Studying Science
Studying Science
TLC 199
University of Oregon
Winter 2012
Guides Home | Tutorials | Citing Sources | Bibliographies | Plagiarism
We are drowning in information, while starving for wisdom. The world henceforth will be run by synthesizers, people able to put together the right information at the right time, think critically about it, and make important choices wisely.
- Wilson, E. O. (1998). Consilience: The Unity of Knowledge. Knopf.
This page should help you with your library research. Feel free to contact me with questions.
Chat with Annie or Margaret!

Librarian for: Human Physiology, Computer & Information Science, and Mathematics
Find my: Website, blog,
Scholar's Bank communities

Head, Science and Math Libraries
Librarian for: Physics
Find my: Scholar's Bank communities
Start a simple search with Academic Search , PubMed and Web of Science:
The box above is searching these databases (you can search them individually too):
Academic Search Premier
Broad general database. As with SportDISCUS, you'll need to check the scholarly articles box to get the peer-reviewed articles.
Web of Science
The Web of Science includes articles from many aspect of the sciences. Highly recommended. Almost everything here is peer reviewed.
PubMed
THE database for medical sciences. Published by the National Library of Medicine, free to anyone, but use the link here to get the UO holdings information via the FINDTEXT button. Almost all of these are peer reviewed, but they can be pretty technical.
You should also try:
Google Scholar
Google for academics. You can have it include a link to FINDTEXT in the preferences page.
SportDiscus
A terrific place to get sport and exercise resources. Almost all of the dissertations and thesis are available through OregonPDF eclectronically. Feel free to email me with questions.
Some short guides for how to use the resources below to do your literature review:
1. Start with Academic Search Premier - it looks just like SportDiscus (which is a good database for human physiology and medical articles). Here's a (boring) screencast of how I did a search with this database.2. If you're looking for medical information search PubMed for articles, especially REVIEW articles. Play this informative (if still boring) screencast for details. If you'd rather have words try these links.
3. If you still need articles after those 2 searches, head over to Web of Science and start mining the bibliographies for more good articles. Another screencast here.
4. a. Information on using zotero is shown in the videos is below. EndNote web and Mendeley are other free resources that do the same thing.
b. You can also use the search box just under here to do your search. It will give you different results.
c. If you still have too many articles or too few, come see a librarian to talk about how to adjust your search.
Managing your sources
Please use one of the following to keep track of the articles and work you find:CSE: http://library.osu.edu/help/research-strategies/cite-references/cse/cse-style-guide-articles/
zotero - open source and free, but you need to install it on the computer. How to use it at the UO.
mendeley - also open source and free, you use it via a web browser, although there's an installable part.
EndNote Web - free to students/faculty/staff at the UO. A bit clunky. How to use it at the UO.
Websites (for Wednesday):
Male pregnancyNutrition information
Panexa
Food Trust
Dihydrogen Monoxide
evaluate a web page in 5 minutes or apply the CRAAP test
Tutorials
How to search using AND, OR and NOT
Search smarter, search faster
Boolean Searching


