Sustainable City Year Springfield
Sustainable City Year: Springfield
This guide supports the 2011-2012 Sustainable Cities Initiative on Springfield, Oregon. See also the 2010-2011 Sustainable Cities Initiative on Salem, Oregon and the 2009-2010 final reports on the city of Gresham.
Community-level statistical data are produced by many different private and governmental organizations. These resources can help locate the most useful series. Reference staff in the Knight Library's Document Center can assist with hard-to-locate data.
- Census 2010, 2000 and 1990. Census data published earlier than 1990 must be found in printed reports, which are maintained in the Knight Library's Document Center. For help using Census data, contact Victoria Mitchell at email@example.com in the Knight Library's Document Center.
- Census: American Community Survey.
These data files contain the most recent (but not the most reliable) estimates of population characteristics.
For the most recent estimates (at the city level only), choose 2009 ACS 1-year estimates.
For a set of estimates that are more reliable (smaller confidence intervals), and include more variables, choose the 2007-2009 ACS 3-year or the 2005-2009 ACS 5-year estimates. The 5-year estimates may be searched the census tract and block group level.
- Document Center's statistics page.
- Statistics from the City of Springfield website
Use these resources to find coverage of the City of Springfield by news media and policy groups.
- Springfield Times
- The Register Guard. "Springfield Extra"
- The Springfield News. Springfield's now defunct newspaper. 1907-2006. Articles may be viewed, printed, or scanned from microfilm in the Libraries Microforms Collection (first floor, Knight).
- City of Springfield, News Room
- Portland Business Journal. Brief news articles; may be searched by key words or phrases, such as "Springfield".
- Lexis-Nexis Academic. Search and view full text of 6,000 news, business and legal sources.
- Oregon Policy Directory Links to websites for 400 organizations that analyze or influence public policy in Oregon. The full set of websites may be searched simultaneously, using terms such as "Springfield".
Use these resources to find information from and about Springfield's city government and local businesses.
- Key documents:
- Municipal Codes
- Budget and Financial Reports
- September 2010 Official Statement by the City of Springfield to meet full faith and credit obligations for sewer system bonds. It contains a good overview of the City and the economic and employment conditions including water & sewage, tax revenue, budgets, and more technical financial information.
- City of Springfield website: http://www.ci.springfield.or.us/ To restrict your standard web search to this site, use the "advanced search" feature of your search engine (e.g. Google or Yahoo), and enter "ci.springfield.or.us" in the "site or domain" box.
- City Council and Wards
- Public Works Department. Includes information from the environmental services division, engineering and transportation division, maintenance division, and technical services division.
- Interagency Partnership for Sustainable Communities Collaboration among the US Dept of Housing and Urban Development, the Dept of Transportation, and the Environmental Protection Agency
Search all Oregon state, city, and county websites simultaneously:
- Development Code. Development and land use document that governs all of the land within Springfield’s city limits and its urban services area. Includes general provisions, land use districts, development standards, and the review process and applications.
- Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR)
- Reference USA Database of U.S. business establishments, which may be searched by city, zipcode, type of business, and size. Use to identify individual businesses, or to analyze the structure of the business community in Springfield. (UO only)
- County Business Patterns Zipcode and county-level data on business establishments, including type of business, payroll, and employment.
- Portland Business Journal. Brief news articles; may be searched by key words or phrases, such as "Springfield".
Map and GIS resources
The UO's large collection of maps and aerial photography is located in the Document Center, on the first floor of the Knight Library. This is also the location for datasets for use in geographic information systems (GIS) applications. For expert help, contact the Map/GIS Librarian, Kathy Stroud, at firstname.lastname@example.org
- Soil survey. Web Soil Survey (US Natural Resources Conservation Service) You may search for your area of interest via an interactive map, then display the soil map and soil type characteristics. A paper copy of the Soil Survey for Lane County (OR) is available in the UO Libraries' Architecture & Allied Arts (S599.O7 P37 1987).
Surf Your Watershed (EPA): data for the Upper Willamette Watershed
- State of Oregon Department of State Lands, Essential Salmon Habitats. Map available for Lane County.
- Oregon Wetlands Program. Information on the Statewide Wetland program, including fact sheets, planning, and inventories.
- Local Wetland Inventories. Maps and reports of Springfield and Springfield, Glenwood inventories.
- Agriculture. Census of Agriculture 2007
County level data for Oregon.Click by table title for specific crops, look for Lane County.
- National Historic Landmark Program. Links to resources on contacts, eligibility, compiling research, drafting and submitting nominations, and the review process. A National Historic Landmark database, searchable by city and state, is also included.
In addition to the catalogs, article databases, and newspapers described here, the following sources can be useful for researching the history of Springfield. For further assistance, contact the History Librarian, John Russell, at email@example.com.
- Index to the Oregon Historical Quarterly (REF KNIGHT F871 .O43)
Three volumes covering the Oregon Historical Quarterly from the 1900 through 1980. The fourth volume, covering 1981-2000, is available online.
- Sanborn fire insurance maps.
Historic large scale maps with building detail for Oregon cities. Springfield coverage includes 1907 and 1912-1960.
- GLO maps and survey notes (survey notes are viewable in Internet Explorer)
General Land Office township plat maps for the Springfield area. The Springfield site lies in two townships and two ranges: T17S R2W - T17S R3W and T18S R2W - T18S R3W.
- Springfield Oregon Historic Commission Links to local, statewide, and national resources.
- Springfield Celebrates 125 Years, magazine (PDF) City of Springfield's publication. Includes Springfield timeline and significant events, people, and locations.
- Springfield Museum
- Springfield city history: Includes city history viewable by Springfield and surrounding areas, year, people, and organization.
- Building Oregon Images and documentation on the architectural heritage of Oregon with specific emphasis on historical sites. May be searched or browsed by city.
- Lane County Historical Society and Museum. Photo Catalog includes images of Lane County. Collection includes photographs on topics such as industry, aerial views, geographical features, and street scenes. Catalog may be searched by city.
- Oregon Historic Sites Database.
Beta version of a database of historic sites, which may be searched by city, building style or function.
- Census reports. Census data published earlier than 1990 must be found in printed reports, which are maintained in the Document Center.
Use these resources to find information from and about Springfield's partner organizations.
- Springfield Public Schools
Includes information on Springfield's elementary, middle, and high school programs. The vision, mission, and goals of the school district are also included, as well as an overview of the community, budget updates, health services, and academic calendars.
- Willamalane Park and Recreation District
Youth, adult, and adult 50+ activities are listed here. In addition, the website includes lists and maps of Springfield parks and facilities. Also accessible is a section on future plans, including a 20 year plan for the city's parks, open spaces, and recreation.
- Springfield Utility Board
Includes information on conservation services for home and business. Community assistance programs are outlined and an online library of brochures and newsletters on water quality, conservation, and other utility information is available.
- United Way of Lane County
2009 community assessment report for Lane county in found here, as well as other action areas related to the education, income, and health of the community.
- Metro Wastewater Management Commission (MWMC)
Resources for pollution prevention and water quality. Links to various MWMC reports, guides, manuals, and brochures.
- Lane Transit District
Current projects, reports and publications, and fares and schedules are included here. In addition, there is also information on the LTD business center, which includes advertising on LTD, procurement of goods, and other business opportunities.
- Neighborhood Economic Development Corporation (NEDCO)
Non-profit organization that assists community development through home ownership, neighborhood revitalization, and business development
- Travel Lane County
Springfield specific information on attractions, lodging, restaurants, events, business directory, and city government
- Springfield Chamber of Commerce
Information on Springfield facts and demographics. Links to additional community resources.
These journal article index databases are useful for searching the scholarly literature in such fields as planning, geography, sociology, transportation, business and public affairs.
- Academic Search Premier (UO only)
Citations to journal articles, often accompanied by full text, from a broad array of disciplines.
- America: History and Life (UO only)
Citations and abstracts for historical research relating to the Americas, including Native peoples. Covers more recent issues of local-interest journals such as the Oregon Historical Quarterly and Pacific Northwest Quarterly.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (UO only)
References to literature in the fields of architecture and related fields such as city planning and historic preservation.
- Business Source Complete (UO only)
Citations to business-related journal articles, often accompanied by full text.
- GEOBASE (UO only)
Literature in geography, ecology, and related disciplines including urban and regional planning.
- Journal of Planning Literature DOCUMENTS REFERENCE HT165.5.J68 (through 2006).
Current bibliography of books and articles in the field of planning. Search this journal, 1999 to date, in Academic Search Premier (limit search to SO Journal Name = Journal of Planning Literature). (UO only)
- PAIS (UO only)
Citations to journal articles, books and book chapters, and other resources in the area of public affairs.
- SocAbstracts (UO only)
References to literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, including community development and the social aspects of planning.
- TRIS online (Transportation Research Information Service)
References to transportation-related information in books, journal articles, technical reports and the media.
- Web of Science (UO only)
The most comprehensive coverage of science and social science articles.
Books, theses and terminal projects
- UO Local Catalog
The most complete version of the UO Libraries' own catalog.
- UO WorldCat
Books and other materials from the UO, its 35 partner libraries in the Northwest (Summit), and over 60,000 libraries worldwide (WorldCat).
- Summit Union Catalog
Books and other materials from 35 Northwest libraries, which you can borrow directly (5-day delivery).
- WorldCat (UO only)
Books and other materials from libraries worldwide, which may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- PPPM Theses and Terminal Projects.
PPPM masters theses may be located through the UO Library's catalog. Terminal projects for PPPM and for other AAA departments may be found through special databases.