WGS Guide History of Women Microfilm Collection

History of Women Collection (microfilm)

image of nineteenth century </p>
<p>woman

The History of Women Collection is a comprehensive collection of literature by and about American and European from the 1700s through 1920. The microfilm collection consists of books, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts and photographs. Included in the collection are resources on such topics as birth control, education, the professions, women's rights, women's organizations, social reform, and the role of women in the settling of the American West.

The History of Women collection is based primarily on works found in the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, located at Radcliffe College, and the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College.

The collection contains

  • 8500 books published before 1920
  • 2000 pamphlets
  • 117 periodical titles
  • 80,000 manuscript pages
  • 800 photographs

Finding Items in History of Women

The UO Libraries Catalog contains individual records for each of the items in the History of Women Collection, with the exception of the photographs. The UO Libraries Catalog can be searched to locate a specific work by author or title of the work . Or the catalog can be searched to locate items on a specific subject.

A typical record from the History of Women Collection found with a title search: catalog record showing book from History of Women</p>
<p>Collection

To locate this item in the library, note that the location is the Knight Library. The call number box idicates that it will be on microfilm, under the call number HQ1111.H5. Woman's Friendship will be found in Series 1, Reel No. 238, and is item 1579.

Locate Items by Subject

The best strategy to locate materials by subject in the History of Women Collection is to perform a keyword search, using an important word or two which describes your topic. You will need include History of Women as part of your search strategy. This is done by entering your search word, followed by the word AND , then History of Women. This is illustrated in the screenshot below. example of how to do a keyword search

When a useful title is located, use the title link to display the full record. keyword title list