FIG - Honors Science - The Human Genome

Related Links: Research Guides | Research Databases | Science Library

FIG: Honors Science - The Human Genome

Research questions?
541-346-2654 or email
Brian Westra
Brian Westra
Lorry Lokey Science
Data Services Librarian

On this page:

Objectives for today

- Be able to differentiate between scholarly and popular articles.
- Be able to use UO Library resources to find books and articles on your topic.
- Create at least one citation for an annotated bibliography.
- Know where to get help if you get stuck.

What are "Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed" articles?

The Scholarly vs. Popular page provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journal articles.

Exercise: compare article 1 with article 2

 

How do I find articles?

Here are a couple of options for searching for articles, using UO Libraries resources.

Use the databases in your subject area:

For detailed and specific searches, it's usually better to open and search individual databases on those pages.

Getting the article file:
If the article citation doesn't include a link to full text, click on the FindText link to see if the article is available online or in print via the UO Libraries.

If the article file is not available, you can request it from another library via ILLiad.

How do I search for books?

Use the UO Libraries catalog (also called "UO Worldcat")

The catalog searches for information from the UO Libraries, plus books shared by our consortia of 36 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest, and thousands of other libraries in the the world.

The results pages display the matches:

  • UO items first, then
  • those in our partner libraries (Summit: partners in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho), and then
  • anywhere else

The catalog includes some articles, so check the books box on the search results page if you only want to see books.

You can have books held for you, to pick them up at the Science Library.

How long can you check out a book?

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

See the guide to Annotated Bibliographies provided by the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

An annotated bibliography consists of

  1. Title and assignment information at the top of the page
  2. Citations for each of the sources you are referencing (articles or books)
    • Use Chicago Manual of style for your citations
  3. Annotations for each of the sources
    • summaries or evaluations of each source

1. Chicago citation style
The way a citation for a book or article is organized is called a "style." There are many different citation styles to choose from; the key is to be consistent, using that style for all your citations and footnotes or endnotes in the paper you're writing.

2. Annotations

  • in your own words
  • usually a paragraph or two for each

See the annotated bibliography example

Other Science Library resources

Course reserves: books and other materials set aside by your instructor for checkout for a limited amount of time.

Classrooms and study spaces: you can reserve a room for your group.

Other equipment: video games and game consoles, laptops, phone chargers, a portable projector, scientific and graphing calculators, headphones, etc.

Maintained by: Brian Westra, bwestra@uoregon.edu

 

Created by bwestra on Jun 18, 2012 Last updated Oct 22, 2013