WGS Guide on Feminist Theory
Women's and Gender Studies
These reference sources can help you identify a topic for your research, provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.
- Women's Studies Encyclopedia
- Dictionary of Feminist Theory; HQ1115.H86 1995 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of Feminism; HQ1115.T87 1986 Knight Reference
- Feminist Theory: A Bibliography; HQ1190.N67 1992 Knight Reference
- Historical Dictionary of Feminism; HQ1115.B65 1996 Knight Reference
- Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women; HQ1115.R69 2000 Knight Reference
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
- Gender Studies Database
Gender Studies Database provides coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, and sexual diversity. (Formerly Women's Studies International)
- Contemporary Women's Issues
CWI provides the complete text of journal articles, newsletters and reports on current women's issues in the U.S. and internationally.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point for research about women. Academic Search Premier indexes a large number of women's studies journals.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Indexes in other disciplines may also be useful for your topic.
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- Summit Union Catalog
The Summit Union Catalog contains records for the collections of academic libraries in the Pacific Northwest. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Summit borrowing works only for books. If you want to request a journal article, use the FindText button in the article record.