Music the Brain Research Guide
Research Guides
Music & the Brain Resources:
Guide for Researching Music Cognition
I. Encyclopedias & Dictionaries:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
[MUSIC REF ML 100. N48 2001] (29 vols.) and constantly updated online]
Encyclopedia of human behavior.
San Diego, CA: Academic Press, c1994. 4 v.
[KNIGHT REF BF31 .E5 1994]
Encyclopedia of psychology. 2nd ed.
New York: J. Wiley & Sons, c1994. 4 v.
[KNIGHT REF BF31 .E52 1994]
Encyclopedia of educational research. 5th ed.
New York: Free Press, c1982. 4 v.
[KNIGHT REF L901.E57 1982]
II. Searching the UO Library's Catalog for books and materials on Music Cognition:
The following subject headings are used in the Catalog:
Auditory perception
Cognition
Composition (Music) -- Psychology
Improvisation (Music) -- Psychology
Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics
Music -- Performance -- Psychology
Music -- Psychology
Musical perception
Perception
III. OTHER LIBRARIES' CATALOGS:
SUMMIT: This database on the UO Library's Catalog is available by choosing SUMMIT on the bottom left of the UO Library Catalog's web catalog.
SUMMIT consists of 32+ academic libraries in Oregon & Washington. It uses the same search capabilities as the UO Library's catalog.
One of the nice advantages of SUMMIT is that you can request an item from another institution in the consortium, even if our copy is checked out, and you should receive it in three working days.
WorldCat: This catalog provides access to library catalogs for approximately 36 million books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, recordings, etc., held by libraries from around the world. Searching capabilities include access by individual songs, as well as by performer, composer, lyricist, and publisher. Material identified in Worldcat which is not owned by the UO Library may be requested through interlibrary loan if you are a UO library card holder. In general, recordings can't be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Limitations: As libraries become members, their older databases may or may not be added to the WorldCat.
WorldCat is especially good for searching items within a collection, if the catalogers have included that information in the contents notes.
You can order ILL through the system by clicking on the ILL button and filling out the order form.
The following list includes some of the important music libraries' catalogs, providing access to books and scholarly articles. They are arranged in the order of accessiblity for you as a UO community member.
IV. Indexes to Periodicals Related to Music Cognition:
General Music Indexes:
The Music Index:
Available from 1949 to 2001 in print form; also available on the UO Library's catalog under Articles, Databases & Indexes/Find Databases/Letter M.
RILM:
Available through Articles, Databases & Indexes/Find Databases/Letter R on the main UO Library catalog screen; and in the Music Reference section in paper form from 1966 to 2001.
Arts & Humanities Citation Search:
Also searchable from the UO Library's web catalog, under Articles, Databases & Indexes.
This source allows you to search by cited source to find out who the author cited, and who cited them.
Academic Search Premiere:
Yet another resource available through the UO Library's web catalog. This source is aimed at the undergraduate researcher, so articles will not be in depth. A number of the journals from music are available at this site in full text- so use it as a back up to our collection!
Specialized Music Indexes:
Music psychology index. v. 2 & v.3
"The international interdisciplinary index of the influence of music on behavior: references to the literature from the natural and behavioral sciences, and the fine and therapeutic arts ..."
Preceded by the Music therapy index (v.1, 1976)
[MUSIC REF ML128.M77M9]
Master's theses in music therapy : index and abstracts.
[MUSIC ML3920 .M217 1988]
Other Indexes for Articles on Music & the Brain:
Dissertation Abstracts International
The on-line version of the index to dissertations and masters thesis. This source goes back to 1861!
Psychological Abstracts
Available on the web, as PsycInfo from the UO Library's catalog, PsycINFO provides indexing and abstracting for 1,200+ journals in psychology, as well as indexing for doctoral dissertations and anthologies in psychology. PsycINFO can also be useful for interdisciplinary research in other disciplines.
V. Music and music-related Science Journals
Music Periodicals:
Journal of music therapy.
Library has: v.3-6 1966-69 - present
[MUSIC ML3920 .J6]
Music perception.
Library has: v.2 1984-85 -v.19 (2002)
[MUSIC ML3830.M87]
Psychology of music.
Library has: v.16-17 1988-89- v.34 2006
Published by the Society for Research in Psychology of Music and Music Education.
[MUSIC ML5 .P93]
Psychomusicology.
Library has: v.1-3 no.1 1981-83 - v.18
Published by the Psychomusicology Society.
[MUSIC ML3830.P74]
Other Periodicals:
Brain and cognition.
Library Has: 1(1982)- present
[KNIGHT QP 376 .B69595]
Brain research. Cognitive brain research.
Library has: 1(1992)- present
"A section of Brain research devoted to the publication of cognitive and computational studies."
[SCIENCE SHELVED BY TITLE ]
Cognition.
Library has: 1(1972)- present
[KNIGHT BF 309 .C6]
Cognition & emotion.
Library has: 1(1987)- present
[KNIGHT BF 309 .C617]
Cognition and instruction.
Library has: 1(1984)- present
[KNIGHT LB 1051 .C3416]
Cognitive psychology.
Library has: 1(1970)- present
[KNIGHT BF 309 .C62]
Cognitive science.
Library has: 1(1977)- present
"A multidisciplinary journal of artificial intelligence, psychology, and language."
[KNIGHT BF 309 .C63]
Cognitive therapy and research.
Library has: 1(1977)- present
[KNIGHT BF 309 .C65]
Communication & cognition.
Library has: 24(1991)- present
[KNIGHT P 87 .C59]
Journal of experimental psychology. Learning, memory, and cognition.
Library has: 8(1982)- present
KNIGHT LB 1051 .J647]
Memory & cognition.
Library has: 1(1973)- present
"A journal of the Psychonomic Society."
[KNIGHT BF 371 .M4]
Social cognition.
Library has: 1(1982)- present
[KNIGHT BF 698 .A1 S64]
VI. Bibliographies and Books on Music Cognition:
Bibliographies:
Swinger, Jack Estol
Annotated and non-annotated bibliographies of music therapy.
Thesis (M.S.)--Oregon, Dept. of Health Education. Vita.
[MUSIC ML128.M77 S93]
Books:
Butler, David
The musician's guide to perception and cognition.
New York: Schirmer Books, c1992.
[MUSIC ML3830 .B95 1992 + Accompanying CD at DOUGLASS COMPACT DISC CX2364]
Dowling, W. Jay and Dane L. Harwood.
Music cognition.
Orlando: Academic Press, 1986.
Accompanying cassette is shelved in Douglass Room under call number CASSETTE 1050M.
[MUSIC ML3838.D73 1986]
Fiske, Harold E.
Music cognition and aesthetic attitudes.
Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press, 1993.
[MUSIC ML3838 .F42 1993]
Generative processes in music: the psychology of performance, improvisation, and composition.
Edited by John A. Sloboda.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988.
[MUSIC ML3838.G38 1988]
Green, Barry.
The inner game of music. 1st ed.
Garden City, N.Y.: Anchor Press/Doubleday, c1986.
[MUSIC ML3820 .G73 1986]
Handbook of music psychology. 2nd ed.
San Antonio: IMR Press (University of Texas at San Antonio), 1996.
[MUSIC ML3830 .H2 1996]
Music and the brain: studies in the neurology of music. Macdonald Critchley and R. A. Henson, eds.
London: Heinemann Medical, 1977.
[MUSIC ML3830 .M967 1977b]
Music, mind, and brain: the neuropsychology of music.
Edited by Manfred Clynes.
New York: Plenum Press, c1982.
[SCIENCE ML3830.M98 1982]
Musical perceptions, Edited by Rita Aiello with John A. Sloboda.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1994.
[MUSIC ML3830 .M983 1994]
Proceedings of the Research Symposium on the Psychology and Acoustics of Music, 1978.
[Lawrence, Kan.: University of Kansas, 1978?]
[MUSIC ML3830.R36 1978]
Proceedings of the Research Symposium on the Psychology and Acoustics of Music, 1979. Edited by William V. May.
[Lawrence, Kan.]: Department of Music Education and Music Therapy, University of Kansas, 1980.
[MUSIC ML3830.R36 1979]
Proceedings of the Research Symposium on the Psychology and Acoustics of Music, 1981.
[Lawrence, Kan.]: Department of Art and Music Education, and Music Therapy, University of Kansas, 1982.
[MUSIC ML3830.R36 1981]
Psychology and music: the understanding of melody and rhythm, Edited by Thomas J. Tighe, W. Jay Dowling.
Hillsdale, N.J.: L. Erlbaum, 1993.
[MUSIC ML3830 .P897 1992]
Regelski, Thomas A
Arts education & brain research.
Reston, Va.: Music Educators National Conference, c1978.
[KNIGHT QP385.5 .R43]
Research in music therapy: a tradition of excellence : outstanding reprints from the Journal of music therapy, 1964- 1993. Edited by Jayne M. Standley, Carol A. Prickett.
Silver Spring, MD: National Association for Music Therapy, c1994.
[MUSIC ML3920 .J625 1994]
Salmon, Paul
Notes from the green room: coping with stress and anxiety in musical performance.
New York: Lexington Books, c1992.
[MUSIC ML3830 .S148 1992]
Seashore, Carl E. (Carl Emil)
Psychology of music. 1st ed.
New York: McGraw-Hill Book Company, inc., 1938.
[MUSIC ML3830.S32P8]
Serafine, Mary Louise.
Music as cognition: the development of thought in sound.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1988.
[MUSIC ML3838.S48 1988]
Sloboda, John A.
Generative processes in music: the psychology of performance, improvisation, and composition.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988.
[MUSIC ML3838.G38 1988]
Storr, Anthony.
Music and the mind.
New York: Free Press, c1992.
[MUSIC ML3830 .S87 1992]
Structure and perception of electroacoustic sound and music : proceedings of the Marcus Wallenberg Symposium held in Lund, Sweden, on 21-28 August 1988.
Amsterdam: Excerpta Medica, 1989.
[MUSIC ML1092 .M29 1989]
VII. Other Resources on Music Cognition:
Videocassettes:
The Inner game of music.
Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin-Madison, c1988.
1 videocassette (VHS) (120 min.) : sd., col. ; 1/2 in.
Host, Barry Green; co-host, Eugene Corporon. Based on the "Inner Game" concept of W. Timothy Gallwey, it features over forty demonstrations with individuals, small and large ensembles.
[VIDEOCOLL. VIDEOTAPE 01127]
Other Sources:
Handbook of research on music teaching and learning: a project of the Music Educators National Conference.
New York: Schirmer Books, c1992.
[MUSIC MT1 .H138 1992]
Materials on creative arts (arts, crafts, dance, drama, music and bibliotherapy) for persons with handicapping conditions. Rev.
[Washington] Information and Research Utilization Center in Physical Education and Recreation for the Handicapped, American Alliance for Health, Physical Education and Recreation, 1977.
[AAA Z5814.C52M3]
The ... Mental measurements yearbook.
[2nd] 1940-
Highland Park, N.J.: The Mental Measurements Yearbook, 1941-
Provides access to reviews of psychological tests.
[KNIGHT REF Z 5814 .P8 B932]
The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: a project of the Music Educators National Conference.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.
[MUSIC REF. MT1 .N48 2002]
Reuer, Barbara Louise.
Best practice in music therapy: utilizing group percussion strategies for promoting volunteerism in the well older adult: manual.
San Diego, CA: University Center on Aging, San Diego State University Foundation, [c1995]
Microfiche. [Washington, D.C.?]: Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., [1997] 1 microfiche: negative.
[DOC-US/MF HE 1.1002:M 97/5/MAN]
