PS 346: Terrorism & Weapons of Mass Destruction Proliferation

PS346: Terrorism & Weapons of Mass Destruction Proliferation

Articles | Books | Government & NGO Publications Reference Sources | Data Sources |

 

This page should help you with your research paper for this course. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!

Victoria Mitchell - Librarian for: Political Science, Government Information, and Social Science Data

ph: (541)346-3076 vmitch@uoregon.edu

Annie

Finding Articles

Do a quick article search here:

 

 

The above search box is searching the following databases which you can search individually:

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access

Worldwide Political Science Abstractsoff-campus access limited to UO The best database for retrieving articles almost entirely from scholarly journals in political science and related fields such as international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Military & Government Collectionoff-campus access limited to UO This database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content--particularly government sources-- pertinent to defense and military issues.

PAISoff-campus access limited to UO Covers public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, and more, from 1914 to present.

See also:

CIAO off-campus access limited to UO(Columbia Internaitonal Affairs Online) a wide range of scholarship from 1991 forward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Most publications listed on the CIAO site provide the fulltext of the publications

Digital National Security Archiveoff-campus access limited to UO A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 61,000 of the most important, declassified documents, totaling more than 475,000 pages, are included in the database.

Homeland Security Digital Library From the Naval Postgraduate School, this provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.

Return to top

 

Finding Books

Books, as well as reference works, can be very useful for providing background and context. A few tips for finding books in UO WorldCat:

  • Use more general terms, as opposed to the more specific terms used for searching for articles. E.g., if you want books about diplomacy and nuclear nonproliferation in North Korea, you may want to just search on nuclear and North Korea.
     
  • UO WorldCat searches for articles, and many other formats besides books. To limit to books, click on 'book' under format on the left side.
     
  • You may get more or better results if you do a Subject Heading search for a broad term. To do a search by Subject, go to Advanced Search and pull down the menu to Subject. You also can click on the subject heading links in the full record display for a book that you like, to get more like it. For instance, in the above search I found the subject headings "Nuclear Arms Control - Korea, North" and "Nuclear nonproliferation - East Asia' -- which found me more potentially relevant books. Here is a small selection of potentially useful subject headings:
    • [name of country] - Foreign relations
    • [name of country] - Military policy
    • Ballistic missile defenses
    • Chemical arms control
    • National security - Former Soviet republics
    • Nuclear arms control
    • Nuclear disarmament
    • Nuclear nonproliferation
    • Nuclear weapons
    • Security, International - [region-- e.g., Europe, South Asia, etc.]
    • United States - Foreign relations - [name of country]
    • Weapons of mass destruction

Government and NGO Sources

United States

Defense Intelligence Agency

Defense Technical Information Center

National Defense University - Strategic Forum

Proquest Congressional off-campus access limited to UO  A commercial database that gives you access to all Congressional committee hearings, reports, etc., AND to the very useful Congressional Research Service Reports.

Office of Homeland Security

State Dept - Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security

Non-governmental Organizations

Center for Strategic and International Studies

Council on Foreign Relations

Federation of American Scientists - Strategic Security Program

International Institute for Strategic Studies Some information is not available without a subscription. UO has a subscription to Military Balance (see below.)

NATO See particularly their LibGuides on Arms Control, Disarmament, and Nonproliferation  and Missile Defence.

Rand Corp. National Security Research Division.  A source of research reports on national and international security issues.

Return to top

 

Reference Works

The following reference sources can provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, background information and context for your topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Many include bibliographies of books and articles for further reading.

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access

CIA World Factbook Basic factual information on countries for background information.

Encyclopedia of American foreign policy: studies of the principal movements and ideas. off-campus access limited to UO Also in Knight Ref. E183.7 .E52 2002

Europa World Plusoff-campus access limited to UO Gives more in-depth background information than CIA World Factbook

The Military balance off-campus access limited to UO 
Annual assessment of the military capabilities and defence economics of 170 countries world-wide, produced annually by the IISS since 1959.  "An essential resource for those involved in security policymaking, analysis and research."

Presidential directives on national security from Truman to Clinton. Guide and index. Knight Ref. E840 .P74 1994 Also available via the Digital National Security Archive.off-campus access limited to UO

SIPRI Yearbook 2012: Armaments, Disarmament and International Security. Knight Ref. UA10 .S69a 2012 (earlier editions in Knight stacks)
Includes sections on World nuclear forces, Nuclear arms control and non-proliferation, and Reducing security threats from chemical and biological materials.

World terrorism: an encyclopedia of political violence from ancient times to the post-9/11 era. Knight Ref. HV6431 .W67 2011
Includes articles on weapons of mass destruction, nuclear, chemical, biological weapons, etc.

 

Data and statistics sources

Arms Control Association Fact Sheets Quick information on nuclear stockpiles and ballistic missile inventories.

Correlates of War Datasets that may be of interest include Militarized Interstate Disputes and National Material Capabilities

FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends) database from SIPRI "Provides a federated system of databases on topics related to international relations and security, accessible through a single integrated user interface".

Global Terrorism Database An open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2011, could be useful for determining risk factors.

INSCR (Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research) More risk data -armed conflict, state fragility.

The Military Balance off-campus access limited to UO includes statistics on weapons systems, etc., by country and region.

SIPRI Arms Embargoes Database

SIPRI Military Expenditures Database

 

Return to top