Museum Studies Research Guide
Researching in Museum Studies
Art: Mar Gonzalez Palacios, email@example.com; (541) 346-8785
Finding Background Information ...
Looking for Articles ...
- AATA Online: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature Coverage: 1 - 35 (1955 - 1999). This index covers analysis, treatment, and techniques in restoration and preservation of art and architecture materials. It has a separate section dealing with "architectural conservation, including landscape gardening." You must register to use this database, but there is no charge.
- Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective This database in two parts indexes periodicals dating back to 1929, with Art Index Retrospective covering 1929 to 1983 and Art Abstracts indexing from 1984 on. Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective include citations to articles on all art forms from all periods in history, from all parts of the world.
- ArtBibliographies Modern This resource indexes articles about art of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries including Festschriften, chapters from books and essays from exhibition catalogs.
- ERIC The main source for education, ERIC consists of citations to more than 850,000 records about all areas of education.
- Anthropology Plus indexes articles and essays in all of the subfields of anthropology, from the 19th century to the present.
Finding Images ...
Exhibition Case Studies, Evaluation Reports and more ...
It can sometimes be hard to track down internal documents about museum exhibitions. Sometimes your best bet will be to contact the museums (or the museum libraries) directly to ask about what types of documentation they have and are able to share. The following information will help you find many items.
- Statistical Reports, case studies
- The American Association of Museums publishes many statistical reports and possibly case studies for purchase through their bookstore.
- The Art Newspaper does an annual exhibition wrap-up (usually in February/March).
- The Smithsonian Institute publishes some case studies.
- Some economic impact studies end up in library catalogs. Try searching LibrarySearch by museum name or exhibit title and "economic impact."
- Musuems often have agreements with libraries for the archiving of their exhibit materials. For instance:
- Some museums share information about their past exhibitions online:
Current Trends and Ideas in Museum Studies ...
- Exhibitionist (AAA N 4390 .E94)
- International Journal of Cultural Policy (AAA JA75.7 .E87 and online)
- Journal of the American Institute for Conservation (AAA N 8554 .A53)
- Museum International (AAA AM 1 .M63 and online)
- Museum News (KNIGHT AM 1 .A55)
- Museums Journal (current issue in AAA AM 1 .M7; back issues in KNIGHT AM 1 .M7)