Open Access Sociology Anthropology Resources
Open Access Resources in Sociology & Anthropology
Contact Librarian: Miriam Rigby, rigby@uoregon.edu; 346-7202
This list is a work-in-progress and suggestions for additions are welcomed. The main focus is on resources for Anthropology and Sociology, though resources from related fields are included to reflect the increasing interdisciplinarity in academia. This list is primarily designed to direct the user to lists of resources (when they exist), rather than recreating those lists in full, though some individual resources are featured as well.
Institutional Repositories & OA Presses
This is a selected list, representing only a small slice of what exists. IRs are working hard to be well indexed for discoverability on the web, so a comprehensive list should be unnecessary.
- Amsterdam University Press publishes most of their books and journals with an Open Access option (in addition to the print versions which are for sale.)
- Anthropologi.info provides a strong list of many repositories and collections of working papers, internationally. The intent is to feature repositories with anthropological content, but most cover a much broader range of the social sciences.
- California Digital Library
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
- Mana'o is an Anthropology repository run out of the anthropology department at the University of Hawai'i at Mano'a.
- MIT Open Access Articles
- National Academies Press offers almost all of their books as free pdfs.
- OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is an aggregator of peer reviewed OA publications in the sciences and social sciences.
- The Open Access Directory, hosted by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at Simmons, offers a fantastic lists of Publishers of OA Books and Repositories by Discipline
- Open DOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories) provides international coverage, organized by continent.
- Scholar's Bank at the University of Oregon.
- Sociology Working Papers from the Sociology Department at the University of Oxford
Data Sources
- DataCite offers a database of data repositories for the sciences and social sciences
- Data-PASS (Data Preservation Alliance for the Social Sciences) at ICPSR
- The Minnesota Population Center
- Open Access Directory's Data Repositories List
- the Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) Datasets, grey papers, published articles, and more. Some is freely accessible/downloadable, some is just indexed.
Academic Journals
- Anthropologi.info's List of Open Access Anthropology Journals
- BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) from the Bielefeld University Library is an index of over 1800 international repositories of academic OA resources.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- Online Open Access Journals & Scholarly Paper Collections compiled by Antioch University's Susan Hawes, PhD leans towards Psychology collections, but includes resources from across the social sciences
- Open Access Journals Search Engine for Sociology
- The Virtual Library of Human Sciences
Notable OA Sociology Journals
- Sociation Today is the first OA journal from a regional sociology association (The North Carolina Sociological Association)
- Yale Journal of Sociology
University Courses
- MIT Open Courseware
- Open Culture is compiling lists of many OA resources, including this list of free courses in the social sciences from the world's top universities.
Blogs
- The Society Pages is a website maintained by the University of Minnesota’s Department of Sociology. It provides the online hosting for the well-known Contexts magazine(not OA), but is more notable here, for the many prominent sociology blogs it hosts; one of the best known ones being Sociological Images.
- Anthropologi.info has compiled a large list of links of high-quality anthropology-focused blogs.
- Family Inequality is a notable sociology blog, and offers a robust list of links to other sociology blogs in its Blogroll.
- Savage Minds is one of the main outlets for OA discussions in anthropology.
Academic Social Networking
A brief selection of some sites that offer free self-archiving & file-sharing services combined with social-networking.
- Academia.edu allows users to upload and link to their publications. It is up to the user to comply with any copyright issues for each item they share. Anything that is uploaded is highly-visible in Google searches.
- Open Anthropology Cooperative has been growing for two years and has over 5000 members from around the world.
