PS321 Introduction to Political Economy

PS321 Introduction to Political Economy

Articles | Books | Government & IGO Sources Reference Sources | Statistics/Data | Evaluating Sources

This page should help you with your research paper for this course. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!

Victoria Mitchell - Librarian for: Political Science, Government Information, and Social Science Data

ph: (541) 346-3076 vmitch@uoregon.edu

Annie

 

 

Do a quick article search here:

 

The above search box is searching the following specific databases, that you might want to try individually:

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access)

Academic Search Premier off-campus access limited to UO

  • Good for its mix of popular, news, and scholarly articles. You have to exercise your critical evaluation skills to determine if an article is truly scholarly or not. (Do NOT rely solely on their limit to peer-reviewed feature--it is not reliable. Checking a journal on Ulrich's through FindText is better, although you still have to use your own judgment.)

EconLit off-campus access limited to UO

  • The world's foremost source of references to economic literature, it includes citations and abstracts to books, journal articles, and working papers, with many articles available as full-text pdfs.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts off-campus access limited to UO

  • The best database for retrieving articles  from scholarly journals (and other sources) only in political science and related fields such as international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Again, do not completely rely on their limit to "scholarly journals" feature.

See also:
Google Scholar

  • Google for academics. Click the downward facing arrow for Advanced Search.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International off-campus access limited to UO

  • Covers public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, and more, from 1914 to present. 
    TIP: You can search PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts together. Click on the arrow at the upper left, pull down and select the other database.

This worksheet will help you develop keyword searches that get results

Find a book

in UOWorldCat (UO Libraries and beyond)

A few book search tips:

  • Use more general terms, as opposed to the more specific terms used for searching for articles. E.g., if you want books about income inequality and taxation policies, you may want to look for books on income inequality and policy, or even just on income inequality.
     
  • UO WorldCat searches for articles, and many other formats besides books. To limit to books, click on 'book' under format on the left side.
     
  • You may get more or better results if you do a Subject Heading search for a broad term. To do a search by Subject, go to Advanced Search and pull down the menu to Subject. You also can click on the subject heading links at the right side of the full record display for a book that you like, to get more like it. For instance, in the above search I discovered the subject heading used for "income inequality" is "Income distribution" -- which found me more relevant books.

 

Find government and IGO information

  • The UO is a Federal Depository Library, which means if you cannot find an electronic copy of a federal document you want, we may have it on the shelf in the Document Center section of Knight Library. Our Federal collection goes way back and includes many historical documents. We also have UN, EU, and Canadian documents. Ask Victoria if you need help!

Congressional Budget Office (CBO)
CBO provides "nonpartisan analysis for the US Congress" and issues reports and working papers on economic policy.

FDsys "America's Authentic Government Information"
A portal to government information that is available online, including some older information that has been digitized. At this time, Congressional and statutory information predominates, but it includes the Budget of the U.S. Government and Economic Indicators.

FRASER
Federal Reserve Archive -- documents and publications relating to the Federal Reserve, including historical. For specific datasets, see FRED.

OECD i-Library off-campus access limited to UO
OECD iLibrary provides access to databases, periodicals, books and papers of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.

ProQuest Congressional off-campus access limited to UO (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
This is probably your best place to search for Congressional documents, and Congress, of course, is greatly concerned with economic policy. It includes the Congressional Record, hearings, reports, and more, all available as full text PDFs.  See also the Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, which provide very helpful analysis of policy issues.

UO Library Online Catalog - see these search tips for finding government information in the online catalog.

USA.gov
A federated search engine of government agencies.

 

Reference Sources & Guides

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access)

Cambridge Histories Online off-campus access limited to UO  A scholarly reference that takes a historical perspective on many topics including economics and political thought.
See the Economic Histories, particularly Cambridge Economic History of Europe, volumes 7-8, which actually cover the "Western World" & include the United States and Japan, and Cambridge History of Political Thought, 19th and 20th centuries, which have chapters on political economy, Keynes and his critics, etc.

Economics Research Guide

Encyclopedia of Political Economy (2 volumes) DOCS REF HB 61 .E554 2001
A comprehensive, fully refereed compendium of the main concepts, problems, institutions, schools, and policies associated with political economy. Good for getting theoretical economics background to the questions you're investigating.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics off-campus access limited to UO
A dynamic online reference tool tailored for researchers in economics and other related disciplines. It offers 1,919 articles with cross-referenced links between content and is updated at least four times a year. Contributors of the content include Nobel Prize winners and experts in their field of economic study

Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World off-campus access limited to UO ; also in KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001
A comprehensive guide to international relations and domestic politics throughout the world, with articles on major concepts and themes in modern politics. Most articles run one page or less, but approximately 30 longer feature articles ("Critical Issues" and "Interpretive Essays") cover selected topics in more depth.

Oxford Reference Online - Economics & Business off-campus access limited to UO
A collection of dictionaries of economic and financial terms, plus the Oxford Companion to Economic History.

Political Science Research Guide

Return to top

Statistics and Numerical Data

Statistical Compendiums (Economics & Business)
Quick links to U.S. and international compilations of economic indicators, macroeconomic statistics; also, labor, trade, cost of living data. A good jumping-off point.

Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S.)
Data on employment and unemployment, compensation, productivity, and inflation.

FRED Federal Reserve Economic Data.
41,000 economic time series from 39 sources. Downloadable zip files (Excel, comma or space delimited). Also you can download pdfs of graphs.  For archival economic data, see ALFRED.

GINI Index
(The Gini index measures the extent to which the distribution of income or consumption expenditure among individuals or households within an economy deviates from a perfectly equal distribution.)

NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Data

OECD i-Library Statistics off-campus access limited to UO
Statistics on a wide range of economic indicators for OECD member countries.

World dataBank
World economic and development indicators.

 

Return to top