Neuroscience Reference Guide
The following is a selected list of resources to get you started in your neuroscience research. For further assistance, contact Dean Walton.
The first step is to define the topic you intend to research. The sources listed below will help give you some directional tips and the necessary background information.
- Subject Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
There are many subject encyclopedias located in the reference area of the Science Library. A search in the online catalog using the keywords Neuroscience and encyclopedia or dictionary will give you the exact titles and call numbers. A few examples of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries include:
- Encyclopedia of neuroscience. G. Aldelman [RC334.E52 1993] Includes yearly supplements
- Diseases of the nervous system: Clinical neurobiology. A.K. Asbury, G. M. McKhann and W.I. McDonald [RC346.D56 1992]
- Molecular and genetic basis of neurological disease. R.N. Rosenberg et al. [RC347.M59 1993]
- Brain's diseases of the nervous system, 10th ed. J. Walton [RC346.B67 1993]
- Lexicon of psychiatry, neurology, and the neurosciences. F.J. Ayd [RC334.A96 2000]
- Experimental and clinical neurotoxicology. P.S. Spencer & H.H. Schaumburg [RC347.5E96 2000]
- Desk reference for neuroscience, 2nd ed. I. Lockhard [QM451.L625 1991]
- Basic clinical anatomy of the spine, spinal cord and ANS. G.D. Cramer & S.A. Darby. [QM465.C73 1995]
- Color atlas of the brain and spinal cord. M.A. England & J. Wakely [QM455.E54 1991]
- Neuroanatomy. C. Romero-Sierra [QM451.R66 1986]
- Atlas of the human intracranial anatomy. M.W. Waddington [QM455.W33 1984]
- Co-planar stereotaxic atlas of the human brain. J Talairach & P. Tournoux [QM455.T35 1988]
- Whole brain atlas Harvard Medical School lecture notes: Introduction to imaging. K.A. Johnson and J.A.Becker, 1999.
If you cannot decide on a topic, you may want to browse through the table of contents of current science journals. These are shelved alphabetically by title in the Science Library. However, the use of an index or database may lead you to appropriate articles in a more timely manner.
- Annual Review articles in Biomedical Journals
"Review" articles provide a synopsis of research that has been done on a particular topic and are one way to learn a lot about a topic in a very short time. These articles also contain comprehensive bibliographies, so if you find an article of interest, you will want to pursue some of the cited references during the course of your research. The library has access to most of the "Annual Review" journals in both print and electronic format- be sure to check the online library catalog for the most recent information. Note: review articles can also be found in other journals besides the "Annual Reviews" suite so if you don't find your topic doing a search in the "Annual Reviews" database, you may want to try searching in a database specific to your subject area.
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index (sometimes called a database). An index will allow you to search by subject or keywords which describe your topic. If you are interested in the research of a particular individual, you can also search by author.
Neuroscience Related Indexes
BIOSIS covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Information is available from 1996 to the present. ***From within this database you can check if UO owns the journal of interest. To request articles not owned by UO you must submit an interlibrary loan form.
Medline covers all areas of biomedicine, including cell and molecular biology, genetics, etc., as well as clinical medicine. It corresponds to the printed indexes Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and the International Nursing Index, and indexes 3,700+ journals. Medline is also available through through PubMed. ***From within this database you can check if UO owns the journal of interest and if not, request an interlibrary loan.
Other potentially useful databases for Neuroscience Research
ArticleFirst (yep, all one word!) consists of nearly two million bibliographic records from the table of contents of over 13,000 journal titles. The titles cover a wide range of subjects, including business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science, and technology. Most journal titles in Article1st have been indexed from 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is updated daily. ***From within this database you can check if UO owns the journal of interest and if not, request an interlibrary loan.
ingenta provides citations to articles from the tables of contents of approximately 25,000 journals and magazines in all disciplines. The database has citations from 1988 to the present. ingenta was formerly UnCover.
- Web of Science
The Web of Science provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded and Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), from 1996 to the present. The database can be searched for words in article titles, by author, and for cited references (ask a librarian to explain this and/or show you how). The pre-1996 print and cd version of "Science Citation Index" is available in the Science Library [Z7401.S365]. ***From within this database you can check if UO owns the journal of interest and if not, you must submit an interlibrary loan request.
- UO Library Catalog
Use the catalog to locate books by topic (subject or keyword), title or author. The catalog tells you which journals are owned by the UO Library and in what format (print and/or electronic). To find journal articles on your topic, use the indexes or databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, search the library catalog by the journal name not the article title to see if UO owns that particular journal.
- Summit Catalog
The Summit catalog is from a consortium of libraries that share their library resources. You can borrow books not owned or currently in use at the UO Library ("Request Item" option). Summit works only for books. If you want to request a journal article, you will need to fill out an interlibrary loan form or use the request forms within the databases or indexes.
Worldcat provides access to library catalogs from around the world. The database contains bibliographic records describing books, journals, maps, musical scores, manuscripts, etc. ***From within this database you can check if UO owns the book of interest and if not, request an interlibrary loan.
- Current Research at University of Oregon (dissertations)
Current Research@University of Oregon is a database of dissertations completed at the University of Oregon. The database can be searched by keyword in the title or abstract of the dissertation, by author, and by advisor. The fulltext of dissertations published after 1996 may be downloaded. Access to the fulltext is limited to current UO faculty, staff and students. See Dissertation Abstracts to search for dissertations from other institutions.
- Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts provides citations to dissertations in all academic subjects from 1861 to the present. Abstracts are provided for doctoral dissertations beginning in July 1980, while selected masters' abstracts are available from 1988. Dissertation Abstracts is updated monthly. ***From within this database you can check if UO owns the dissertation of interest and if not, request an interlibrary loan.
- Society for Neuroscience
- American Society for Neurochemistry
- International Society for Neurochemistry
- Whole brain atlas
- Neuroanatomy-Neuropathology on the internet
- The WWW Virtual Library of Neuroscience
- Institute of Neuroscience, University of Oregon
- American Neurological Association
- Neuroscience & Neurology Links from the Univesity of Kuopio, Finland
- Searching the Web
- Citing Electronic Documents