FIG - Electronic Nose

Related Links: Research Guides | Research Databases | Science Library

FIG: Electronic Nose

Research questions?
541-346-2654 or email
Brian Westra
Brian Westra
Lorry Lokey Science
Data Services Librarian

On this page:

What are "Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed" articles?

The Scholarly vs. Popular page provides you with clues about how to distinguish the difference between scholarly and popular journal articles.

Exercise: compare article 1 with article 2

Is one or both of these scholarly (or "academic" or peer-reviewed), or popular?

How do I find articles?

Here are a couple of options for searching for articles, using UO Libraries resources.

Use the databases in your subject area:

For detailed and specific searches, it's usually better to open and search individual databases on those pages.

Getting the article file:
If the article citation doesn't include a link to full text, click on the FindText link to see if the article is available online or in print via the UO Libraries.

If the article file is not available, you can request it from another library via ILLiad.

How do I search for books?

Use LibrarySearch to search the UO Libraries Catalog and materials from other libraries.

The catalog searches for information from the UO Libraries, plus books shared by our consortia of 36 universities and colleges in the Pacific Northwest, and thousands of other libraries in the the world.

The catalog includes articles, so check the books box on the search results page (on left side of page) if you only want to see books.

Some useful ebooks:

Chemistry: Foundations & Applications also in print SCI REF QD4 .C48 2004

  • Short articles; good for basic information on common compounds, methods, phenomena, analytical techniques.

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry  also in print: SCI REF QD415 .A25 E53 2004

  • A good source of information on the biochemistry of olfaction, ofactory receptors, etc.

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

  • Could be useful for smelling disorders, etc.

Oxford Reference Premium

  • Contains many dictionaries, scientific and otherwise.

How long can you check out books?

Creating an Annotated Bibliography

See the guide to Annotated Bibliographies provided by the Purdue Online Writing Lab.

An annotated bibliography consists of

  1. Title and assignment information at the top of the page
  2. Citations for each of the sources you are referencing (articles or books)
    • The way a citation for a book or article is organized is called a "style." There are many different citation styles to choose from; the key is to be consistent, using that style for all your citations and footnotes or endnotes in the paper you're writing.
    • See the abbreviated Chicago style guide, or for more details, take a look at the full 16th edition online.
    • **If you have a lot of citations to manage, software (some free, some for purchase) can really help. These include Mendeley, Zotero, and Endnote Web.
  3. Annotations for each of the sources

 

Other Science Library resources

Course reserves: books and other materials set aside by your instructor for checkout for a limited amount of time.

Classrooms and study spaces: you can reserve rooms for your group.

Other equipment you can check out: video games and game consoles, laptops, phone chargers, a portable projector, scientific and graphing calculators, headphones, etc.

Maintained by: Brian Westra, bwestra@uoregon.edu

 

Created by bwestra on Oct 28, 2013 Last updated Oct 28, 2014