Research in Philosophy

Philosophy

The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Philosophy. For further assistance, contact Paul Frantz, Reference Librarian, at pfrantz@uoregon.edu or 541-346-1880

Starting Your Research

Reference sources provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.

  • The Encyclopedia of Philosophy (2nd edition, Macmillan) provides overviews of philosophers and philosophical concepts.
  • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Knight Reference B 51 .R68 1998) is a 10-volume set providing overviews of philosophers and philosophical concepts.
  • The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas is a six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture.
  • The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a web encyclopedia, whose entries are being added over time.
  • The Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy (Knight Reference B 121 .E53 2001) complements the western orientation of the above sets.
  • The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy, Second Edition, (Knight Reference B 41 .C35 1999) provides concise entries on concepts and key figures in the field.

Finding Articles

To look for articles in academic journals or magazines, start with a periodical index. An index will allow you to find articles by subject, by a few keywords which describe your topic, or by author.

  • OneSearch allows you to search for journal articles in a number of philosophy databases simultaneously, including Philosopher's Index and JSTOR
  • The Philosopher's Index provides subject and author access to philosophy periodicals and books. Its coverage extends back to 1940.
  • JSTOR provides full text retrospective coverage of core academic journals.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts gives indexing of academic journals in political philosophy.
  • L'Annee Philologique provides an index to articles in classics journals and thus to ancient philosophy. (Note this helpful user's guide to the database.)
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index provides indexing to about 1,300 periodicals in the humanities. Uniquely, it  allows researchers to see which journal articles have been cited by subsequent writers.Coverage: 1975 to the present.

Finding Books

  • UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries appear at the top of the list and include information about location and availability.
  • Books on philosophy can be found under the following call numbers:
    • B Philosophy
    • BC Logic
    • BD Speculative philosophy
    • BF 311-316 Cognition
    • BH Aesthetics
    • BJ Ethics
    • GE 40-45 Environmental ethics
    • HQ 1190 Feminist theory
    • JA 71-91 and JC 11-628 Political theory
    • Q 174-179 Philosophy of science
    • T 14 Philosophy of technology
  • Dissertations & Theses provides summary information of dissertations in all subjects from 1861 to the present.

Professional Associations

  • The American Philosophical Association Online provides membership and governance information about the association, a list of its publications, grant and fellowship opportunities, and links to other Web sites of interest to philosophers.
  • The Society of Phenomenology and Existential Philosophy supports the Continental European tradition of philosophy.
  • Directory of American philosophers (Knight Reference B 935 .D5) lists the faculty of university departments of philosophy. A corresponding work, International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers (Knight Reference B 35 .I5) does the same for institutions in 132 countries.

Web Resources

  • Intelex Past Masters offers full text electronic editions of the works of Dewey, Hegel, Hume, Kant, Locke, Nietzsche, and Wittgenstein.
  • Philosophy at the University of Oregon provides information about faculty, degree requirements, and course descriptions.
  • PhilPapers enables you to browse the tables of contents of philosophy journals and view papers from online archives. Requires registration, but that is free.
  • Philosophical Installations offers over 1500 videos of a philosophical nature (free for non-commercial use). The site is curated by Naomi Zack of the UO's Philosophy Department.
  • Voice of the Shuttle provides deep research links and content for researchers in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Last revised October 2013 by Paul Frantz

pfrantz@uoregon.edu