Finding News Articles: Oregon Indexes

Finding Articles in Oregon Newspapers

This guide provides a list of newspaper indexes and full-text sources for news stories available in Oregon newspapers.

For a quick look at current topics in Oregon media, try the Oregon Media Directory. This site compiles links to 60 websites for Oregon newspapers, radio and TV stations, and community-oriented blogs. There is a custom search box for each category, and also for the entire site.

You may also be interested in the UO Libraries' guide to Finding Obituaries & Vital Information. For further assistance, please ask a reference librarian.

The Oregonian: Indexes

The Eugene Public Library offers indexing and full text content to The Oregonian, through a database available to public libraries. The UO Libraries offers Factiva, which provides very limited full text content of The Oregonian from July 1989 forwards. In the Factiva search box, enter sn=Oregonian and then a keyword/s. Example: sn=Oregonian and Kitzhaber

The Oregonian also provides searching and very limited full text content to its newspaper. For the full text of articles not available through the home page, use UO Library microfilm.

1852-1987

Oregon Newspapers Index provides an online index to articles in The Oregonian. The database covers 1852-1987 and contains more than 839,000 records.

1851-1979

Portland Newspaper Index. 1851-1979. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1851-1979. Produced from card index prepared by the Multnomah County Library. "Articles are indexed from the Oregonian, 1851-1979, the Oregon Journal, 1902-1979, plus some other local newspapers, periodicals, and miscellaneous monographs. The subjects pertain to Oregon, Portland, and the Northwest."

1980-1984

Portland Newspaper Index, 1980-1984. MICROFICHE AI 21.O5 1980-1984. Continuation of Portland Newspaper Index. Indexes articles from:

  • Oregonian
  • Oregon Journal
  • Willamette Week
  • Business Journal

Eugene Newspapers: Indexes

1867-Present

The Register-Guard has a search box, with a Google news archive back to 1867 and a ProQuest search box back to 2001. For full text of articles not available through the home page, use UO Library microfilm.

1963-2004

Register-Guard Index from the Oregon Newspapers Index. This index contains more than 30,000 records.

1855-1870

Eugene Newspaper Index. 20 fiches. MICROFICHE AI 21 .E96. Compiled by George Ann Clingan and Patty Rhay at the Lane Community College Library. The first part, pages 1-22, is the list of newpapers indexed, the list of abbreviations, and the subject authority. The second part, pages 23-391, is the Biography section. The third part, pages 548-1051, is the General News section. Papers indexed: Democratic Herald, Democratic Register, Eugene City News, Eugene City Review, Eugene City Guard, Pacific Journal, and People's Press.

2000-Present

Oregon Daily Emerald index to the University of Oregon student newspaper.

1900-1979

Daily Emerald Index to the campus newspaper of the University of Oregon. This index is part of the Oregon Newspapers Index and contains more than 102,000 records.

Current Year

Eugene Weekly , Eugene's alternative weekly newspaper, has a search box covering the previous 18 months. 

Indexes to Other Oregon Newspaper Stories

  • The Oregon Digital Newspaper Program provides keyword searching to the full text of the early years of many Oregon newspapers
  • The Library of Congress's Chronicling America project provides digitization of American newspapers, including Oregon's, from 1836-1922.

Factiva also indexes a number of other Oregon newspapers, besides The Oregonian. Coverage varies. These newspapers include:

  • Business Journal of Portland
  • Columbian (Vancouver, WA)
  • Dalles Chronicle
  • Grants Pass Daily Courier
  • Klamath Falls Herald & News
  • Mail Tribune (Medford)
  • News-Review (Roseburg)
  • Northwest Construction
  • Oregon Business
  • Oregonian (Portland)
  • Pacific Builder and Engineer
  • Register-Guard (Eugene)
  • Statesman Journal (Salem)
  • World (Coos Bay)

In the Factiva search box, enter sn=[the name of the newspaper], and then a keyword. Example: sn=Columbian and bridges

Oregon Index
A selective index to Oregon newspapers, and to Oregon items in selected other publications. Oregon Index coverage varies from paper to paper. Newspapers indexed include:
  • Coos Bay World, Jan 1996 - May 1996
  • Corvallis Gazette Times, 1995 - 1999
  • Daily Astorian, 1998-1990
  • Eugene Register-Guard, 1988 - 2002
  • Klamath Falls Herald & News, 1996
  • LaGrande Observer, 1995 - 2004
  • Lake Oswego Review, 1996 - 2004
  • Portland Oregonian, Jan 1985-Dec 1992
  • Salem Statesman Journal, Jan 1987 - Sept 2002
  • Tigard Times, 1996 - 2003
  • West Linn Tidings, 1998 - 2004
  • Willamette Week, 1974 - 1997
  • Wilsonville Spokesman, 1995 - 2004
East Oregonian Index [Pendelton], 1976-1983
KNIGHT AI 21 .E753a
Oregon Journal index, 1902-1908
KNIGHT AI 21.O78
Oregon Spectator Index, 1846-1854
OR.COLL. AI 21 .O7
Last revision September 2013
pfrantz@uoregon.edu