FIG - Sustainable Chemistry

FIG: Sustainable Chemistry

Research questions?
541-346-2654 or email
Brian Westra
Brian Westra
Lorry Lokey Science
Data Services Librarian

On this page:

What are "Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed" articles?

The Scholarly vs. Popular page provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journal articles.

Here are a couple of pdfs that provide good explanations of what is (and is not) peer review, and why it's particularly important in the sciences:

Exercise - compare these two articles:

  • Raloff J. 2010. Receipts a large and little-known source of BPA. Science News 178:5-6. UO Link
     
  • Fleisch A, Sheffield P, Chinn C, Edelstein B, Landrigan P. 2009. Bisphenol A and Related Compounds in Dental Materials. PEDIATRICS Vol. 126 No. 4 October 2010, pp. 760-768 UO LInk

How do I find articles?

Here are a couple of options for searching for articles, using UO Libraries resources.

Use the databases in your subject area:

For detailed and specific searches, it's usually better to open and search individual databases.

Some starting points:

 

ToxNet
Find synonyms, structures, regulatory information, and links to other databases for chemical compounds.

  BuildingGreen Suite
The BuildingGreen Suite is an online resource for environmentally sensitive design and construction. This site provides access to GreenSpec, a resource for green product listings; current and past issues of Environmental Building News; and over 150 project case studies featuring green design.
  Household Products Database - US Dept of Health & Human Services
This database links over 11,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
  Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
  PubMed
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is the premier database for bibliographic and abstract coverage of international biomedical literature.
  Academic Search Premier
This can be a good starting point for general research, since it covers over 8000 titles and includes general sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
  Academic OneFile
Broad coverage of sciences, social sciences, and humanities, and includes a number of toxicology journals..

Use search terms and synoyms

Life cycle assessment; impact assessment; life cycle phases (materials, packaging, transport, disposal) - see EPA presentation and EPA LCA web site

Search using compound(s) and synonyms (trade names, chemical formula)

Getting the article file:
If the article citation doesn't include a link to full text, click on the FindText link to see if the article is available online or in print via the UO Libraries.

If the article file is not available, you can request it from another library via ILLiad.

How do I search for books?

Use the UO Libraries catalog (also called "UO Worldcat")

Choose keywords and use synonyms to expand your search.

The catalog searches for information from the UO Libraries, plus books shared by our consortia of 36 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest, and thousands of other libraries in the world.

The results pages display the matches for

  • UO items first, then
  • those in our consortia, and then
  • anywhere else.

Check the "books" box on the search results page (on left side of page) if you only want to see books.

You can have books held for you, to pick them up at the Science Library.

How long can you check out books?

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

See the guide to Annotated Bibliographies provided by the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

An annotated bibliography consists of

  1. Title and assignment information at the top of the page
  2. Citations for each of the sources you are referencing (articles or books)
  3. Annotations for each of the sources

Other Science Library resources

Course reserves: books and other materials set aside by your instructor for checkout for a limited amount of time.

Classrooms and study spaces: you can reserve rooms for your group.

Other equipment you can check out: video games and game consoles, laptops, phone chargers, a portable projector, scientific and graphing calculators, headphones, etc.

Maintained by: Brian Westra, bwestra@uoregon.edu

 

File Upload: 
Created by bwestra on Jun 18, 2012 Last updated Nov 21, 2013