LIB 399 Course Research Guide -- University of Oregon Libraries
LIB 399 Course Research Guide
This is a guide to the library and research materials you may find useful to accomplish the objectives of LIB 399--16mm Lost & Found with Prof. Elizabeth Peterson / Winter 2012.
- Elizabeth Peterson, Librarian for Literature & Cinema Studies | emp@uoregon.edu | (541) 346.3047
Researching Copyright
- Copyright Term and the Public Domain
A comprehensive chart to help determine an item's copyright status.
At a glance:
| < 1923 | Public domain |
| 1923 - 1963 | Public domain if no © symbol, or not registered. |
| 1923 - 1963 | Public domain if © symbol included or registered, but not renewed within 28 years |
| 1923 - 1963 | Protected if published with © symbol and date, or registered. |
| 1964 - current | Protected if published with © symbol and date, or registered; no need to renew. |
| 1978 - 1989 | Public domain if no © symbol, or not registered. |
|
< 1964 check for renewal from date of registration +28 years
< 1964 check for © symbol and date on the film |
|
The Library of Congress published its "Catalog of Copyright Entries" from 1900-current to document copyright registrations. Bless the Internet Archive, which provides the volumes in a format that is easy to search and read online, mostly.
- Catalog of Copyright Entries 1912-1939
- Catalog of Copyright Entries 1940-1949 | print version
- Catalog of Copyright Entries 1950-1959
- Catalog of Copyright Entries 1960-1969
- Catalog of Copyright Entries 1970-1977
- U.S. Copyright Office Database 1978-present
Biographical Information
These sources will help you find information about the people involved in the films.
Finding Traces
Aside from the obvious Google, these sources will help you dig deeper to find reviews, filmographies, scholarly mentions, news items, information about distribution, and screening events from the past.
- 1000 and One: The Blue Book of Non-Theatrical Films (1926-1941)
- Blue Book of 16mm Films (1949-51)
- British Film Institute Database
- Internet Movie Database
- JSTOR: Electronic Journal Archive
- Los Angeles Times (1881-1986)
- New York Times (1851-2007)
- Non-theatrical Film Periodicals
Full-text digital reproductions of early non-theatrical film journals, including Educational Screen, Business Screen, and non-theatrical film catalogs. Part of the Media History Digital Library at the Internet Archive. - UO Library has quite a few 16mm catalogs
Who Else Has It?
- WorldCat
A catalog of library holdings in the U.S. including some international coverage. - Internet Archive -- Moving Images
- YouTube and other online video sites.
