Clarinetist's Research Guide
Clarinetist's Research Guide
Finding Books about Clarinets by using the subject headings to search the Library's catalog:
The following subject headings (commonly corresponding call numbers also noted) are a useful way to search the Library's catalog:
Clarinet (for books about the instrument itself)
Clarinet Music (For lists of music and information about the music) [ML128 .C58]
Note: See also BASS CLARINET and BASSET HORN.
- Bibliography (For lists of books about the clarinet) [ML128 .C58]
- Construction (How clarinets are constructed)[ML945-946]
- Fingering (charts, diagrams, etc.) [MT 380]
- History (an obvious heading) [ML 945- 946]
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn clarinet)
- Methods (Resources to teach you how to play the clarinet)
- Orchestral excerpts [MT386]
- Reeds (For books on your personal fixation!) [ML946]
- Studies and exercises [MT385]
- Discography (For lists of recordings of clarinet music)[ML156.4 .C6]
The MUSIC INDEX (1949 - present) in paper form
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M84]
The last ten years in paper are on the Music Reference Index table
The Music Index is also available on-line (from 1979 to the present), to the UO community, at the Articles, Databases & Indexes section of the UO Library's web site.
The Music Index is searchable by Index Word; keyword (anything in any part of the citation); author, title, journal.
Need help using the paper edition? See the Guide to Using the Paper Edition of the Music Index at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/musindguide.html
1967 - present
[MUSIC REF ML118 .M84]
Also available online to UO card holders. See the instructions for finding the Music Index online above.
Music Article Guide
1966- 1995 (ceased publication)
[MUSIC REF. ML118 .M842]
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
All copies are housed on the Music Reference shelves.
Academic Search Premier
A good all-around index that covers music topics, as well as many others. The biggest advantage of this index? Most if not all of the journal articles are available online in full-text, just by clicking on the FindText button.
Note: To find out what journals we own in the Library, look for the FindText button. Click on it and the Library's web site will let you know if we get the journal in paper, or online in full-text, or whether it is something you need to order from Interlibrary Loan.
If the index doesn't have the FindText button, use the UO Local Catalog, then choose Journal Title and type the title of the journal in it. If we own it, there will be a display with our call number and the years we hold. The current year of each journal is displayed on the Music Current Periodicals shelves near the Music Reference area.
Note: All current issues (usually the latest year) are on the white Current Periodicals shelves near Music Reference.
Published by the International Clarinet Society.
v. 5(1977)- present
[MUSIC ML 1 .C787]
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society.
v. 8 (1982) to present
[MUSIC ML 1. A527]
Woodwind/brass & percussion.
Official publication of: the Association of Concert Bands of America (ACBA)
(Previously known as Woodwind World from 1974 - 1976-
in the Music stacks at [Music ML1 .W6]
[MUSIC ML1.W6 v.14-25 (1975-1985)]
I. Use the following subject headings in UO Local Catalog to find listings of music we own:
Clarinet Music (for the actual scores & recordings)
Clarinet- Orchestral excerpts
Clarinet- Studies and exercises
To find music for multiple clarinets, use:
Clarinet music (Clarinets (2)) [M 289]
Woodwind Trios (Clarinets (3)) [M 357.2]
Woodwind Quartets (Clarinets (4)) [M 457.2]
Clarinet Choir Music [M959] (at least 10 players)
To find music for clarinet and another instrument, use:
Clarinet and ______ music (fill in the name of the instrument)
To find music for common chamber ensembles, try:
Wind quintets (Bassoon, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe)
Woodwind quartets (Bassoon, clarinet, flute, oboe)
II. Search the UO Local Catalog by the composer's last name in the Author section, then limit the search to Material Type = Music, Printed.
III. Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
M 72 - Music for solo clarinet
M 250 - Music for clarinet and piano
MT 385 - 386 = Methods books for clarinet (Including Orchestral Excerpts)
IV. Borrow from another library:
If we don't own a piece of music, your other options are:
- SUMMIT The catalog for the Orbis/Cascade Alliance that connects us to 35+ other Pacific Northwest schools-and allows us to borrow music, delivered to the Circulation Desk in Knight within three working days.
If schools in SUMMIT don't own the music, you can use Interlibrary Loan to borrow through:
- WorldCat a database that connects us to more than 20,000 libraries, and allows interlibrary loan requests right on line.
Delivery is usually in about two weeks.
- Note: Our main collection LPs and cassette only circulate to UO Faculty and GTFs. The main collection CDs can be checked out by UO students, faculty and staff. Other university members must listen to the main collection in the Douglass Listening Room, or browse our Circulating CD Collection.
Using the UO Local Catalog:
For example, see:
The clarinetists' discography III.
Harrington Park, NJ: RG Productions, c1991.
[MUSIC ML156.4 .C6 G53]
To search for just the compact discs:
- Search the performer's name as an Author (e.g. Richard Stoltzman, David Shifrin, or Sabine Meyer)
- Search the composer's name as an Author (e.g. Mozart, Wolfgang)
- Search the subject headings (listed above)
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores).
- You might also want to consult a discography of clarinet recordings and search in the Library's catalog of see if we own them.
- Start with the Call# tab on the UO Local Catalog.
- Scroll down to the Non-LC Call #:
You will receive a list of the 16000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading.
Browse our CIRCULATING CD COLLECTION.
The covers are available for browsing as you walk in to the Douglass Room. For clarinet recordings by specific performers, come browse our Performers section under their last names. These will be compilation albums of many different composers.
- Check out our Audio Resources Online, at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/aso.html
These databases provide streaming audio listening from 5 subscriptions, including the Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) and Classical Music Library.
Searches can be by instrument, composer, genre, performers, etc.
(If you're having problems connecting off campus, see our Access to Electronic Resources site, at http://library.uoregon.edu/systems/proxy/
Clarinet Techniques & Teaching
Clarinet Repair & Reeds
Wilhelmshaven : Heinrichshofen, 1977-
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 B74 v.1]
Gee, Harry R
Clarinet solos de concours, 1897-1980 : an annotated bibliography.
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1981.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 G43]
Gillespie, James E.
Solos for unaccompanied clarinet: an annotated bibliography of published works.
Detroit, Information Coordinators, 1973.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58G54]
Heim, Norman M.
The clarinet concerto in outline.
Hyattsville, Md.: Norcat Music Press, c1997.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 H49 1997]
Heim, Norman M.
Clarinet literature in outline.
Hyattsville, Md., U.S.A.: Norcat Music Press, c1984.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 H5 1984]
Heim, Norman H.
The clarinet sonata in outline.
Hyattsville, Md.: Norcat Music Press, c1995.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 H35 1995]
International Clarinet Society. Research Center.
Catalog of the International Clarinet Society score collection.
College Park : University of Maryland, 1982.
[MUSIC REF. ML136.A1I6 1982]
Catalog of the International Clarinet Society score collection. 2nd ed.
College Park, Md. : Music Library of the University of Maryland, 1990.
[MUSIC REF. ML136.C66 I67 1990]
Repertory of the clarinet.
New York, Ricordi 
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58O66]
Index of orchestral and operatic excerpts for clarinet. Rev. and ex.
DeKalb, Ill.: Moonlight Press, 1990, c1968.
[MUSIC REF. ML948 .W37 1990]
The index of clarinet music.
Magnolia, Ark.: Music Register, c1975.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.C58 W54 + sup 1975-1978]
Clarinet Techniques and Teaching (only the most recent since 2000)
Campione on clarinet: a complete guide to clarinet playing and instruction.
Fairfield, Ohio: J. Ten-Ten Publ., c2001.
[MUSIC MT380 .C36 2001]
Clarinet secrets: 52 performance strategies for the advanced clarinetist.
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2004.
[MUSIC MT380 .G55 2004]
The Daniel Bonade workbook: Bonade's fundamental playing concepts...3rd ed.
Stony Point, NY: Rivernote Press, 2007.
[MUSIC MT380 .G89 2007]
Embouchure building for clarinetists. 3rd ed.
Stony Point, NY: Rivernote Press, 2001, c2000.
[MUSIC MT385 .G98 2001]
The clarinetist's guide to klezmer.
[S.l.]: Zephyr Publishing, 2001.
[MUSIC MT380 .P89 2001]
Clarinet fingerings: a comprehensive guide for the performer and educator.
[Denton, Tex.: s.n.], c2000.
[MUSIC MT380 .R52 2000]
The educator's guide to the clarinet: a complete guide to teaching and learning the clarinet. 2d ed.
Duncanville, TX: T. Ridenour, c2002.
[MUSIC MT380 .R53 2002]
Clarinet Repair & Reeds
Perfect a reed-and beyond: reed adjusting method.
Ardsley, N.Y.: PerfectaReed,1996.
[MUSIC ML946 .A76 1996]
Making clarinet reeds by hand.
[Highland Park, Ill.]: ClarinetXpress, c1999.
[MUSIC ML946 .G727 1999]
Selection, adjustment, and care of single reeds. 2d ed.
Stony Point, N.Y.: Rivernote Press, 1997.
[MUSIC ML946 .G99 1997]
The clarinet doctor.
[Bloomington, IN?]: Woodwindiana, c1997.
[MUSIC MT380 .K58 1997]
Handbook for making and adjusting single reeds; for all clarinets and saxophones.
New York: Chappell 
Care and minor repairs of the clarinet for band directors.
Kenosha, Wi.: G. Leblanc Corp., [197-?]
CONTENTS:Part 1 : Care of your clarinet.--Part 2 : Minor adjustments and repair of the clarinet.
[MUSIC ML946 .P263]
Clarinet reeds: definitive instruction in an elusive art.
Silver Spring, MD: Charles Stier, [1991?]
[MUSIC ML946.S7 C5]
The clarinet: a cultural history.
English translation, Gail Schamberger.
Buchloe: Druck und Verlag Obermayer, 1994.
[MUSIC ML945 .B5713 1994]
The Cambridge companion to the clarinet.
Edited by Colin Lawson.
New York: Cambridge University Press,1995.
[MUSIC ML945 .C36 1995]
The versatile clarinet.
New York: Routledge, 2006.
[MUSIC ML948 .V47 2006]
New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2008.
[MUSIC ML945 .H64 2008]
Lawson, Colin (Colin James)
The early clarinet: a practical guide.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
[MUSIC ML945 .L39 2000]
Rehfeldt, Phillip, 1939-
New directions for clarinet. Rev. ed.
Berkeley: University of California Press, c1994.
[MUSIC ML945 .R43 1993]
Rice, Albert R.
The baroque clarinet.
Oxford [England]: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
[MUSIC ML945 .R5 1991]
The Clarinet in the classical period.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
[MUSIC ML945 .R52 2003]
Richards, Edwin Michael, 1954-
The clarinet of the twenty-first century.
[S.l.: E + K Pub.], c1992.
[MUSIC MT382 .R52 1992 + DOUGLASS CASSETTE 1541M]
Swing, swing, swing : the life & times of Benny Goodman.
New York: Norton, c1993.
NOTES: Accompanying compact disc includes selections from the Benny Goodman collection at the Yale University Music Library Archives ; various performers.
[MUSIC ML422.G65 F6 1992 + Doug Circ COMPACT DISC CX1806]
Harvey, Paul, 1935-
Baldock: Egon, 1989.
[MUSIC ML419.H347 A3 1989]
Kycia, Carol Anne, 1964-
Daniel Bonade: a founder of the American style of clarinet playing.
Captiva, FL: Captiva Publishing, c1999.
[MUSIC ML419.B66 K92 1999]
Clarinet virtuosi of the past.
London: Hale, 1971.
Clarinet virtuosi of today.
Baldock, England: Egon, 1989.
[MUSIC ML399 .W482]
More clarinet virtuosi of the past.
[York, England]: Emerson Edition Ltd., 2002, c1977.
[MUSIC ML399 .W49 2002]
Yesterday's clarinettists: a sequel.
York, Eng.: Emerson Edition Ltd., 2002.
[MUSIC ML399 .W499 2002]
Program Notes: Sources for Preparation
I. Get the facts about a composer in music encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other resources:
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Edited by Slonimsky, Nicolas.8th ed.
New York: G. Schirmer, 1992.
[MUSIC REF. ML105 .B16 1992]
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
Available in print at:[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N 48 2001]
The New Grove... is also available on the web to UO users by searching the title: Grove Music Online.
This source (which is part of Oxford Music Online, has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.
The Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2002.
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .O94 2002]
Another resource, also available through Oxford Music Online, that supplies historical information about music terms, eras, and people.
A comprehensive list of the dictionaries and encyclopedias held by the UO Library is at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/Teachingresources/encylist.html
- Useful Dictionaries/Encyclopedias:
- If you are just trying to determine the birth and death dates of a composer, try searching the Library's catalog by the composer's name as Author or the composer as Subject-sometimes these dates are listed.
- You might also try The Music Index (in the earlier years), as they also listed birth and death dates.
II. Read about the composer in books & publishers' resources:
- To find biographies of composers, browse the ML 410 section of the music stacks, and use the initial of the last name of the composer as the second part of the call number
- Browse the UO Music Services web site for Composers at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/resources.html#Composers
III. Listen to a recording of the music (and read the program notes on the cover of the recording):
For help finding recordings, see Finding Recordings of Clarinet Music in the UO Library on this web site.
Web Sites of Interest to Clarinetists:
- International Clarinet Association web site at http://www.clarinet.org/
- Clarinet Pages at http://www.woodwind.org/clarinet/
- ClassicWeb Clarinet Page at http://www.classicweb.com/Clarinet.htm
- Clarinet Jokes at http://www.mit.edu:8001/people/jcb/other-instrument-jokes.html#clarinet
Other Library Resources:
- CHECKLIST FOR DOING MUSIC RESEARCH