Bassoon Research Guide
Research Guides
Bassoon Guide to the Knight Library's Music Services Department
Encyclopedias for Information on Instruments and Musicians:
General:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed.
New York: Grove, 2001. 29 v.
[This source has good signed articles by noted authorities-with excellent bibliographies.]
Available on the web to UO users by searching the catalog for Grove Music Online.
Available in print also at:
[MUSIC REF. ML 100 .N48 2001]
Instrument-specific:
Musical Instruments of the World: an Illustrated Encyclopedia.
NY: Sterling Pub. Co., 1997.
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 M88 1997]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments.
London: Macmillan; NY: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984. 2 v. (v.2 & 3 only)
[MUSIC REF. ML 102 .I5 N48 1984]
Remnant, Mary.
Musical Instruments: an illustrated history: from antiquity to the present.
London: Batsford, 1989.
[MUSIC REF. ML460 .R36 1989b]
Young, Phillip T.
The Look of Music: Rare Musical Instruments, 1500- 1900.
Vancouver: Vancouver Museums & Planetarium Association, 1980.
[MUSIC ML 462 .Y68]
Finding Books about the instrument by using the SUBJECT HEADINGS to search in the UO Local Catalog:
- The following subject headings [and common corresponding call numbers] are a useful way to search the UO Local Catalog.
- Bassoon music - Bibliography [ML128.B26] (For lists of bassoon music, pieces, publishers, etc.)Bassoon - Construction [ML951] (How bassoons are constructed)
- Bassoon - Maintenance and Repair [ML 951] (For that all-important topic, including reed-making!)
- Bassoon - History (an obvious heading)
- Bassoon - Instruction and Study [MT 400-402] (For resources to teach or learn bassoon)
- Bassoon - Methods [MT402] (Resources to teach you how to play the bassoon)
- Bassoon - Orchestral Excerpts [MT 406] (For those all-important solos from the Rite of Spring, etc.)
- Bassoonists (for books about the players)
Note: See also CONTRABASSOON
Indexes to Articles about Bassoons, Bassoon Music & Bassoonists
The MUSIC INDEX
(1949 - 2001 in paper)
Available on the UO library's web from 1979 to the present at
Articles, Databases & Indexes by letter M.
Searchable by Index Word; keyword (anything in any part of the citation); author, title, journal.
Need help using this resource? See the Guide to Using the Music Index at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/researchguides/musindguide.html
RILM 1967 - 2001 in paper, on the Music Reference Index table.
RILM is available on the UO library's web from 1967 to the present at Articles, Databases & Indexes by letter R.
It is searchable by Index Word; keyword (anything in any part of the citation); author, title, journal.
A multilingual, multi-disciplinary index to music articles. Many of these citations include abstracts, and the web version connects you to the online version of the journal articles.
Music Article Guide [MUS. REF. ML118 .M842]
This source indexes the local music organizations' publications, as well as regional sources.
One other index good for finding articles on music topics:
Academic Search Premier
A full-text database on many topics that allows you to connect to the journal article itself.
Available on the web version of the Library's catalog at Articles, Databases & Indexes by letter A.
- (Note: The latest paper editions of these are located on the Music Reference Index table).
Periodicals Especially Useful for the bassoonist:
Double reed.
"Official journal of the International Double Reed Society."
v. 1(1978)- present
[MUSIC ML 1 .D588]
(Preceded by To the world's oboists.)
(v. 1-5, no. 3; winter 1972/73-Dec. 1977.)
[MUSIC ML1.T365 v.1-5 1972/73-77]
The Instrumentalist.
v.1(1946)-present
[MUSIC ML 5 .I55]
Woodwind/brass & percussion.
Official publication of: the Association of Concert Bands of America (ACBA)
[MUSIC ML1.W6 v.14-25 (1975-1985]
Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society.
v. 8(1982)-present
[MUSIC ML 1 .A527]
Special Resources
Jansen, Will.
The bassoon: its history, construction, makers, players and music.
Buren, The Netherlands: Frits Knuf, 1978.
[MUSIC REF. ML950 .J36 1978]
Everything you could ever want to know about bassoons, bassoon reeds, bassoon makers, literature for the bassoon, etc.
Langwill, Lyndesay Graham.
The bassoon and contrabassoon.
London, E. Benn; New York, W. W. Norton [1965]
[MUSIC ML950 .L29]
Popkin, Mark.
Bassoon reed making including bassoon repair, maintenance, and adjustment, and an approach to bassoon playing.
Evanston, Ill., Instrumentalist Co. [1969]
[MUSIC ML951 .P66 ]
Finding the Music:
I. Use the following resources for lists of published bassoon and contrabassoon music:
Beebe, Jon P., 1958-
Music for unaccompanied solo bassoon: an annotated bibliography.
Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c1990.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.B26 B43 1990]
Fletcher, Kristine Klopfenstein.
The Paris Conservatoire and the contest solos for bassoon.
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1988.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.B26F6 1988]
Koenigsbeck, Bodo.
Bassoon bibliography = Bibliographie du basson = Fagott Bibliographie.
Monteux, France: Musica Rara, c1994.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.B26 K7 1994]
Wilkins, Wayne.
The index of bassoon music including the index of baroque trio sonatas.
Magnolia, Ark.: Music Register, c1976.
[MUSIC REF. ML128.B25 W5 + 1977/78 supplements]
II. Use the following subject headings in the UO Local Catalog to find listings of music we own:
Bassoon Music (for the actual scores & recordings)
Bassoon - Methods
Bassoon - Orchestra studies
Bassoon - Studies and exercises
To find music for multiple bassoons, use:
2 Bassoons = Bassoon Music Bassoons (2)
3 Bassoons = Woodwind Trios (Bassoons (3))
4 Bassoons = Woodwind Quartets (Bassoons (4))
and so forth.
To find music for bassoon and another instrument, use:
Bassoon and ______ music (fill in the name of the instrument)
Quartets (Bassoon,_____, _____, _____) (fill in the other instruments' names)
III. Search the UO Local Catalog by the composer's last name under AUTHOR.
You can limit this search by Material Type = Music, Printed and by Keyword = bassoon
IV. Browse the following Call Numbers on the music shelves:
M 77 - Music for solo bassoon
M 254 - Music for bassoon and piano
MT 400-402 = Methods books for bassoon/contrabassoon
MT 405 = Bassoon Etudes
MT 406 = Orchestra excerpts for bassoon/contrabassoon
[See also: Compact Disc CX3904, which is David McGill's recording of orchestral excerpts]
Find recordings of bassoon music in our library using the UO Local Catalog:
The Douglass Room holdings and how to search them:
To search for CDs only:
- Search the performer's name as an Author (e.g. Munday, Kenneth or Cordle, Andrew E. )
- Search the composer's name as an Author (e.g. Vivaldi, Antonio)
- Search the subject headings (listed above)
To all of these, you can limit the list to just recordings (or scores) by selecting MUSIC, RECORD or MUSIC,PRINTED from the Material Type menu.
- Start with the Call# tab on the UO Local Catalog.
- Scroll down to the Non-LC Call #:
You will receive a list of the 16000+ compact discs we own- you can then limit by author (composer) or title or subject heading.
The Audio Resources Online:
- he University of Oregon subscribes to a number of online audio databases, including the Classical Music Library, which can be searched by instrument or performer, as well as by composer and title.
To get to these resources, go to the Library's web site and click on Videos & Music, then scroll down the page to Audio Resources Online. There you will find the connections to our resources.
Web Sites of Interest to Bassoonists:
The British Double Reed Society at http://www.bdrs.org.uk
International Double Reed Society at http://idrs.colorado.edu/
(Their journal index is available at http://idrs.colorado.edu/Publications/Journal/Journal.Index)
Musicians and Injuries at http://eeshop.unl.edu/music.html
McFarland Double Reed Shop at http://www.mcfarlanddoublereed.com/
See also: Collection Development Resources at http://library.uoregon.edu/music/coldev.html for more lists of publishers and dealers.
Other Library Resources:
CHECKLIST FOR DOING MUSIC RESEARCH
