The following is a selected list of resources for starting research in Judaic studies. For further assistance, contact Paul Frantz, Reference Librarian, at email@example.com or 541-346-1880
See this separate guide for library resources in Biblical Hebrew.
Starting Your Research
- The Jewish Study Bible [Knight Reference BS 895 .J4 2004]
- Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia [Knight Reference BS 715 1997]
- Talmud Bavli [Knight Reference BM 499 1993; 20 volumes]
- Midrash Rabbah [Knight Reference BM 517 .M64 1983; 17 volumes]
The articles in scholarly encyclopedias are usually written by experts in the field and often have citations to help you find further relevant information. Here is a select list of some of the more prominent encyclopedias in Judaic Studies:
- Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd edition [Knight Reference DS 102.8 .E496 2007]
- Encyclopedia of Judaism [Knight Reference BM 50.E63 1999]
- Civilizations of the Ancient Near East [Knight Reference DS 57.C55 1995]
- Dictionary of Judaism in the Biblical Period [Knight Reference BM 50 .D525 1996]
- Encyclopedia of Midrash [Knight Reference BM 514 .E53 2005]
- Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia [Knight Reference D 805 .A2 U55 2009]
- Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora [Knight Reference DS 115. E47 2009]
- Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World [Knight Reference DS 135 .L4 E53 2010]
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa [Knight Reference DS 43.E53 2004]
- Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture [Knight Reference DS 102.8 .E56 2005]
- Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics [Knight Reference PJ 4519 .E43 2013]
- Jewish Encyclopedia, an online edition of the 12-volume encyclopedia published between 1901 and 1906.
- Reference Books
The following short list of selected sources can offer authoritative answers to everyday questions:
- Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture [Knight Reference BM 50 .C26 2011]
- Exploring Jewish Tradition: A Transliterated Guide to Everyday Practice and Observance [Knight Reference BM700.W58]
- Historical Atlas of the Jewish People [Knight Reference DS 117 .J8513 1992]
- Complete Hebrew-English, English-Hebrew Dictionary (Alcalay) [Knight Reference PJ 4833 .A42 1996]
Browse through the table of contents of recently published Judaic Studies journals to identify a contemporary research topic. Online editions can be accessed through FindText:
- AJS Review (online)
- Journal of Jewish Studies (Knight BM 1 .J63)
- Journal for the Study of Judaism ... (online)
- Jewish Quarterly Review (online)
- Prooftexts: A Journal of Jewish Literary History (online)
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, start with an index. An index allows you to search in a variety of ways, including by keyword (subject) or by author. Because Judaic Studies is interdisciplinary, there are many subject specific indexes (e.g. history, religion, or literature indices) that may also be helpful.
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (1985-present)
"is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in RAMBI is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library ..." (description from RAMBI website)
- ATLA Religion database indexes approximately 600 religious studies periodicals and multi-author books, with coverage back to 1949. The full text of about 40 religious journals is included in the database.
- JSTOR provides full text retrospective coverage of core academic journals.
- Academic Search Premier provides indexing and abstracting of over 8000 core journals in a variety of disciplines and the fulltext for over 4600 journals.
- UO WorldCat offers a streamlined interface for search results that combine, into a single merged list, the collections of the UO Libraries, Summit libraries, and hundreds of other libraries worldwide. When searching in UO WorldCat, entries for items owned by the UO Libraries appear at the top of the list and include information about location and availability.
- Books on Judaic studies can be found under the following call numbers:
- BM Jewish Religion
- D 804 Holocaust studies
- DS 101-151 Jews and Judaism
- PJ Middle East languages and literatures
- Judaism and Jewish Resources, the work of Andrew Tannenbaum, is an excellent place to start for all matters of Jewish interest on the Web.
- Center for Jewish History houses the libraries and resources of the American Jewish Historical Society, American Sephardi Federation, Leo Baeck Institute, Yeshiva University Museum, and the YIVO Institute for Jewish Research.
- Three Cairo Genizah manuscript collections are available online now, from Cambridge, Oxford, and the John Rylands Library. These Jewish manuscript fragments offer a continuum of Jewish Middle Eastern and North African life from the 9th to the 19th centuries.
- The Digital Haskalah Project at the Oxford Center for Hebrew and Jewish Studies
- Jerusalem Post, a prominent Israeli newspaper, is useful for current events coverage.
Last revised May 2014 by Paul Frantz