Brass Players Guide
Research Guides
Brass players guide
Finding Books About Brass Instruments Using Subject Headings in the UO Local Catalog
The following subject headings are a useful way to search the Library's UO Local Catalog. [Note: do not use the "google" search bar for our collection-that is used to borrow things from other libraries.]
- Tuba (or Baritone Horn or Trombone or Horn (Musical Instrument) or Trumpet) (for books about the instrument itself)
- - Bibliography (For lists of books about the instrument)
- Construction (How the instruments are constructed)
- History (an obvious heading)
- Instruction and Study (For resources to teach or learn the instruments)
- Maintenance and Repair (For that all-important topic)
- Methods (Resources to teach you how to play the instruments) - Tuba Music (or Baritone Horn or Trombone or Horn (Musical Instrument) or Trumpet)
(For lists of music and information about the music)- - Discography (For lists of recordings of brass music)
Note: See also the following Bibliographies and compilations of articles on brass instruments:
Brass Anthology: a Compendium of Articles from the Instrumentalist.
Evanston, IL: The Instrumentalist, 1976.
[MUSIC MT 339 .B72 1976]
Fasman, Mark J.
Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments.
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1990.
[MUS REF ML 128 .W5 F3 1990]
Skei, Allen B.
Woodwind, Brass & Percussion Instruments of the Orchestra: a Bibliographic Guide.
NY: Garland, 1985.
[MUS REF ML 128 .W5 S6 1985]
Indexes to Articles about Brass Instruments, Brass Music & Brass Players:
- Music Index
[MUS REF ML118 .M84]
The source for articles on music, musicians, and society.
(The web version covers 1979 to the present; current paper indexes are on the Music Reference Index table; older years (1949 - 1979) are on the Music Reference shelves.)
Need help? See the Guide to Using the Music Index
- RILM
[MUS REF ML118 .R4]
A multilingual, multi-disciplinary index to music articles. Many of these citations include abstracts.
- Music Article Guide
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
The Libary has 1966 - 1995 (when it ceased publication.)
[MUS REF ML 118 .M842]
PERIODICALS (MAGAZINES, JOURNALS ABOUT BRASS INSTRUMENTS)
[Note: For specific topics, please see the Index section of the guide for indexing to most of these journals. Also: The current issues (the latest year) of these journals are on the white Current Periodical shelves in Music Reference area.]
General Instrumental Journals & Magazines
C.B.D.N.A. Journal [College Band Directors National Association]
1990-1995
[MUSIC ML 1299 .C64]
The Instrumentalist.
v.1- ; 1946-
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
NACWPI Journal [National Association of College Wind & Percussion Instructors]
v.26-42; 1977 - 1994
[MUSIC ML 27 .U5 N17]
Woodwind/Brass & Percussion
v.20, no.4-v.24; 1981-1985
Note: Previously known as Woodwind World (v.1 (1957) - v.13 (1974)) and Woodwind World-Brass & Percussion (v.14 (1975) to v.20, no.1 (1981))
[MUSIC ML 1 .W6]
Brass Magazines
Brass Bulletin.
v.61-84; 1988-1993
[MUSIC ML 5 .B69]
The Brass Player.
v.1- ; 1989-1995
[MUSIC ML 1 .B68]
The Horn Call
v.18- ; 1987-
[MUSIC ML 1 .H617]
International Horn Society. Newsletter.
no.24-27 (inc.) ; 1993-97
[MUSIC ML 955 .N49]
ITA Journal [International Trombone Association]
v,.16- ;1988-
[MUSIC MUSIC ML 1 .I86]
ITEA Journal [International Tuba & Euphonium Association]
(Previously called T.U.B.A. Journal)
v.17, no-3 present; 1990 - present.
[MUSIC ML 1 .T82]
ITG Journal [International Trumpet Guild]
v.1- ;1976-
[MUSIC ML 1 .I87]
Finding Music for Brass in the UO Local Catalog
I. Search the UO Local Catalog:
- by Author for composers and performers;
- by Title for titles of pieces;
- by Subject (Brass Music; Tuba Music; etc.) for other listings we own.
- by Call Number for pieces of music, such as
- Solo Baritone(Euphonium) = [M110]
Solo Tuba = [M97]
Solo Trumpet = [M87]
Solo Horn = [M82]- Baritone (Euphonium) and Piano Music = [M271]
Tuba and Piano Music = [M265]
Trumpet and Piano Music =[M261]
Horn and Piano Music =[M257]- Baritone (Euphonium) Duets = [M289]
Tuba Duets = [M288]
Trumpet Duets =[M289]
Horn Duets =[M288]- Baritone (Euphonium)- Orchestra Excerpts = [MT496.4]
Tuba- Orchestral Excerpts = [MT486]
Trumpet- Orchestral Excerpts = [MT446]
Trombone- Orchestral Excerpts = [MT466]
Horn (Musical Instrument)- Orchestral Excerpts =[MT426]
II. Borrow from another library:
If we don't own a piece of music, your other options are to use the UO WorldCat (our "google" search bar) to find items from the following sources:
- SUMMIT A shared catalog for the Orbis/Cascade Alliance that connects us to 35+ other Pacific Northwest schools-and allows us to borrow music, delivered to the Circulation Desk in Knight within five working days.
- If schools in SUMMIT don't own the music, you can use the Interlibrary loan connection through our UO WorldCat to access:
- WorldCat a database that connects us to more than 20,000 libraries, and allows interlibrary loan requests right on line. Delivery is usually in about two weeks.
III. Consult the following lists of brass music:
Euphonium
Bone, Lloyd E. and Eric Paull.
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire: the Euphonium Source Book.
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2007.
[MUS REF ML128 .B24 G83 2007]
French Horn
Bruechle, Bernhard.
Horn Bibliographie I & II. 2 v.
Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, 1970, 1975.
[MUS REF ML128 .H67 B8]
Wilkins, Wayne.
Index of French Horn Music.
Magnolia, AR: Music Register, 1978.
[MUS REF ML 128 .H67 W5 + 1978 supplement]
Trombone
Everett, Thomas G.
Annotated guide to bass trombone literature.
3d ed., rev. and enl.
Nashville: Brass Press, 1985.
[MUS REF ML 128 T76 E9 1985]
Kagarice, Vern, et.al.
Solos for the Student Trombonist: an Annotated Bibliography.
[MUS REF ML 132 .T76 S6]
Trumpet
Cansler, Philip T
Twentieth-century music for trumpet and organ: an annotated bibliography.
Nashville, Tenn. : Brass Press, 1984.
[MUS REF ML128 .T78C323 1984]
Tuba:
Morris, R. Winston and Daniel Perantoni.
Guide to the repertoire: the new tuba source book.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2006.
[MUS REF. ML128 .T8 T8 2006]
Morris, R. Winston and Edward R. Goldstein.
The Tuba source book.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c1996.
[MUS REF ML970 .T83 1996]
Chamber Groups Of Brass
Heller, George N.
Ensemble Music for Wind & Percussion Instruments.
Washington, D.C.: MENC, 1970
[Lists of music by group (including ensembles for like brass; for mixed brass; and miscellaneous instruments) with ratings of difficulty.]
[MUS REF ML 128 .W5 H4]
Helm, Sanford.
Catalog of Chamber Music for Wind Instruments.
NY: Da Capo Press, 1969.
[Organized by number of instruments (3-12); then larger groups; bibliography; publisher information.]
[MUSIC ML 128 .C4 H4 1969]
Richter, Johannes F.
Kammermusik-Katalog.
Leipzig: F. Hofmeister, 1960.
[MUSIC ML 128 .C4 R55]
Waln, George F.
Materials for Miscellaneous instrumental Ensembles.
Washington, D.C.: MENC, 1960.
[Includes music for strings, woodwinds, brass, percussion, arranged by number of players; publisher and importer list.]
[MUSIC ML 128 .C4 M9]
General Brass Resources
Brass Players' Guide.
North Easton, MA: Robert King Music Co., 1985/85- present
[Lists music by instrument, then by composer.]
[Latest ed. MUS REF] ML 128 .B7 B7]
Finding Recordings of brass music in our library
Using the UO Local Catalog, search:
- The performer's name as an Author (e.g. Dennis Brain, Rafael Mendes, Arnold Jacobs, or Roger Bobo.)
- The composer's name as an Author (e.g. Mozart, Wolfgang)
- The subject headings (listed above)
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings.
To browse for just the compact discs:
- Choose the Call # tab on the UO Local catalog.
- Use the Non-LC Call # search box
- Type in Compact Disc CX. You will receive a list of the 16,000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer or performer) or title or subject heading.
Come browse through our Circulating Compact Disc Collection which is right by the entrance to the Douglass Listening Room. You can browse the collection by Composer, or in our Performers' section for those recordings by specific performers who have done a number of different composers' works.
Explore our digital audio sources. You can access our online resources by going to Videos & Music on the UO Library's web site, then scrolling to the bottom of the page to Audio Resources Online. Of particular interest will be the Classical Music Library, which allows you to search for recordings by Instrument. The other database that's especially good for contemporary composers' recordings is the Database of Recorded American Music.
You might also want to consult a commercial discography of brass recordings. The following examples are owned by our library:
Bahr, Edward R.
Trombone/Euphonium Discography.
Stevens Pt., WI: Index House, 1988.
[MUS REF ML 156.4 .T7 B3]
Hernon, Michael.
French Horn Discography.
NY: Greenwood Press, 1986.
[MUS REF ML 156.4 .H7 H5 1986]
Morris, R. Winston and Edward R. Goldstein.
The Tuba source book.
Bloomington: Indiana University Press, c1996.
[MUS REF ML970 .T83 1996]
Special Resources
Mende, Emilie.
Brass instruments: Dictionary in 3 Languages: English-French-German=Instruments de Cuivre: dicionarie en 3 langues; francais-allemande-anglais.
Bulle, Switzerland: Editions BIM, 1983.
[MUSIC ML 102 .B7 M46 1983]
Pizka, Hans.
Hornisten-Lexikon = Dictionary for Hornists.
Kircheim b. Munchen: Hans Pizka Edition, 1986.
[MUS REF ML 955 .P59 1986]
Program Notes: Sources for Preparation
I. Read about the composer in a music encyclopedia or dictionary
Examples of Music Encyclopedias:
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians. Edited by Nicolas Slonimsky.8th ed.
New York: G. Schirmer, 1992.
[MUS REF. ML105 .B16 1992]
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
[Has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.]
Available on the web to UO users as the title Grove Music Online
Available in print also at:
[MUS REF ML100 .N48 2001]
The New Oxford Companion to Music. 2 vols.
Oxford;NY: Oxford University Press, 1983.
[MUS REF. ML 100 .N49 1983]
For information about the instruments-and good bibliographies leading you to other resources on them, try:
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments [3 vols.]
New York: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984.
[MUS REF ML102 .I5 N48 1984]
A comprehensive list of the dictionaries and encyclopedias held by the UO Library is at
http://library.uoregon.edu/music/Teachingresources/encylist.html
If you are just trying to determine the birth and death dates of a composer, try searching the UO Local Catalog by Author or
Subject-sometimes these dates are listed.
You might also try The Music Index (in the earlier years), as they also listed birth and death dates.
Note: The Tuba crowd is especially lucky to have their own sources for program note information on solo tuba:
Bird, Gary, comp. and ed.,
Program Notes for the Solo Tuba.
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1994.
[MUS REF ML973 .P76 1994]
Morris, R. Winston and Daniel Perantoni.
Guide to the Tuba Repertoire: the new Tuba Source book.
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2006.
[MUS REF ML128 .T8 T8 2006]
II. Read about the composer in books & publishers' resources:
To find biographies of composers, browse the ML 410 section of the music stacks, and use the initial of the last name of the composer as the second part of the call number or peruse the UO web site on Composers at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/resources.html#Composers
III. Listen to a recording of the music (and read the program notes on the cover of the recording):
To find recordings in the Music Services' Douglass Room on The Library's catalog, type the composer's name as Author, then limit the search by Material Type = Music, Record, and let the computer find the recordings by that composer.
You can also look under the title of the piece, then limit by Material Type = recordings.
Web Sites of Interest to Brass Players:
French Horn
- Hornplayer.net at http://www.hornplayer.net
- International Horn Society at http://www.hornsociety.org
- The HornPlanet Site at http://www.hornplanet.com/
Trombone Web Sites
- International Trombone Association Web Page at http://www.ita-web.org/
- The Alto Trombone Page at http://www.pittstate.edu/music/altotrombonehomepage.html
Trumpet Sites
Tuba Sites
- International Tuba and Euphonium Association (ITEA) (formerly, Tubists Universal Brotherhood Association (TUBA)) at http://www.tubaonline.org
- Tuba Christmas (founded by Harvey Phillips, this tradition commemorates the birthday of William Bell, the NYPhils famous tubist.) You can find the site at http://www.tubachristmas.com/ .
Other Library Resources:
Checklist for doing music research
