PS 225 Political Ideologies

PS225 Political Ideologies

Research Guides Home | Articles | Books | Primary Sources Reference Sources | Citing Sources | Evaluating Sources


This page should help you with your research paper for this course. Feel free to contact me with questions. You may also want to try the UO Libraries LibX Toolbar for your browser!


Annie
Victoria Mitchell - Librarian for: Political Science, Government Information, and Social Science Data

ph: (541) 346-3076 vmitch@uoregon.edu

Do a quick article search here:

 

The above search box is searching the following specific databases, that you might want to try individually:

Academic Search Premier

  • Good for its mix of popular, news, and scholarly articles. You have to exercise your critical evaluation skills to determine if an article is truly scholarly or not. (Do NOT rely solely on their limit to peer-reviewed feature--it is not reliable. Checking a journal on Ulrich's through FindText is better, although you still have to use your own judgment.)

Web of Science

  • Interdisciplinary database that includes all the social sciences. Its special feature is the ability to find articles that cite an article or author.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • The best database for retrieving articles only from scholarly journals in political science and related fields such as international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

See also:

Google Scholar

  • Google for academics.

This worksheet will help you develop keyword searches that get results

Find a book


in UOWorldCat (UO Libraries and beyond)

A few book search tips:
  • Use more general terms, as opposed to the more specific terms used for searching for articles.
     
  • UO WorldCat searches for articles, and many other formats besides books. To limit to books, click on 'book' under format on the left side.
     
  • You may get more or better results if you do a Subject Heading search for a broad term. To do a search by Subject, go to Advanced Search and pull down the menu to Subject. You also can click on the subject heading links at the right side of the full record display for a book that you like, to get more like it.


Primary Sources

Research Using Primary Sources - library guide

While this guide is oriented toward historical research, it has useful tips relevant to your research.

Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: An Online Archival Collection
From the Special Collections Library at Duke University, "The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s." A source of some primary documents on feminist theory and politics.

Karl Marx, Friedrich Engels: Collected Works (English) KNIGHT HX 39.5 .A16 1975  50 volumes
There are many other books by Marx in the catalog; this has all of the writings in one place.

Landmark Speeches of the American Conservative Movement KNIGHT JC573.2.U6 L36 2007
Includes speeches of Buckley, Goldwater, Reagan, and more.

LexisNexis Academic off-campus access limited to UO
For judicial opinions (including US Supreme Court.) Go to left side, click on US Legal --> Federal and State Cases.

Presidential Papers, Speeches, and Executive Orders - library guide

ProQuest Congressional off-campus access limited to UO(formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
This is probably your best place to search for Congressional documents. It includes the Congressional Record, hearings, reports, and more, all available as full text PDFs. 

Socialist Party of America papers, 1897-1963, and addendum 1919-1976 KNIGHT MICROFILM JK2391 .S6 S63
Includes correspondence, minutes of committee meetings and proceedings of conventions, financial records, court records, copies of speeches, press releases, organizers' reports, lists, photographs, broadsides, leaflets, pamphlets, books, and serials.

  • See the guides to the Microfilm in KNIGHT REFERENCE: JK2391.S6 S63 Guide; JK2391.S6 S63 Addend Guide

US Environmental Policy and Politics: A Documentary History  LAW LIB GE180 .U185 2010
You can request to have this sent to Knight Library if you wish. "The wide-ranging document collections include over 150 full and excerpted speeches, writings by conservationists, federal and state legislation, court opinions, testimonies, policy briefs, and more. The documents are preceded by context-setting headnotes which provide information on the key players and events."

The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism KNIGHT REFERENCE HQ1115 .W644 2006
Volume 2 consists of Primary Documents, i.e. writings by noted feminists.


Reference Sources & Guides

off-campus access limited to UO = You must be on campus, or an authorized UO user if off campus, to access)

Cambridge History of Twentieth Century Political Thought off-campus access limited to UO
Written by a distinguished team of international contributors, this major work of academic reference provides a comprehensive overview of the development of political thought from the late nineteenth to the end of the twentieth century. Covers liberal democracy, conservatism, fascism, Marxism, feminisms, identity politics (including indigenism), and ecological or 'green' political thought.

Dictionary of Marxist Thought, 2nd ed.  KNIGHT REFERENCE HX17 .D5 1991
Detailed definitions and explanations of terms, theories, schools of thought, etc., with bibliographies.

Environmental Encyclopedia off-campus access limited to UO, 3rd ed.
Includes articles on Green Politics, Environmental Ethics, Deep Ecology, etc., with bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Modern Worldwide Extremists and Extremist Groups KNIGHT REFERENCE HN49 .R33 A85 2004
Includes religious fundamentalism.

Encyclopedia of Political Anarchy KNIGHT REFERENCE HX830 .G39 1999
Short articles, with references, on important figures, events, movements, organizations, etc.

Encyclopedia of Politics; The Left and the Right. off-campus access limited to UO; also KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .E54 2005
Two volume set that contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles associated with both the "left" and "right" sides of the political spectrum.

Encyclopedia of the American Left, 2nd ed. KNIGHT REFERENCE HX86 .E58 1998.
Covers people, parties, movements, issues, from a historical perspective, with bibliographies.

Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World off-campus access limited to UO ; also in KNIGHT REFERENCE JA61 .O95 2001
A comprehensive guide to international relations and domestic politics throughout the world, with articles on major concepts and themes in modern politics. Most articles run one page or less, but approximately 30 longer feature articles ("Critical Issues" and "Interpretive Essays") cover selected topics in more depth.

Political Science Research Guide

Religious Studies Research Guide
This guide will point you to places to look for information on religious fundamentalism. See particularly the Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed. and the ATLA Religion database.

Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Post-Feminism KNIGHT REFERENCE HQ1115 .R68 2000
The first half consists of essays on various aspects of feminism with the second half offering A-Z entries.

Vincent, Andrew. Modern Political Ideologies (e-book), 3rd ed. NOTE:This link connects you to the online catalog record, from which you have to connect and login as a UO user.
This book covers most of the ideologies you are studying and may offer some new perspectives. It also has an extensive bibliography.

The Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-Wave Feminism KNIGHT REFERENCE HQ1115 .W644 2006

Womens Studies Encyclopedia off-campus access limited to UO
See entries on Feminism, Feminist Movement (1960 through early 1970), Feminist Theory, etc.