PS 340

PS340 International Political Economy

Research Guides Home | Articles | Books | Government & IGO Sources Reference Sources | Citing Sources | Evaluating Sources

Annie
Victoria Mitchell - Librarian for: Political Science, Government Information, and Social Science Data

ph: (541) 346-3076 vmitch@uoregon.edu

 

Do a quick article search here:

 
The above search box is searching the following specific databases, that you might want to try individually:

Academic Search Premier
  • Good for its mix of popular, news, and scholarly articles. You have to exercise your critical evaluation skills to determine if an article is truly scholarly or not. (Do NOT rely solely on their limit to peer-reviewed feature--it is not reliable. Checking a journal on Ulrich's through FindText is better, although you still have to use your own judgment.)
EconLit
  • The world's foremost source of references to economic literature, it includes citations and abstracts to books, journal articles, and working papers, with many articles available as full-text pdfs.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • The best database for retrieving articles  from scholarly journals (and other sources) only in political science and related fields such as international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Again, do not completely rely on their limit to "scholarly journals" feature.

See also:
Google Scholar
  • Google for academics.
LexisNexis Academic
  • A rich source of news articles, and U.S. and international legal information, all full text. You will find some articles, etc. through "Easy Search", but better results can be obtained through Power Search--requiring more sophisticated search techniques, with which Victoria can help you.


This worksheet will help you develop keyword searches that get results.

 

Find a book

in LibrarySearch (UO Libraries and beyond)

A few book search tips:
  • Use more general terms, as opposed to the more specific terms used for searching for articles. E.g., if you want books about regional trade agreements in Latin America, you may want to look for books just on regional trade agreements and books on Latin America and economic development. It's a good bet that each will include something about the other.
  • LibrarySearch finds articles, and many other formats besides books. To limit to books, click on 'book' under 'Resource Type' on the left side. NOTE: you may have to click on "More options" to see books.
  • You may get more or better results if you do a Subject Heading search for a broad term. To do a search by Subject, go to Browse search and pull down the menu to Subject. You also can click on the subject heading links in the "details" display for a book that you like, to get more like it. For instance, in the above search I discovered the subject heading for regional trade agreements is "Trade blocs" -- which found me more relevant books.

Find government, IGO, or NGO information

  • The UO is a Federal Depository Library, which means if you cannot find an electronic copy of a federal document you want, we may have it on the shelf in the Document Center section of Knight Library. Our Federal collection goes way back and includes many historical documents. We also have UN, EU, and Canadian documents. Ask Victoria if you need help!

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access)

European Union website

FDsys "America's Authentic Government Information"
A portal to government information that is available online, including some older information that has been digitized. At this time, congressional and statutory information predominates.

(More) IGOs (Intergovernmental Organizations) can be found on the Country Profiles Research Guide

IMF (International Monetary Fund) web site

OECD i-Library off-campus access limited to UO
OECD iLibrary provides access to databases, periodicals, books and papers of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.

ProQuest Congressional off-campus access limited to UO (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
This is probably your best place to search for Congressional documents, and Congress, of course, is greatly concerned with trade agreements and treaties. It includes the Congressional Record, hearings, reports, and more, all available as full text PDFs.  See also the Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, which provide very helpful analysis of policy issues.

Treaties and International Agreements Online off-campus access limited to UO
A comprehensive, full-text database of treaties and international agreements to which the United States is a party.

UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
The site has online reports and statistics.

United Nations Treaty Collection 
Full text of the United Nations Treaty Series (1946-present), as well as the texts of multilateral treaties recently deposited with the Secretary-General of the UN and information on the current status of over 500 major multilateral treaties. Note: To use this site, you must turn off popup blockers or allow popups from this site.

UO Library Online Catalog - see these search tips for finding government information in the online catalog.

USA.gov
A federated search engine of government agencies.

  • And if you really want to be comprehensive, try: MetaLib which searches CGP, FDsys, USA.gov, and more, all at once.
World Bank Group The World Bank's main web site

World dataBank
Two combined databases from the World Bank: World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance providing financial data as well as development data for countries.

WTO.org World Trade Organization web site

Reference Sources & Guides

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access)

Encyclopedia of Political Economy (2 volumes) DOCS REF HB 61 .E554 2001
A comprehensive, fully refereed compendium of the main concepts, problems, institutions, schools, and policies associated with political economy. Good for getting theoretical economics background to the questions you're investigating.

Europa WorldPlus off-campus access limited to UO
Europa WorldPlus provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories; also information on international/regional organizations such as APEC (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation), Southern Common Market (Mercosur, Mercosul), etc.

Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World off-campus access limited to UO ; also in KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001
A comprehensive guide to international relations and domestic politics throughout the world, with articles on major concepts and themes in modern politics. Most articles run one page or less, but approximately 30 longer feature articles ("Critical Issues" and "Interpretive Essays") cover selected topics in more depth.

Oxford Reference Online - Economics & Business off-campus access limited to UO
A collection of dictionaries of economic and financial terms, plus the Oxford Companion to Economic History.

Political Science Research Guide

Worldmark Encylopedia of the Nations, 11th ed., 2004
In addition to country profiles that include detailed financial and trade information, the whole first volume is devoted to the United Nations System, and UN related agencies such as the IMF, WTO, and World Bank Group.
 

 

 

Created by vmitch on Jun 18, 2012 Last updated Jun 25, 2014