, France: Musica Rara; Nutley, NJ: Authorized distributor, Foreign Music Distributors, 1985.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7V46 1985]
Vester, Frans.
Flute repertoire catalogue: 10,000 titles.
London: Musica Rara, 1967
[MUSIC ML128.F7V48]
Wilkins, Wayne.
The index of flute music, including The index of baroque trio sonatas.
Magnolia, Ark.: Music Register, c1974.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.F7W54 + suppl.]
Flute- Methods
Flute- Orchestral excerpts
Flute- Studies and exercises
To find music for multiple flutes, use:
Flute music (Flutes (2)) [M 288]
Woodwind Trios (Flutes (3)) [M 357.2]
Woodwind Quartets (Flutes (4)) [M 457.2]
Flute Choir Music [M1245] (at least 10 players)
To find music for common chamber ensembles, try:
Wind quintets (Bassoon, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe)
Woodwind quartets (Bassoon, clarinet, flute, oboe)
M 62 - Music for solo flute
M 242 - Music for flute and piano
MT 346 = Methods books for flute
MT 346 = Orchestral excerpts for flutes
- I. Use the following resources for lists of published flute music: II. Use the following subject headings in the UO Local Catalog to find listings of music we own: Flute Music (for the actual scores & recordings) III. Search the UO Library's Catalog by the composer's last name. IV. Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
To find recordings of flute music in our library, use the UO Local Catalog:
- Search the performer's name as an Author (e.g. Rampal, Jean-Pierre or Galway, James)
- Search the composer's name as an Author (e.g. Mozart, Wolfgang)
- Search the subject headings (listed above)
- To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores)
To search for just the compact discs:
- Start with the Call# tab on the UO Local Catalog.
- Scroll down to the Non-LC Call #:
You will receive a list of the 16000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading. - If you want to browse our compact disc collection by genre (which doesn't include entries by instrument, see our genre web page at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/musgenres.html
- Browse our CIRCULATING CD COLLECTION.
The covers are available for browsing as you walk in to the Douglass Room. For clarinet recordings by specific performers, come browse our Performers section under their last names. These will be compilation albums of many different composers. - Check out our Audio Resources Online, at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/aso.html
These databases provide streaming audio listening from 5 subscriptions, including the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) and Classical Music Library.
Searches can be by instrument, composer, genre, performers, etc.
(If you're having problems connecting off campus, see our Access to Electronic Resources site, at http://library.uoregon.edu/systems/proxy/
Web Sites of Interest to Flutists:
- National Flute Association at http://www.nfaonline.org/
- Flute (Guide to the Dayton Miller Flute Collection) at
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/dcmhtml/dmhome.html - Flute World (The largest supplier of flute music, flutes and piccolos for both professional and student use at http://www.fluteworld.com/)
- The Greater Portland (OR) Flute Society at http://gpfs.org/gpfs.html
- The Marcel Moyse Society at http://www.moysesociety.org/
- Windplayer Magazine Online at http://www.windplayer.com/
Other Library Resources:
- Checklist For Doing Music Research
