PS 260

PS260 Public Policy & Democracy

Research Guides Home | Articles | Books | Government Publications Reference Sources | Citing Sources | Evaluating Sources


This page should help you with your research paper for this course. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!


Annie
Victoria Mitchell - Librarian for: Political Science, Government Information, and Social Science Data

ph: (541) 346-3076 vmitch@uoregon.edu

 

Do a quick article search here:

 

The above search box is searching the following specific databases, that you might want to try individually:

Academic Search Premier

  • Good for its mix of popular, news, and scholarly articles. You have to exercise your critical evaluation skills to determine if an article is truly scholarly or not. (Do NOT rely solely on their limit to peer-reviewed feature--it is not reliable. Checking a journal on Ulrich's through FindText is better, although you still have to use your own judgment.)

Web of Science

  • Interdisciplinary database that includes all the social sciences. Its special feature is the ability to find articles that cite an article or author.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • The best database for retrieving articles only from scholarly journals in political science and related fields such as international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

See also:

Google Scholar

  • Google for academics.
LexisNexis Academic
  • A rich source of news articles, all full text. You will find some articles through "Easy Search", but better results can be obtained through All News/Power Search--requiring more sophisticated search techniques, with which Victoria can help you.

This worksheet will help you develop keyword searches that get results

Find a book

in UOWorldCat (UO Libraries and beyond)

A few book search tips:
  • Use more general terms, as opposed to the more specific terms used for searching for articles. E.g., if you want books about the Federal deficit and Social Security reform, you may want to look for books just on the Federal budget deficit and then books just on Social Security reform. It's a good bet that each will include something about the other.
     
  • UO WorldCat searches for articles, and many other formats besides books. To limit to books, click on 'book' under format on the left side.
     
  • You may get more or better results if you do a Subject Heading search for a broad term. To do a search by Subject, go to Advanced Search and pull down the menu to Subject. You also can click on the subject heading links at the right side of the full record display for a book that you like, to get more like it. For instance, in the above search I found the subject heading "Social Security - United States - Finance" -- which found me more relevant books.

Find a U.S. government publication

The UO is a Federal Depository Library, which means if you cannot find an electronic copy of what you want, we may have it on the shelf in the Document Center section of Knight Library. Our Federal collection goes way back and includes many historical documents. Ask Victoria if you need help!

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The database of the Government Printing Office. Provides records of U.S. Government information resources, including Federal agency online resources and materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries, from July 1976 to present.  Links are included for publications available on the Internet

FDsys "America's Authentic Government Information"
A portal to government information that is available online, including some older information that has been digitized. At this time, congressional and statutory information predominates.

LexisNexis Academic
For judicial opinions (including US Supreme Court.) Go to left side, click on US Legal --> Federal and State Cases.

Oyez
For US Supreme Court only. A nonprofit site with Supreme Court opinions, summaries, biographies of justices, and audio of oral arguments.

Presidential Papers, Speeches, and Executive Orders - library guide

ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
This is probably your best place to search for Congressional documents. It includes the Congressional Record, hearings, reports, and more, all available as full text PDFs.  See also the Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, which provide very helpful analysis of policy issues.

  • Another good source of CRS Reports is at the University of North Texas Digital Library

UO Library Online Catalog - see these search tips for finding government information in the online catalog.

USA.gov
A federated search engine of government agencies.

And if you really want to be comprehensive, try: MetaLib which searches CGP, FDsys, USA.gov, and more, all at once.

 

Reference Sources & Guides

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access)

Encyclopedia of American Public Policy; KNIGHT REFERENCE JK 468.P 64 J33 1999
Provides brief overviews/summaries of key concepts concerning the history of government in the U.S.

Encyclopedia of Governance.off-campus access limited to UO Sage Reference
"Almost 550 entries... written by some 230 international experts."  See, e.g., the articles in the Reader's Guide under "Policy Analysis".

Encyclopedia of Interest Groups and Lobbyists in the United States.off-campus access limited to UO Sharpe Reference, 2000.

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy. 3 volumes. Knight Reference JK9 .E526 2008

Health Policy Research Guide

Major Acts of Congress. off-campus access limited to UO Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.  A three-volume set that examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life.

Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World off-campus access limited to UO ; also in KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001
A comprehensive guide to international relations and domestic politics throughout the world, with articles on major concepts and themes in modern politics. Most articles run one page or less, but approximately 30 longer feature articles ("Critical Issues" and "Interpretive Essays") cover selected topics in more depth.

Oxford Guide to the United States Government off-campus access limited to UO Also in KNIGHT and DOCS Reference JK9 .P384 2001
"Key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years." A good place to look up a quick explanation of something.

Political Science Research Guide

Public Policy Research Guide A nice, step-by-step guide to legislative history and policy resources, in pdf format.

Social Policy Research Guide