Searching for Compact Discs

In this guide:
Searching the catalog
Circulating CD collection
Using streaming audio
Browse by genre

Research Guides

Searching for sound recordings and CDs in the UO Libraries

Quick searches - UO Local Catalog

To find recordings in any format (LPs, cassettes, CDs, streaming audio), choose Audio Recordings from the dropdown options to the right of the search box in the UO Local Catalog.

To limit your search to CDs only, you will need to add "compact disc*" (with quotes) to the search box.

Using one of the above limits to find recordings, enter one or more keywords such as a composer's name, song title, performer, or work title to look for a recording.

Advanced search - UO Local Catalog

Use advanced search in the UO Local Catalog to look in authors or titles for composers or works. You can limit your search to recordings released in certain years, look for specific record labels (the 'publisher' box), or find spoken word recordings (under Material Type).

See all compact discs at UO Libraries

Go to the UO Local Catalog page.
Choose the Call # tab, then type Compact Disc CX in the Non-LC Call # box.
This will take you to the beginning of the list to browse through.

New acquisitions

See the new additions to the Music Services collections. The list is organized by call number and usually begins with new CDs. To find the list, updated monthly, go to the UO Local Catalog, look under Catalog Services for New Acquisitions, then select Music Services.

To suggest items for future purchases, please contact Ann Shaffer, music librarian.

Douglass Circulating CD Collection

The Douglass Listening Room contains a browsing collection of over 2,000 CDs that circulate to all borrowers. Sound recordings in the main Douglass Room collection (with the location Douglass) circulate to UO students faculty and staff for 7 days.
 

Streaming Audio Databases

The UO Libraries subscribe to several subscription databases that offer streaming audio to UO-affiliated borrowers and on-campus users.

    American Song
    Classical Music Library
    Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
    Smithsonian Global Sound

Detailed descriptions are on our Audio Online page.

Browse Recordings by Genre

To look for certain kinds of music, you can use a keyword or subject search.
Examples: Symphonies, Rock music, Musicals, Operas, Concertos piano

You can also browse our collection of audio recordings using our music genre search page.
If you are looking for a specific item, please try using the regular catalog search.

Return to top