Finding News Articles US International Indexes University of Oregon Libraries
Finding Articles in U.S. & International Newspapers
"Fact that is fact every day is not news; it's truth. We report news, not truth." - Linda Ellerbee
This guide provides a list of newspaper indexes and full-text sources for news stories available in the UO Libraries for United States (except Oregon) and international newspapers. For further assistance, please ask a reference librarian.
Databases for U.S. & International Newspapers
Indexes to Specific Major Newspapers
The New York Times
- New York Times (Lexis Nexis) provides indexing and full text to articles from 1980 to the present.
- The Historical New York Times provides indexing and full-text access to the New York Times from 1851 to three years before the present date.
- A print index covers the years from 1851-1996 and is located at the south end of the Reference Collection (REF KNIGHT AI 21 .N44). This print source indexes both the Late Edition (L) and National Edition (N). The UO Libraries Microforms unit has microfilm of the New York Times (Late Edition) from 1851-2009 and digital microfilm from 2008 to the present. Use the Internet Explorer browser with digital microfilm; see guide.
- On March 28, 2011 the New York Times began charging for unlimited access to its online content on its website. A guide explains options the UO Libraries offer for online, print, and retrospective access.
Wall Street Journal
- Wall Street Journal (Factiva) provides indexing and full text coverage from 1984-present. Tip: Within the Factiva search box, enter sn=wall street journal and a keyword/s representing your topic (e.g. sn=wall street journal and budget deficit).
- Wall Street Journal web site provides current content and a searchable archive for the past two years, with full text content.
- A print index for the Wall Street Journal covering the years 1955-1996 is also available at Knight HG 1 .W26. The UO Libraries Microforms unit has microfilm of the Wall Street Journal from 1959-2009 and digital microfilm from 2008 to the present. Use the Internet Explorer browser with digital microfilm; see guide.
Washington Post
- Washington Post (Lexis Nexis) provides indexing and full text to articles from 1977 to the present.
- Washington Post web site provides current content and a searchable archive, but no full text content beyond the past 60 days.
- A print index to the Washington Post covering the years 1979-1996 is available at Knight AI 21 .W3. The UO Libraries Microforms unit has microfilm for the Washington Post from 1877-2009 and digital microfilm from 2008 to the present. Use the Internet Explorer browser with digital microfilm; see guide.
Los Angeles Times
- Los Angeles Times (Lexis Nexis) provides indexing and full text to articles from the latest 6 months.
- The Historical Los Angeles Times provides indexing and full text access to the major newspaper of the West Coast from 1881-1987.
- Los Angeles Times web site provides current content and a searchable archive, but no full text content beyond the current month.
- The UO Libraries Microforms unit has microfilm of the Los Angeles Times from 1941-2009 and digital microfilm from 2008 to the present. Use the Internet Explorer browser with digital microfilm; see guide.
San Francisco Chronicle
- San Francisco Chronicle (Lexis Nexis) provides indexing and full text to articles from 1989 to the present.
- San Francisco Chronicle web site provides current content and a searchable archive, but no full text content beyond the current month.
- The UO Libraries' Microforms Unit has an index to the San Francisco Chronicle in two separate microfiche sets, one from 1913-1949 and another from 1950-1980, at MICROFICHE AI 21 .S26 S26. The UO Libraries Microforms Unit has microfilm of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1869-2009 and digital microfilm from 2008 to the present. Use the Internet Explorer browser with digital microfilm; see guide.
The Times (London)
- Times of London (Lexis Nexis) provides indexing and full text of articles from July 1985 to the present.
- A print index covering 1790 to the present is located at the south end of the Reference Collection (REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T39 to REF KNIGHT AI 21 .T46). The UO Libraries Microforms unit has microfilm of the Times (London) from 1785 to the present.
Some Major Retrospective Indexes to Newspapers
- Index to Readex Microfilm Collection of Early American Newspapers, 1690-1860 (REF KNIGHT AI 3 .K45)
- 19th Century Masterfile, 1802-1906 is the primary index for newspapers, magazines and periodicals published during the 19th century.
- NewsBank. The NewsBank microfiche collection provides full text content and indexes to newspaper articles from over 100 U.S. newspapers, arranged in 21 different subject collections. The coverage is from 1970-1995.
- Indexes & Guides to Western European Periodicals, 17th-20th centuries is a guide to comprehensive and language specific indexes, guides and web pages on Western European newspapers and magazines from the 17th through the 20th centuries.
- LexisNexis Academic , ca. 1980-current (dates of coverage vary by publication)
- Full-text of major English-language newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, including the New York Times and Washington Post. Also includes broadcast transcripts from major television and radio networks, over 300 college/university papers,and selected wire services.
- Newspaper Source , ca. 1995-current (dates of coverage vary by publication)
- Selected full text coverage from 240 regional U.S. newspapers, 26 international newspapers, 19 newswire services, and 35 TV and radio news transcripts. Includes full text for USA Today.
- Ethnic Newswatch , ca. 1991-current (dates of coverage vary by publication)
- Complete text of articles, editorials, and reviews from approximately 300 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
- AllAfrica.com , 1996-current.
- Provides content from more than 130 African media organizations.
- World News Connection , ca. 1995-current
- Extensive array of full-text translated and English-language news and information compiled from thousands of non-U.S. news sources. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources.
