The following is a selected list of library resources for researching Islam. For further assistance, contact Paul Frantz, Religious Studies Librarian, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Places to Start
Of the many books on Islam, the following offer good starting points:
- The Quran: A new translation, translated by Muhammad A.S. Abdel Haleem (Knight BP 109 2004)
- Cambridge companion to the Quran (Knight BP 130.C26 2006)
- Blackwell companion to the Quran (Knight BP 130.4 .B57 2006)
- The life of Muhammad: a translation of Ishaq's Sirat rasul Allah (Knight BP 75 .I25 1955)
- Muhammad: his life based on the earliest sources, by Martin Lings (Knight BP 75 .L56 1983)
- Muhammad: a biography of the prophet, by Karen Armstrong (Knight BP 75 .A76 1993)
- Muhammad and the origins of Islam, by F.E. Peters (Knight BP 75 .P4 1994)
- A history of the Arab peoples, by Albert Hourani (Knight DS 37.7 .H67 1991)
- Oxford history of Islam, edited by John L. Esposito (Knight BP 50 .O95 1999)
- The new Cambridge history of Islam; general editor, Michael Cook (Knight DS 35.6 C3 2010, 6 volumes)
To read further in the field, consult UO WorldCat, which offers search results that combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries appear at the top of the list and include information about location and availability.
- Encyclopedia of Islam, 2nd edition. A print version of the 2nd edition is also in Knight Reference DS 37 .E523. The new 3rd edition is being published in installments.
- Encyclopaedia Iranica
- Encyclopaedia of the Quran (Knight Reference BP 133. E53 2001)
- Encyclopedia of canonical hadith (Knight Reference BP 135.2 .J89 2007)
- Oxford encylopedia of the modern Islamic world, edited by John L. Esposito (Knight Reference DS 35.93 .O95 1995)
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, edited by Richard C. Martin (Knight Reference BP 40 .E525 2004)
- Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East and North Africa (Knight Reference DS 43 .E53 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Islam in the United States (Knight Reference BP 67 .U6 E53 2007)
- Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures, edited by Suad Joseph (Knight Reference HQ 1170 .E53 2003- )
- Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. (1st ed. in Knight Reference at BL 31 .E46 1986)
To look for articles in academic journals or magazines, start with a periodical index. An index will allow you to find articles by subject, by a few keywords which describe your topic, or by author.
- Index Islamicus is a comprehensive index to articles on Islam in academic journals.
- ATLA Religion database indexes approximately 600 religious studies periodicals and multi-author books, with coverage back to 1949. The database includes prominent journals in Islamic studies.
- JSTOR provides full text retrospective coverage of core academic journals.
- Academic Search Premier provides indexing and abstracting of about 8000 core journals in a variety of disciplines, including religious studies, and the fulltext for over 4600 journals.
You might also want to browse the following periodicals in Islamic studies. Online editions can be accessed through the Journal Titles search tab; where available only in print, a call number is given :
- Journal of Islamic studies (online)
- Der Islam (online)
- Die Welt des Islams (online)
- The American Journal of Islamic Social Sciences (Knight BP 1 .A56)
- Studia Islamica (Knight BP 1 .S8)
Of the many hundreds of web sites devoted to Islam, the following are among the best: