Linguistics Research Guide
These sources can help you identify a topic for your research. Some provide an overview of a specific issue and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research. Others help you to notice a topic that might be of interest to you. (also see Education Research Guide)
- Annual Reviews: Annual reviews of: Anthropology, Psychology, Neuroscience, Sociology
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language; P 29 .C64 1997 Knight Reference
- Cambridge handbook of endangered languages
- Cambridge handbook of language policy
- Cambridge handbook of pragmatics
- Cambridge handbook of second language acquisition
- Current status and prospects of the language policies in the world P 119.3 .I563 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of applied linguistics P 129 .E527 2013 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of Arabic language and linguistics; PJ6031 .E53 2006 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedia of language and linguistics; P 29 .E48 1994 Knight Reference
- Encyclopedic dictionary of applied linguistics: A handbook for language teaching
- Encyclopedic dictionary of semiotics P99 .E65 2010 Knight Reference
- Encyclopaedia of research methodology in arts, language and linguistics; NX280 .K86 2009 Knight Reference
- Handbook of bilingualism and multilingualism
- Handbook of English for specific purposes
- Handbook of foreign language communication and learning PB 35 .H287 2009 Knight Reference
- Handbook of Hispanic linguistics
- Handbook of historical sociolinguistics
- Handbook of language & ethnic identity
- Handbook of language variation and change
- Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning (Vol. 2)
- Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning Knight Reference P 118.2 .H359 2005
- International encyclopedia of linguistics online and P 29 .I58 2003 Knight Reference
- Oxford handbook of language production Knight Reference P 118 .O94 2014
- Pragmatics encyclopedia P 99.4.P72 P7395 2010 Knight Reference
- Routledge linguistics encyclopedia
- Research methods in second language acquisition: A practical guide
- Routledge handbook of applied linguistics
- Routledge handbook of second language acquisition
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with an index. An index will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA provides complete coverage of language and linguistics from about 600 journals.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography indexes critical materials about all literatures (except classical Greek and Roman), languages, folklore and film. The database provides access to over one million three-hundred thousand entries gleaned from essay collections, dissertations, monographs and over 6,000 journals. The MLA International Bibliography covers materials from 1963 to the present and is updated 10 times a year although not all indexing is up-to-date.
- Language Teaching Language Teaching "offers critical survey articles of recent research on specific topics, second and foreign languages and countries, and invites original research articles reporting on replication studies and meta-analyses. The journal also includes regional surveys of outstanding doctoral dissertations, topic-based research timelines, theme-based research agendas, and recent plenary conference speeches."
- Web of Science Web of Science provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references. Science & Social sciences, 1965 to the present; Arts & Humanities, 1975 to present.
- Academic Search Premier
A good starting point for research about linguistics. Academic Search Elite indexes a few linguistics journals and does provide some full-text access to articles.
- ERIC (Education)
Good for language learning and teaching. ERIC consists of citations to more than 850,000 records about all areas of education. ERIC is composed of citations to articles published in education journals and to ERIC documents which include curriculi, reports, standards, and other unpublished materials in education. ERIC indexes materials from 1966 to the present and is updated monthly.
American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.
- UO Library Catalog
Identify books by topic, title or author; identify journals and magazines owned by the UO Library. To find journal articles on your topic, use the databases listed in the section above. Once you have a citation, you can check the library catalog by doing a title search on the name of the journal to see if we have it here.
- Summit Catalog (Orbis Cascade
Orbis is a consortium of libraries that doubles our collection. You can borrow books not owned by the UO Library by selecting the Request Item option. Orbis works only for books.
- WorldCat Many books dealing with specific languages will not be available at the UO or through the Summit catalog. Use WorldCat to enhance your access to specialized materials.
- Linguistic Data Consortium.The Linguistic Data Consortium supports language-related education, research and technology development by creating and sharing linguistic resources: data, tools and standards. LDC Online contains an indexed collection of Arabic, Chinese and English newswire text, millions of words of English telephone speech from the Switchboard and Fisher collections and the American English Spoken Lexicon, as well as the full text of the Brown corpus. To request access to the online files you must be a current UO faculty, student, or staff. Full access to online data may take 1 - 3 days after you submit your account request. To request an account use the "Click to Create New User" option on https://secure.ldc.upenn.edu/intranet/index.jsp
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World; P 371 .E83 1996 Knight Reference
"The Ethnologue tries to bring together the best information available on the languages of the world." (publisher's web site) Also on the Web at http://www.ethnologue.com/web.asp
- The MLA Language Map uses data from the 2000 United States census to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
- UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger
- California Language Archive A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas