Biking and Walking Research Guide
Biking and Walking Research Guide
For further assistance, contact Tom Stave in the Document Center, at tstave@uoregon.edu.
Finding Articles
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
- Journal of Planning Literature DOC-LC [HT165.5.J68]. JPL is the only index devoted exclusively to current books and articles in the field of planning.
- GEOBASE
GEOBASE covers worldwide literature in geography, ecology, and related disciplines including urban and regional planning. GEOBASE contains citations to journal articles and books from 1980 to the present. - PAIS
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service provides references to journal articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Many planning-related journals are included. Coverage begins in 1972. - DAAI Design and Applied Arts Index The practice, theory and history of design, crafts, architecture and advertising. The leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals.Coverage begins in 1973.
- SocAbstracts
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including community development and the social aspects of planning. It includes citations since 1963 (abstracts begin in 1974) for articles in over 1,500 journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Over 1,700+ titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United State.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. - TRID online
TRID (Transportation Research Integrated Database)--formerly TRIS--provides access to over 900,000 bibliographic records covering transportation research published in books, journal articles, technical reports and the media. - Web of Science The most comprehensive coverage of science and social science articles, 1975-present. The database may be searched by keyword or author, or for works that cite a specified author or paper. It may be used to assess the scholarly impact of individual authors or papers, and trace the lineage of an idea through the scholarly literature.
- Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier contains indexing for more than 8,000 publications, with full text for approximately 4,600 of these titles. ASP focuses on academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,500 journals. Over 3,500 of the full text journals are peer reviewed, while more than 1,600 of the indexed journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1965. - ArticleFirst
ArticleFirst consists of nearly two million bibliographic records from the tables of contents of over 13,000 journal titles in many fields, including a large number of planning journals. Most journal titles in ArticleFirst have been indexed from 1990 to the present.
Finding Books, Theses and Terminal Projects
- UO Library Catalog
The most complete version of the UO Libraries' own catalog. - PPPM Theses and Terminal Projects.
Theses written by masters students in the Dept. of Planning, Public Policy and Management may be located through the UO Library's catalog. They may be identified through a special database. - UOWorldCat Books and other materials from libraries worldwide, which you can request through Summit or Interlibrary Loan
Finding Statistics for Bicycling and Walking
Locate statistical data to describe a situation, analyze a problem, or support a claim. Reference staff in the Knight Library's Document Center can assist with hard-to-locate data.
- Thunderhead Benchmarking 2007, Bicycling and Walking to Work (pdf) Alliance for Biking and Walking’s (formerly Thunderhead Alliance) data compiled by researchers at Rutgers University. Contains a wide variety of statistics.
- Nation Highway and Safety Crash Facts FHWA site offers general pedestrian and bicycle crash information.
- Research and Innovative Tech Administration (RITA) Aggregates data, research and technology transfer assets of:
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS)
- Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS)
- National Transportation Library (NTL)
- Research, Development and Technology (RD&T)
- Transportation Safety Institute (TSI)
- University Transportation Centers (UTCs)
- Volpe National Transportation Systems Center (Volpe)
- Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) Part of National Highway Safety and Transportation Administration Look for "Pedalcyclist".
- The National Center for Statistics and Analysis (NCSA) In publications categories select Bicyclists/Pedicyclists.
- Center for Disease Control (CDC) Health and safety related statistics. Search "bicycle".
Other General Statistical Resources
- U.S. Bureau of the Census Table B08006
- FedStats Links to 100 federal statistical agencies' web sites
- Lexis-Nexis: Statistical
- Data for Local Communities Topical list of data sources on the web for local communities in Oregon
- Document Center's statistics page
- ICPSR Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, which holds a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction
- Data on the Web Links from the UO's Data Service Lab
Bicycle and Walking Web Resources
A selected set of Web sites offering information and training for diverse audiences about health and safety, engineering, planning, advocacy, education, enforcement, access, and mobility as it relates to pedestrians and/or bicyclists.
- Pedestrian & Bicycle Information Center Funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration and maintained by the PBIC the University of North Carolina Highway Safety.
- National Center for Biking and Walking was established as a clearinghouse for technical assistance on bicycling and pedestrian programs, and to provide assistance for biking and walking advocates. Normal 0 false false false EN-US ZH-CN X-NONE
- Alliance for Biking and Walking North American coalition of grassroots bicycle and pedestrian advocacy organizations.
- FHWA Bicycle & Pedestrian Program The Bicycle & Pedestrian Program of the Federal Highway Administration's Office of Human and Natural Environment.
- Active Living Resource Center Operated with the support of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
- Rails-to-Trails Conservancy A nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., whose mission it is to create a nationwide network of trails from former rail lines and connecting corridors.
- Bikes Belong Coalition Bikes Belong Sponsored by the U.S. bicycle industry with the goal of putting more people on bicycles more often.
- League of American Bicyclists Membership organization that promotes bicycling for fun, fitness and transportation and work through advocacy and education for a bicycle-friendly America.
- The bicycling and pedestrian sections of Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS) bibliographic database with transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles.
- Network of Employers for Traffic Safety Bicycle Safety Resource Center includes resources for improving the health and safety of employees, their families and the community by preventing traffic crashes that occur both on- and off-the-job.
- National Complete Streets A national non-profit organization that helps with the adoption and implementation of statewide, regional, and local complete streets policies.
- International Mountain Bicycling Association Non-profit educational membership organization whose mission is to create, enhance and preserve great trail experiences for mountain bikers worldwide.
- Adventure Cycling Association A nonprofit membership organization whose mission is to inspire people of all ages to travel by bicycle for fitness, fun, and self-discovery.
- Surface Transportation Policy Project is a diverse, nationwide coalition working to ensure safer communities and smarter transportation choices.
- Walkable and Livable Communities Institute provides training and resources for community leaders and planners, aimed at producing more walkable communities.
- On the Road: Bicycle Safety Practical tips and teaching tools
Regional, State, and Local Web Resources
Nationally, there are numerous regional organizations focusing on a variety of advocacy, planning, education, equipment, rides, events, and safety bicycle related topics. The League of American Bicyclists maintains a nation-wide database of bicycle resources searchable by state, city, and zip code.
General Planning Web Resources
- Oregon planning documents: Local & Regional Document Archive (LRDA). Over 2000 plans from Oregon cities and counties.
- Search Oregon city/county websites:
- ICMA: International City/County Management Association
- APA/AICP American Planning Association and the American Institute of Certified Planners
- APA Oregon chapter
- Cyburbia: the urban planning portal University at Buffalo Dept. of Urban and Regional Planning
- Guides to city and regional planning research UC-Berkeley Environmental Design Library
- National Center for Smart Growth Research & Education (U. Md.): links
- FirstGov Starting place for information on U.S. government web sites, by agency and topic
- HUD User U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development's policy development and research site
- Oregon.gov The State of Oregon's home page, with links to government agency and local government web sites, and to Oregon laws, regulations and legislative actions
- American Policy Directory UO Document Center's list of U.S. public policy groups
- Oregon Policy Directory UO Document Center's list of Oregon public policy groups
- League of Oregon Cities
- Association of Oregon Counties
- Special Districts Assocation of Oregon
- Association of Oregon Community Development Organizations
Finding Maps and Images
The UO's large collection of maps, aerial photography is located in the Document Center, on the first floor of the Knight Library. This is also the location for datasets for use in geographic information systems (GIS) applications.
Images may be used to investigate specific sites, examine existing generic planning and design elements, or to illustrate presentations and publications.
